Going Forward (The Future)

• Thread starter Thread starter bedford

Feeling right now this club has pissed away premierships

Are the bulldogs a better side than us, hell no

what a friggen waste imo, maybe its just after finals bitterness, but whats with the attitude of some of these blokes, yeah ok i know they would be trying (well presume) but some of the pea hearts under heat

Ben Mcglynn wtf mate, all i hear is oh benny missed out, poor benny, watch him bounce back, well where are you mate? did he put his head over the ball

All good and well to be desperate v richmond round 23, woopie doo

Gary Rohan, geez he better not go for a walk at night, he would shrink into nothing if a car put its high beam on, cant handle the spotlight

Glad parker did runner up in the brownlow, sure he was a bit sore, but same shit as 2014 from this superstar,

Reputations are made during the year, but they are really cemented or broken in grand finals

kennedy is an all time great blood imo based on what he gives us, others shouldnt even look him in the face

Despite some of this pissweak efforts the only thing worse is that cheating corrupt umpiring, we actually would of been dragged home by JPK otherwise

Going forward how about we develop a forward structure

won a flag 2012, since then Reid 5 years, Tippett 6, Buddy 9 and we still dont have firepower on the big day

Take a Bow.:thumbsu:

Yes Tippett can play but his whole career he has put in half seasons. His sustained output whether it be due to form or injuries is not good enough full stop. Get rid of him.

Shocked to read an Adelaide poster with a negative opinion on Tippett...

Rohan on a wing in 2017
Rose in to that defensive fwd spot Hewett had this year
KJ to play small running defender role at times.
Heeney, Jones and Hewett increase mid time

Spots up forward for creative types. Trade priority.

Rohan on a wing in 2017
Rose in to that defensive fwd spot Hewett had this year
KJ to play small running defender role at times.
Heeney, Jones and Hewett increase mid time

Spots up forward for creative types. Trade priority.

Could have answered your own question.

Nowhere near it. His job will be tackles. Similar to Hewett this year and Towers 2015.

Need a playmaker.

I reckon you need to watch more of Rose play...creativity is his strong suit.

If Reid can stand up next year, that will mean XR going back to the NEAFL.
needs to learn to stand up without breaking something 1st.

Too much to expect from his first year in the senior team. Will play a very accountable role IMO

Yeh you're right there's a fair chance that will be his role in the team, but he is definitely capable of giving us a bit of x-factor across half forward, very clever and highly skilled player.

How do you know its dribble, how did we get Buddy.

We had a large chunk of salary cap space, something we don't have now. Plus the rumour started on bigfooty..

Letting Membrey & Biggs go has cost us a bit.
Could've kept Biggs instead of getting Laidler.
Could've kept Membrey if we retired Goodes earlier.

Brutal, cut-throat stuff but footy is that sort of industry and the best clubs make those calls.

If Reid can stand up next year, that will mean XR going back to the NEAFL.

He owes us!

If he can actually come and be half decent

get allir back, add newman, maybe let me dream and add AJ its a good team even without tmitch

BANG!
Just like that Cindi Man!
I appreciate your frustration mate. You know where we went wrong in that GF? We made it in the first place, when we had no right to. After blooding 7 or so players & having 8 or so players under 30 games of senior AFL footy, statistics will tell you we shouldn't have been top 4, let alone Minor Premiers.

They're not 'excuses' people don't want to hear but they are fact & how about we look at it as a positive going forward in that all these young blokes had 3 or 4 hard finals games pumped into their short careers. This will no doubt hold them in good stead should they be good enough to play in our 22 next time finals are around.
What hard decisions need to be made by our club? Gary Rohan needs to play reserves & dominate for 6 weeks minimum on end & earn his spot based on 6 or so weeks of hard, physical footy & work rate every minute of the game. He failed to become an aggressive attacking option in one of the most important games of his career & he has history. This is where you shine the spot light. DO NOT reward mediocrity in tough games.
Gaz will come back a better & harder senior player if made to earn it for half a season. Hell! It was good enough for Ted Richards prior to our p'ship year. He was gone Ted but went back to the twos for a significant period, never looking like coming back into the team.
Same for Malceski. He was gone as well if not for a late reprieve. These two blokes were instrumental in our 2012 Premiership.
Our club is great at developing players but we need to work on creating hunger in a lot more of our players. The reserves are there for a reason. Unfortunately it is not used as 'punishment' for poor form any more but rather just a stint so they can works on a few things only to see them back 2 weeks later.

Now I say a good stint is 8 weeks minimum, continuously doing the things required ALL of the time.
Pretty much like what Tom Mitchell had to go through & Mitch Morton to a lesser extent had to go through, even after kicking 70 odd goals. Again, Morton was instrumental in that 2012 P'ship!

Hunger is what need to be developed a little better in our team. Roos used to say we never gift a game to a young player just because they may have played a few good ones out of 6 in the reserves.
On another front Cindi Man, when the Hawks won their 2013 flag after losing the previous one, they basically had 20 of the 22 players that lost in 2012, go around for these last few years, adding Lake to strengthen them if anything, but he had to be pulled into line by their leaders a few times.
They had 90% of their list with the previous GF loss burning in the gut where as we only had about 60% with it burning. There is no way that our inexperienced young blokes would have that same burning desire to avenge the loss that those Hawks would have had.

They will have it now if they're to survive in this industry!
Agree with a lot of what you write, but the vengeance born from adversity and humiliation angle - McVeigh, Parker, Rohan, Tippett .... saw no evidence of the passion exhibited by the words of Cinderella Man in any of these men. Reckon that Grundy, Ramps and JPK were fully aboard your way of thinking however. How you transfer that level of burn, that real desire for redemption, that is the way forward and where I can agree with you.

