Competitions Gold Coast Suns 2019 Fantasy/SuperCoach/DreamTeam Thread

Jul 11, 2006
Chermside
Gold Coast
See Below
I could be talked into it Big Red Machine. Im not good at it though
Been a little bit since you won one buddy, But you did have that reign of terror for a couple years.

I'm Renegades too for anyone that's curious (No relation to those Melbourne cricket jerks)

Sunraysia

Mar 16, 2015
Gold Coast
I'm 'Solar Power' in the supercoach league .. cheers

Apr 29, 2016
hey guys, fantasy question here. I'm thinking about picking up Witts but I was just wondering what you guys think? Am i right in assuming he has no risk in losing the number 1 ruck spot? And if not, do you see improvement from last year? By rucking standards he is young so I was thinking he could improve on a good season last season. Thanks in advance! Feel free to ask me about the dees players :p

Jul 11, 2006
Chermside
Gold Coast
See Below
hey guys, fantasy question here. I'm thinking about picking up Witts but I was just wondering what you guys think? Am i right in assuming he has no risk in losing the number 1 ruck spot? And if not, do you see improvement from last year? By rucking standards he is young so I was thinking he could improve on a good season last season. Thanks in advance! Feel free to ask me about the dees players :p
G'day, Thanks for dropping by.

Absolutely zero chance barring injury *Proceeds to knock on every wooden surface in a km's radius*

Also can't see why not he'd improve either. As you said, Young by ruck standards so likely to keep his progression going and imo will be in the conversation for top 5 ruck in the comp this year.

Since you asked, What's the general consensus on ANB? Was a wavier wire gun last year but dropped off towards the end. Fluke or primed to breakout? Cheers

gcsunsfc

Oct 24, 2012
Gold Coast
Milwaukee Bucks
He is 100% the top ruck and will play 22 games barring injury.
I differ from BRM a bit. I don't really think he is going to improve massively - think he is kind of the guy he is going to be. I would love for him to improve his overhead marking because as a giant of a man with really good natural touch I would have thought he would be better at this. Would be a big asset to the team if he could.

I think his fantasy scores could improve though. Our midfield was an abomination last year. I think it will be better this year and hopefully a bit more continuity should lead to more hit outs to advantage. I don't have stats on his %HTA from 2017 - 2018 but I think the 8 point decline in his SC average would have been in part attributed to that.

Tex Danger

Mar 20, 2013
hey guys, any info on Hanleys pre season. Doesn't sound like he has had any injuries but has he been doing a decent amount of training or just being eased through?

Finding his price so tempting but also feel like I'm being stupid getting sucked in to the risk!

Dec 5, 2015
Bueng Kan,Thailand
Gold Coast
hey guys, any info on Hanleys pre season. Doesn't sound like he has had any injuries but has he been doing a decent amount of training or just being eased through?

Finding his price so tempting but also feel like I'm being stupid getting sucked in to the risk!

He's 30yo and played 16 games in the last 2 yrs.........buyer beware. Having said that, I think he'll have a ripper year if he can stay on the park....

Apr 14, 2016
LA Lakers,Chelsea F.C.
Hey guys i found heaps of cheap GC Players that are getting picked up for a fair few (H Wigg or Collins, Burgess)
Are they a realistic chance to get into the 22?

And as for your prized picks like Jack Lukosius or Rankine. (Both were considered for number 1 spot aswell, both can play)

Sep 28, 2011
Gold Coast
Arsenal
Hey guys i found heaps of cheap GC Players that are getting picked up for a fair few (H Wigg or Collins, Burgess)

And as for your prized picks like Jack Lukosius or Rankine. (Both were considered for number 1 spot aswell, both can play)
Out of those 3 you mentioned, Collins probably is the best chance of getting played early on IMO. The others will get a chance, but maybe later on in the season.

Rankine will play Rd 1, he is built for it, Luko is probably 75% to play Rd 1, will wait and see.

