Strategy Going through the scraps - delisted free agents

What numbers are free for next season? Always do enjoy seeing our new guys get there numbers and which ones they get.

8, 11, 27, 31, 35 (unlikely) 36, 38, 39, 40, 42, 43, 46, 47, 49, 50

Do we retire Hamish's 8 for a time like we have with Westy's 39? Next year will be 10 years since JMac died, so 35 probably won't be used. 31 was Finlayson's number at GWS, so that's available if he wants it. Sam Skinner won't be getting his previous 21. I'd hope Meady gets something more befitting PAFC royalty than 44, but he's probably more determined just to stay on the park and push for a senior game.

The fact gold coast got a team before Tasmania is a kick in the face to a proud football state.
Demetriou's greed and incompetence is to blame for that.

Wanted the extra team in a "growth market" to get his big fat bonus from increased TV / Media rights.

Look at his professional career post AFL, a director of education group Acquire Learning & Careers, paid a shitload because of his name and connections and it went into liquidation.

His directorship at Crown is about greed and incompetence. No other company in Australian corporate history has been investigated by 2 Royal Commissions (in WA and Victoria) at the same time and a 3rd commission of inquiry in NSW that had the effective powers of a royal commission.

When he was questioned by the NSW Commissioner and the QC assisting her, he had to read from notes he made about culture and governance, because he didn't employ good governance at the AFL, just bully boy tactics and making as much money as possible for himself.

From the NSW Casino Inquiry in October 2020:
“You wrote them down because you couldn’t remember them without being reminded,” counsel assisting the commission, Scott Aspinall, said to Demetriou on Tuesday. “No, that’s not correct,” Demetriou responded. “You weren’t acting with honesty and integrity, were you?” Aspinall said. “Respectfully, I disagree, Mr Aspinall,” Demetriou said.

A few months later in her report in February 2021:
Former Supreme Court judge Patricia Bergin handed down a landmark report into the casino company that put Crown’s flagship Barangaroo project in Sydney at risk by finding the company was not suitable to hold a NSW casino licence. Three members of Crown Resorts’ board, including former AFL boss Andrew Demetriou, are under pressure to resign after a public inquiry made scathing findings about their reliability and suggested the company could not reform itself while they remained directors.

The report was scathing about Mr Demetriou’s evidence, describing it as “a quite bizarre performance”. “This was a most unedifying performance by Mr Demetriou,” Justice Bergin says. “Unfortunately it reflects very badly on his judgment first of all to take notes into the witness box (albeit in a virtual setting); then to read from them; but more importantly to deny that he was reading from them.

Demetriou should be forced to do 3 to 5 years hard labour and go and run the Suns. It was his idea, so he should either fix them up or bury them.

Demetriou's greed and incompetence is to blame for that.

Wanted the extra team in a "growth market" to get his big fat bonus from increased TV / Media rights.

Look at his professional career post AFL, a director of education group Acquire Learning & Careers, paid a shitload because of his name and connections and it went into liquidation.

His directorship at Crown is about greed and incompetence. No other company in Australian corporate history has been investigated by 2 Royal Commissions (in WA and Victoria) at the same time and a 3rd commission of inquiry in NSW that had the effective powers of a royal commission.

When he was questioned by the NSW Commissioner and the QC assisting her, he had to read from notes he made about culture and governance, because he didn't employ good governance at the AFL, just bully boy tactics and making as much money as possible for himself.

From the NSW Casino Inquiry in October 2020:
“You wrote them down because you couldn’t remember them without being reminded,” counsel assisting the commission, Scott Aspinall, said to Demetriou on Tuesday. “No, that’s not correct,” Demetriou responded. “You weren’t acting with honesty and integrity, were you?” Aspinall said. “Respectfully, I disagree, Mr Aspinall,” Demetriou said.

A few months later in her report in February 2021:
Former Supreme Court judge Patricia Bergin handed down a landmark report into the casino company that put Crown’s flagship Barangaroo project in Sydney at risk by finding the company was not suitable to hold a NSW casino licence. Three members of Crown Resorts’ board, including former AFL boss Andrew Demetriou, are under pressure to resign after a public inquiry made scathing findings about their reliability and suggested the company could not reform itself while they remained directors.

The report was scathing about Mr Demetriou’s evidence, describing it as “a quite bizarre performance”. “This was a most unedifying performance by Mr Demetriou,” Justice Bergin says. “Unfortunately it reflects very badly on his judgment first of all to take notes into the witness box (albeit in a virtual setting); then to read from them; but more importantly to deny that he was reading from them.

Demetriou should be forced to do 3 to 5 years hard labour and go and run the Suns. It was his idea, so he should either fix them up or bury them.

Supported us when Haysman got himself sacked by calling out the SANFL though

Yeah he wasn't all bad. His arrogance helped us there, but it changed how the game was run and governed. Just read The Boys Club if you have forgotten things. He got the Commission to transfer power to the executive and as they say, power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely. He had absolute power for most of his 10.5 years as CEO. Some times he used it for good, but a lot of time he used it poorly.

Sorry mate, just checking - are you of Greek, Cypriot or Italian background?

If not, as endearing as you may have meant it, I’d suggest dropping the “wog” tag.
No I'm not I get your point m8 many of my friends are and If anything they wear it as a badge of honour.
I feel it's totally different than some names the indigenous boys get called but if it's offended you I will fix it 👍

No I'm not I get your point m8 many of my friends are and If anything they wear it as a badge of honour.
I feel it's totally different than some names the indigenous boys get called but if it's offended you I will fix it 👍

Cheers.

We’ve become ultra sensitive to not offending every other ethnic/cultural or minority group, so I can’t see how it’s different for Greeks/Italians.

I played for the Greek Under 9’s in the Amateur league in the early 80s, and still vividly remember playing Kilburn away and having their parents line up as we ran out of our changerooms, chanting “go home you wogs”.

Cheers.

We’ve become ultra sensitive to not offending every other ethnic/cultural or minority group, so I can’t see how it’s different for Greeks/Italians.

I played for the Greek Under 9’s in the Amateur league in the early 80s, and still vividly remember playing Kilburn away and having their parents line up as we ran out of our changerooms, chanting “go home you wogs”.

So, yeah - it’s not cool, whatever your mates might tell you.
Yeah fair call m8 sorted👍 .
I've only been called a sheep rooter and only by my good m8s lol.

ironic seeing how many different nationalities you will see in Kilburn these days
Greatest fact about Kilburn (apart from me being raised there to age 5)-

Originally called Chicago, Kilburn had its name changed from Chicago in the 1930s because it was emulating the gang culture of its American namesake. And they chose Kill-Burn!!

PS that is why the nickname of the Kilburn footy and cricket clubs is the “Chics.”

Greatest fact about Kilburn (apart from me being raised there to age 5)-

Originally called Chicago, Kilburn had its name changed from Chicago in the 1930s because it was emulating the gang culture of its American namesake. And they chose Kill-Burn!!

PS that is why the nickname of the Kilburn footy and cricket clubs is the “Chics.”
When I played footy against them, we called them the Kilburn Motorcycle and Tattoo Club, thanks to Dr Fred Chocka Bloch.

"So Port are you interested in Trent Dumont?"

SarcasticEducatedJohndory-max-1mb.gif

**Writes article for afl.com.au**

Most drafts these days pan out pretty much as expected don't they?
When was the last time a club took someone out of left field?