Going Forward (The Future)

• Thread starter Thread starter bedford

What we need is a classy kick in the midfield.

The guy I thought was unlucky to not get the norm smith was bontempelli. He was a class above everyone else in the middle with how he used it.

He's not fast. He's not Kennedy-esque strong. He's not an amazing outside runner. But he hits targets under extreme pressure. The only guys who look capable of doing that for us are mills or Heeney. They need to do it from next year.

What we need is a classy kick in the midfield.

The guy I thought was unlucky to not get the norm smith was bontempelli. He was a class above everyone else in the middle with how he used it.

He's not fast. He's not Kennedy-esque strong. He's not an amazing outside runner. But he hits targets under extreme pressure. The only guys who look capable of doing that for us are mills or Heeney. They need to do it from next year.

Heeney
Buddy
Mills promising

Only classy kicks we have

Mcveigh at his best is, but what can he give us next year? Hff

Actually a shortage of classy kicks in the comp but agree its a priority for us

Also someone protect jpk and hanners too that would be good

Heeney
Buddy
Mills promising

Only classy kicks we have

Mcveigh at his best is, but what can he give us next year? Hff

Actually a shortage of classy kicks in the comp but agree its a priority for us

Also someone protect jpk and hanners too that would be good
Jones in the midfield would protect JPK but we need him coming out of D.

Titch should be that 3rd midfielder running diversion &/or protection IMO.

Take a Bow.:thumbsu:
What will be far better off for you Cinders is that we go down to the levels of Richmond and their ilk.
There won't be any need for you to then criticise their grand final performances. We can all book September holidays well in advance.
I reckon I can think of a number of supporters who would give their balls to be as successful a club as ours.
But, if it gives you pleasure to just pour shit on them all, well just go for it. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Leonardis might be up for Jones' running defender spot if he shows a bit in pre season.
He showed a bit more later in the season, but Leonardis looked to me to still be another 12 months off being ready for AFL - a bit like Newman was 12 months ago I hope.

What will be far better off for you Cinders is that we go down to the levels of Richmond and their ilk.
There won't be any need for you to then criticise their grand final performances. We can all book September holidays well in advance.
I reckon I can think of a number of supporters who would give their balls to be as successful a club as ours.
But, if it gives you pleasure to just pour shit on them all, well just go for it. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

If your going to reply to me FFS don't speak complete shit. Your post has not got one bit of sense in it. Better still don't. I don't suffer fools especially Johnnie come Latelies.

Lol then those blokes are idiots because we've come closer than 16 other teams over the past 5 years

Not trying to denigrate our chances of a flag but come on...we get Buddy and Tippo and Heeney and Mills and we have JPK and we get smacked in one GF and outplayed in another. Could go to the Bravedogs and get a flag handed to you by the umps.

True, but you do have to be in it to win it and our list isn not the Titanic like Hawthorn.
I'm supremely confident that whoever replaces Mitchell should he decide to leave will play in more grand finals going forward than he will.

We've got the cattle to win the flag. Best team in 2014 and got smacked. Were the best team in the GF this year and got outplayed.
There is something else missing it is not talent because the 2012 team were nowhere near as talented as our last 2 grand final teams.

We've got the cattle to win the flag. Best team in 2014 and got smacked. Were the best team in the GF this year and got outplayed.
There is something else missing it is not talent because the 2012 team were nowhere near as talented as our last 2 grand final teams.

Yes i think you are ok

What is it though? Ticker? Gameplan? Luck?

Midfields that can match us imo
Dogs , gws and pace on the outside

A forward structure that is non existent at times

Players/captains struggle mentally

Despite how good we were this year we struggled in close games and then on the big stage

So must be some mental things

I'd be interested to see some of the following structural things happen next season:

- Callum Mills directed to be more of a rebounder and asked to demand the ball more to take advantage of his precise disposal
- Jake Lloyd kept at HBF, I loved his improvement in that spot throughout the year - particularly his defensive efforts, they got much stronger
- Nic Newman being brought in across HB giving us three go-to rebounders with Lloyd and Mills (along with Rampe and Aliir who go pretty well in that department too)
- Zak Jones pushed up onto the wing; his pace, dare with ball in hand and fierce tackling of great use in the middle
- Isaac Heeney playing in the guts of the middle more and more; potentially taking the place of Tom Mitchell if he leaves
- Dan Robinson to be brought back in across HF a a replacement for Ben McGlynn; I like his neat disposal and tackling
- All of Sam Reid's body parts reinforced with titanium so he can do stuff; in all seriousness though, Xavier Richards impressed me greatly and can play at senior level but until he can stand under a high ball consistently and not get bodied out, Reid is the better option given both are at full fitness (unlikely for Reid, but still)

Yes i think you are ok

Think it is mainly ticker.
Goodesy played on one leg and still contributed in a GF.
Bolts was clearly injured at the end of 2012, just dug deep and contributed.
Mattner's chase and tackle.
Kirky lifting the team after half time in 06.
How the hell did Kirk/Fosdike/Matthews keep up with Cousins/Kerr/Judd?
05 prelim, smashed them 1st quarter, Saints came back. Start of 4th quarter the whole team lifted AGAIN.
Even 2012 we got 5 goals behind twice and just found the will to win, in the face of some equally shocking umpiring.