SnusCG

Aug 30, 2016
Gold Coast

I’m quite invested in supercoach. So my notes on Gold Coast rookie players are:

Rankine: ($198,300) Likely round 1 starter. Historically good against bigger bodies in SANFL. As far as expensive forward rookies go, he’s your best bet.
Lukosius: ($202,800) not sure he starts round 1. Could be a good downgrade option come round 5 or 6. Follow the JLT to see how he’s tracking
King: ($184,800) See Lukosius. Scoring potential year one does depend on which end of the ground he is played. Follow in the JLT
McLennan: ($123,900) will play year 1 but likely not round 1. Downgrade target. Follow JLT.
Corbett: ($123,900) likely round 1 starter. Impressed this pre season and should be ready to go as a mature body. Lock him in as F6/7/8
Collins: ($188,900) not guaranteed a round one spot but should be a good scorer when picked. Follow JLT and include if named for round 1 but not guaranteed
Burgess: ($123,900) see collins, scoring also depends on whether he is played forward or back. Follow JLT scoring
Wigg: ($102,400) ACL. ignore price. Captaincy loophole option at best
Miles: ($342,000) include. Scoring average potential of 100+. Will play every game. M4/5/6
Hanley: ($296,400)looking fit finally. Provided he stays on the park can average between 85 - 100. Cheap. Worth a start. D4/5
Horlin-Smith: ($270,300) expensive ‘rookie’ option. Will get games and has scored well in the past. Good upgrade option when a premium drops in the first 5 or so rounds. risky. Follow JLT. M5/6/7

EDIT:

For those joining us from another clubs board and want some point of difference/breakout contenders from the Suns that you could use (Objectively):

Jarrod Witts: ($480,900) New ruck rules could see him increase scoring significantly. ranked the 4th best tap ruckman in the competition in 2018 and still young by ruck standards. Good 'cheap' option for R2 if Gawn/Grundy combo is a bit expensive. Averaged 94 in 2017 HOWEVER his best score since playing for the SUNS is 131. Follow JLT scoring with new rules to see if this improves
Jack Bowes:
($348,100) Put on some serious size and looks set for a full time midfield role finally. Elite as a junior and he's looking like a standout this pre season by all accounts. averaged 92.3 (99, 80, 98) over the last 3 rounds of the year when played as a full time mid. Good contested ball winner when played in the centre and prefers to kick the football, with very good DE which all equate to good scoring. follow JLT to see if his scoring jumps and how much time in the centre he gets.
Brayden Fiorini:
($442,200) has scored big in the past and finally seems to be having an uninterrupted pre-season. Ball magnet, tackling machine who can find the goals. has all the tools and averaged 90 during the year not including the 3 games he had injury interrupted. Real breakout contender. Capable of big scores - 125 in his second ever game, and 116, 118 and 108 last season after he came back from injury. follow his JLT but he has the potential to average 100+.
Touk Miller:
($482,400) averages from the last 4 years are 73, 76, 78, 88. Can make that jump to the next level and has shown to have consistent patches of 100+ games - in the 13 rounds between round 6 - 19 last year he scored 100+ 8 times with a low score of 71. follow his JLT.
Will Brodie:
($369,800) Will be a starting mid. Clearance specialist, elite hands and thrives on contested footy which will assist scoring. entering 3rd year and had a 5 week stretch where he averaged 80 (78, 60, 78, 95, 91) until he was injured. will only improved this year. could bump up to $450,000 - $500,000 within the first 6 rounds which would make him an ideal fallen premium upgrade player. watch his scores over JLT.
Ben Ainsworth:
($333,200) has been dogged by a few injuries but a really highly rated kid who was pick 4 in 2016 draft. case of second year blues coupled with injury in 2018. Has been training primarily with the mids this year which means his scoring should jump. had a 5 week patch of midfield games where he averaged 89.6 (92, 80, 98, 85, 93) between rounds 7 - 12 before returning to a forward role. Not a noted high scorer at this point but has played a forward pocket role in a low scoring team. Watch to see where he spends his playing time in the JLT.
Darcy MacPherson:
($293,100) Likely unheard of outside of Suns or Bulldogs supporters (he was an overlooked father-son) He's been an absolute ball magnet and bull at the contest in the seconds racking up ridiculous numbers. He's on the shorter side but his role is important to Dews structure and he played the pressure forward role unbelievably well until a season ending ankle injury against the lions halfway through the second quarter where he'd already worked up 47 supercoach points from 35% game time. Worth a look at over JLT and could be downgraded to a rookie that missed the start of the season or upgraded to a fallen premium a little earlier than someone worth $100,000 if he isn't working out. Watch his JLT form

gcsunsfc

Oct 24, 2012
Gold Coast
Milwaukee Bucks
Agree
It's hard to know but get the feeling that Wigg, Burgess are 2 in particular who are getting chosen for many teams but unlikely to play early.
Collins probably 50/50 with Hombsch, doubt both get selected