Rotational captaincy again like 05?
Joey, Hanners, Buddy, Rampe, Grundy, Heeney

Feeling a bit better now and I'm still proud of the season we had. We have a young team and should be thereabouts again for the next few years. Why wouldn't we expect anything else from this great club!

I will be forever grateful knowing I can watch the 05 and 12 grand finals to bring back memories some fans will never have. Bring on 2017!

At the MCG on GF day 2005 & after Luke Ablett passed the ball across the face of goal directly into the arms of the drug cheat Cousins, for a lead taking goal & then to watch that other drug cheat Hunter kick another immediately following, right in front of me, I put my head in my hands & was close to cracking mentally, I thought. Then I looked up at my then young son asking me "what's wrong dad"? I settled the hell down & said to him "nothing too serious mate"!

I was on the end seat & a lady stood in the isle beside was just balling her eyes out why us, why us , why can't we just win one of these for f k n (sorry) christ's sake. I had given up on us at that point & just responded that we are the only ones with a thick enough skin to cop it sweet & gave her a hug.

"As long as we don't go down by 30 points like in 96 after all this hard work & being in a winning position! Never mind! We'll be back again in another 10 years to be another team's bunny" I told her.

Well! I watched our legends, rather than give up, go harder again, goal to Big Baz from outside 50, opportunistic goal to Buchanan & we were suddenly in front. Just out of the blue! We hang on & we win FFS!

Well this lady nearly r*ped me in front of my wife & boy & we both looked at each other & vowed never to question this club again simply because no matter how we feel about a loss, they are going to feel somewhat worse. So I walked out of that stadium, with my wife & boy of course, rambling on to my wife to how she must always pull me up when I carry on like a spoilt sook when we lose a game of footy.

I too am forever grateful for that day when we could very easily have lost. That day when the special combination of players dug deep when it hurt, to deliver us that p'ship. Our club followed up again with a bonus p'ship in 2012. That's rare what those guys did & to ask the group of youngsters to come up with something similar the other day is not something I actually thought they could do before the game even started. We could have, sure, but it was always unlikely!

So I will question some moves & decisions our club makes but I will never target an individual for how he goes about his game because some players just aren't meant to be p'ship players & our club needs to tinker with the list in order to again one day find that special combination.
Thank you Swans for 2005, 2012 & also for being brave enough to endure the heartbreak of getting there, only to go down in 2006, 2014 & 2016!
This will be the foundation our youngsters need to again land the big one.

What's the more courageous over the last 10 years?
The Bulldog's 3 prelim losses or our 3 GF losses?

I ask you all that!

At the MCG on GF day 2005 & after Luke Ablett passed the ball across the face of goal directly into the arms of the drug cheat Cousins, for a lead taking goal & then to watch that other drug cheat Hunter kick another immediately following, right in front of me, I put my head in my hands & was close to cracking mentally, I thought. Then I looked up at my then young son asking me "what's wrong dad"? I settled the hell down & said to him "nothing too serious mate"!

I was on the end seat & a lady stood in the isle beside was just balling her eyes out why us, why us , why can't we just win one of these for f k n (sorry) christ's sake. I had given up on us at that point & just responded that we are the only ones with a thick enough skin to cop it sweet & gave her a hug.

"As long as we don't go down by 30 points like in 96 after all this hard work & being in a winning position! Never mind! We'll be back again in another 10 years to be another team's bunny" I told her.

Well! I watched our legends, rather than give up, go harder again, goal to Big Baz from outside 50, opportunistic goal to Buchanan & we were suddenly in front. Just out of the blue! We hang on & we win FFS!

Well this lady nearly r*ped me in front of my wife & boy & we both looked at each other & vowed never to question this club again simply because no matter how we feel about a loss, they are going to feel somewhat worse. So I walked out of that stadium, with my wife & boy of course, rambling on to my wife to how she must always pull me up when I carry on like a spoilt sook when we lose a game of footy.

I too am forever grateful for that day when we could very easily have lost. That day when the special combination of players dug deep when it hurt, to deliver us that p'ship. Our club followed up again with a bonus p'ship in 2012. That's rare what those guys did & to ask the group of youngsters to come up with something similar the other day is not something I actually thought they could do before the game even started. We could have, sure, but it was always unlikely!

So I will question some moves & decisions our club makes but I will never target an individual for how he goes about his game because some players just aren't meant to be p'ship players & our club needs to tinker with the list in order to again one day find that special combination.
Thank you Swans for 2005, 2012 & also for being brave enough to endure the heartbreak of getting there, only to go down in 2006, 2014 & 2016!

I ask you all that!

was the lady hot?

I ask you all that!
Not sure that victory arises from the ashes. Those who are stung by the loss - yes, they are reborn transformed. But there will always be some who are shell shocked and just are incapable. Courageous losses - 2006 was the most courageous loss that I have ever seen. 2014 we were quite simply humiliated. 2016 tend to agree with you. This team allowed us to dream again......but that was perhaps unfair. Just as the game was up for grabs, Hanners injury seemed to to suck the oxygen out of a swans revival. At that point, leaders are born. And unfortunately, those unlikely leaders all wore red, white and blue. Liam Picken and Tom Boyd.

Yes but Picken & Boyd were part of the 3 prelim defeats you see.
They were the difference the other day where as our 'difference' were still being educated!

We just need abit more campaigner on this team. Say what you will about Mumford but he brought that to the team and we never replaced it. Not saying go down the Hawks road of sniping people behind the play but we just need to embrace the hate more. They did and look what happened.

We were most peoples second favourite team just after winning the 2012 premiership and then once the Tippett and Buddy deals happened we turned into one of the most hated teams in the comp and I don't think a lot of people in the club like/can handle that.