Think it is mainly ticker.
Goodesy played on one leg and still contributed in a GF.
Bolts was clearly injured at the end of 2012, just dug deep and contributed.
Mattner's chase and tackle.
Kirky lifting the team after half time in 06.
How the hell did Kirk/Fosdike/Matthews keep up with Cousins/Kerr/Judd?
05 prelim, smashed them 1st quarter, Saints came back. Start of 4th quarter the whole team lifted AGAIN.
Even 2012 we got 5 goals behind twice and just found the will to win, in the face of some equally shocking umpiring.

Jpk certainly stands out because of his ability to just say f this boys lets go

I think you are right

Not enough do that, buddy does usually, jpk, reg

If your going to reply to me FFS don't speak complete shit. Your post has not got one bit of sense in it. Better still don't. I don't suffer fools especially Johnnie come Latelies.
All you have done on this thread is put shit on most of our players. Considering, we have introduced so much youth this year and were still able to make it to a grand final, in my opinion you are just full of shit.
Talk about Johnny come Latelies. I have been a member of South Melbourne/Sydney every consecutive year since 1975 and am proud to be on the Swans members honour board so I think I have a right to make a comment.
If you want to continue putting shit on everybody (bar yourself) good onya.

Yes i think you are ok

It's because of a 20-8 free kick count and a dozen other decisions against us in a grand final.

Absolute constant momentum killer.

Why does everyone pretend that this treatment - plus trade restrictions and removal of COLA - is OK? And we have to just cop it?

**** that. Expose it and keep exposing it.

It's because of a 20-8 free kick count and a dozen other decisions against us in a grand final.

Absolute constant momentum killer.

Why does everyone pretend that this treatment - plus trade restrictions and removal of COLA - is OK? And we have to just cop it?

**** that. Expose it and keep exposing it.

Mate i havent stopped whinging

We were robbed on saturday

But theres still things we can improve

Yeah, at his peak he was that player in the middle. He won't get back there, though. He can't find the ball anymore for some reason.
Neither do I, but i do know that he cannot win a 1 and 1 contest and cant catch anyone. [emoji54]

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

We're close, but foot-skills and outside run are obviously the area we are horribly lacking in. Some of our younger players coming in are some of our better kicks but obviously it'll be a while before they are probably all consistent but another draft attacking those areas is needed and hopefully we can land someone in a trade. Besides that:
-McVeigh will go on next year but there is absolutely no way should be be captain. He should be in McGlynn's shoes next year, where he's only playing firsts if he's playing well.
-Heeney full time mid, Mills to start pinch hitting in there occasionally as Heeney did this year.
-Plan B, every-time we lose the same things happen, the coaches need to have something in mid next time a game starts going down this road.
-Forward structure, sort it out. With McGlynn likely going can someone like Cunningham (who has all the attributes, pace, nice foot-skills, footy brain) extract the finger and become the replacement player, the player he looked like he may become in 14 or do we need to draft one. Papley looks good but we need another small forward to live at the KF's feet.
-Teach our Key position Forwards/Rucks how to take a grab. Sinclair, Naismith, XR, Buddy, Nankervis (if he stays), Tippett (this year anyway, had elite hands last year) while some of them are/look like being very good players they are non reliable in the air, meanwhile a spud like Boyd was clunking them from everywhere. Opposition defenders take too many marks against us. Reid can actually mark but can he get fit and play at his end of year 15 form every week?

-What I really want though is for the club to come out and start having a whinge when required, forget looking like sore losers, who cares, the umpiring we were on receiving end in the finals series was/is NOT acceptable. Stand up for ourselves ffs. It will keep happening unless we say something, point a few fingers, name some names (Stevic is an absolute cheat). There's at-least minimum 1-2 pathetic free shots at goal given to the opposition every week, we will never receive soft ones infront of goal unless the game is essentially over one way or the other, this cannot go on or else we'll only ever win flags when we're genuinely a 5 goal better side, and that'll probably still be having holding our nerve in a close game.