Ranking yes but don't think he scores well enough to justify his price - more value rookies.
Lukosious maybe

gcsunsfc

Oct 24, 2012
Gold Coast
Milwaukee Bucks
I’m quite invested in supercoach. So my notes on Gold Coast rookie players are:

Rankine: ($198,300) Likely round 1 starter. Historically good against bigger bodies in SANFL. As far as expensive forward rookies go, he’s your best bet.
Lukosius: ($202,800) not sure he starts round 1. Could be a good downgrade option come round 5 or 6. Follow the JLT to see how he’s tracking
King: ($184,800) See Lukosius. Scoring potential year one does depend on which end of the ground he is played. Follow in the JLT
McLennan: ($123,900) will play year 1 but likely not round 1. Downgrade target. Follow JLT.
Corbett: ($123,900) likely round 1 starter. Impressed this pre season and should be ready to go as a mature body. Lock him in as F6/7/8
Collins: ($188,900) not guaranteed a round one spot but should be a good scorer when picked. Follow JLT and include if named for round 1 but not guaranteed
Burgess: ($123,900) see collins, scoring also depends on whether he is played forward or back. Follow JLT scoring
Wigg: ($102,400) include as a D7/8. Cheap and will get games as the year goes on but could be a handy captain loophole early season. Include.
Miles: ($342,000) include. Scoring average potential of 100+. Will play every game. M4/5/6
Hanley: ($296,400)looking fit finally. Provided he stays on the park can average between 85 - 100. Cheap. Worth a start. D4/5
Horlin-Smith: ($270,300) expensive ‘rookie’ option. Will get games and has scored well in the past. Good upgrade option when a premium drops in the first 5 or so rounds. risky. Follow JLT. M5/6/7

What do you think Rankine scores?

SnusCG

Aug 30, 2016
Gold Coast
What do you think Rankine scores?
Hard to say. First year players, particularly forwards don't tend to be the highest scorers so could be anywhere between 40 - 75. would need to see his JLT form before you would be convinced of anything however I could see him getting up around the high 60's to low 70's average wise with a few mid 90 to early 100 scores in there.

gcsunsfc

Oct 24, 2012
Gold Coast
Milwaukee Bucks
Because I can't see him appreciating more than about 100k based on his starting price and me thinking he'll average ~50-60

Wedge McManus

Jan 16, 2019
Hard to say. First year players, particularly forwards don't tend to be the highest scorers so could be anywhere between 40 - 75. would need to see his JLT form before you would be convinced of anything however I could see him getting up around the high 60's to low 70's average wise with a few mid 90 to early 100 scores in there.
Truly an inspired post

gcsunsfc

Oct 24, 2012
Gold Coast
Milwaukee Bucks
Other small forwards that averaged 65 - 75 last year

ANB
Jake Melksham
Zac fisher
Jack Higgins
AMT
Eddie Betts
Paul Puopolo
Ben Ronke
Jayden Stephenson

Possible, but most of the young guys in this list are in good teams
Pretty hard to score well as a small forward in a bad team

And even if he averages 70 he'll appreciate by ~140k which is pretty borderline.

By contrast the 120k players only need to average 55 to gain the same value

bol316

Jan 19, 2019
Am curious if you guys think Horlin-Smith or Corey Ellis will be getting full-time play with GC. I know they can both play, but WILL they play?

bol316

Jan 19, 2019
I can see Horlin-Smith getting some game time, especially early on.

I wouldn't go with Ellis, can't see him getting a look in IMO.

GHS is actually someone i eyeballed for fantasy. Not Ellis. I was just curious about him