Rumour Gold Coast want Hurley

71989-nooooo.jpg

As has been said, though, I imagine the club would do all that was within their power to keep him. Lucky we have that 'long term list management strategy' in place (e.g. not taking Ball, I presume) to financially deal with situations such as these.

Paws off Pears and Ryder too, please ;)

buyao.jpg

well, they'd be stupid not to try and talk to him, and the gap from that and actually signing are huge.

Even further down the track, with a MASSIVE IF he decides to go, surely this compensation formula would mean at least a top 3 pick in the draft. Woiuld soften the blow a little.

He was a pick 5, and exceeded all expectations of such a pick in a handful of games.

He is sill a kid so I cant see astronomical money being thrown at him by GC that would say be well above what Essendon would offer him in his next contract. Still only shown glimpses, there is alot to back up.

Money is always a contributing factor in anything but I dont think it is the be all end all in the case with a 19 year old at the start of his career as opposed to Ablett entering the twilight of his career having already achieved everything with Geelong.

Calm down fellas...he is aint going anywhere- true dat.

He is very close to his family. And at 19 years of age , as recent events have shown - he needs to be close to them. Plus we could offer close to what GC could if money were the issue.

He is a one club guy that will become part of the the 25 best players to play for Essendon Football Club.

Where is the Chilli SOURCE for this rumour any way - this friends/family rubbish is too easy to pull, give me something more concrete ?

Why do you hate Arsenal? They are Barcelona's reserves...

We are the Barcelona's reserves of the north (Arsenal of the north, but that one sounds cooler)

Something to do with Hleb. :p

People get so angry over the quality of threads on this board. We are all happy to trust Ants inside sources (just for example),

Why not Frothies? In my short time on this forum he has never given us any reason to believe his sources are innacurate. [citation needed]

We are all equal on Big footy however some are more equal than others centrelink 1.

But really, I would ask the same off Ants, BTG, MBS, Dapper Don, etc etc...we simply want sources to coroborate the evidence. What's wrong with that???

We are all equal on Big footy however some are more equal than others centrelink 1.

But really, I would ask the same off Ants, BTG, MBS, Dapper Don, etc etc...we simply want sources to coroborate the evidence. What's wrong with that???

If that is true then fair enough. No double standards lol.

Don't know why everyone is so up in arms about Frothies providing a concrete source. There is a 100% chance that GC want to speak to Hurley's management, and Hurley's manager would be a f***ing woeful manager not to speak to them.

Of course he's going to speak to them, just as I have no doubt Ryder's, Pears and a few others' management will too. Doesn't tell us anything about whether they will consider it. Really hope they don't.

As for the money factor, everyone's kidding themselves if they think Essendon can or will match anything that Gold Coast is capable of offering. They have an additional M$1 to spend above the rest of us, couple that with the fact that 90% of their players are going to be on standard base rate contracts, GC will have a truckload to spend on luring a few young big name players.

Plus there's no way Essendon is going to spend much above market price on any of their players as this will lead to salary cap issues downfield, and set a terrible precedent for future negotiations. We all saw how the club rightfully stood firm on equitable 2 year deals with Welsh and McPhee, a trend that I expect will continue as it should.

I very much hope we keep all of our players through this expansion (barring trades potentially), but it will only occur through the culture and imminent success of this great club.:thumbsu:

I also dont know what the big fuss is.As Towno has said I expect the Gold Coast to be in touch with the managers of several of our players over the next year and then i would be expecting the same from West Sydney.

The initial post only outlined the process and players pay managers to field all offers even if they have no major interest in changing clubs.
I dont doubt at all the GC have spoken to Hurleys manager and the rumours will persist until he signs or doesnt sign another deal.

What will also happen is Essendon will be working on a new deal for Hurley during the course of this year and hopefully he will be happy to take it.

The thing that anoys me about the whole issue is next year there will be a constant media circus over who they GC will sign and you can expect any half decent player aged under 24 who has not signed a new deal to be linked by the media to the GC at some stage.

All those shocked or questioning Frothies McVeighs post need to poke their head out into the real world for 5 minutes.....

Whatever the source is i dont care but i believe to be correct!

EFC have tried to extend Hurlyeys contract passed the end of 2010 for obvious reasons. His management have rightfully refused knowing come the end of 2010 that natural progression should should see him demand more cash.

Which also ties into the reasons why we would not sign Mcphee for 3, would not take a Ball or Smith (Kang) who wanted more than there worth, leaving salary cap room for this moment.

As for the money factor, everyone's kidding themselves if they think Essendon can or will match anything that Gold Coast is capable of offering. They have an additional M$1 to spend above the rest of us, couple that with the fact that 90% of their players are going to be on standard base rate contracts, GC will have a truckload to spend on luring a few young big name players.

Let's say Gold Coast DO talk to Hurley's management, do you honestly think they would offer Hurley $1M a year? or $500,000?

I'm sorry, but I think even GC wouldn't go that far. As far as I'm concerned, whatever Hurley's market value is as a 20 year old footballer who's had one year on the field Essendon will be able to match, if not sweeten it by making his current position more suitable to his lifestyle, goals and skill.

I see GC throwing heaps of cash (virtually unmatchable) to players like Franklin, Gazza and other big names down the road... not players as young as and unproven (albeit harbouring great prospects) players like Hurley.

Money aside, I feel that Hurley would much prefer staying home than heading up North. He already seems very popular here, and loves it. Not to mention his desire to learn from Fletcher when it comes to the defensive side of things. Why would he turn on a club that gave him his opportunity from Round 1? Knights was glowing when he first saw him train.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6264
Friday, 26 December 2008

Speaking exclusively to Bomber.tv, Essendon list manager Adrian Dodoro believes Hurley has the potential to play a lot of game time in 2009, earmarking the defender as one to watch next season.

“He has settled in beautifully. You don’t want to put pressure on these guys too early but Matthew Knights came past my office the other day and was absolutely glowing because Hurley had impressed him so much on the track,” Dodoro said.

“His kicking is a feature on both the left and right side, he knows the game too. I would just describe him as a genuine footballer. There is no other way to describe him.”

Dodoro has so much faith in Hurley that he believes he could be a chance to make his AFL debut in round one against Port Adelaide at AAMI stadium.

“It depends on whether everyone is up and running but I would be surprised if he didn’t play a lot of time next season. That being said, it is only my personal opinion,” Dodoro said.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6264

Until he is signed it will all be speculation.

GC have said they are targetting about 6 players, who I assume will take up the majority of the salary cap for the 1st few years. If they choose to target Hurley then we will not be able to compete for money. We will have to use other measures and of course pay him as well as we can.

It all depends on how Clayton,Auld and co rate him but since none of us have any idea of their intentions you can't rule it out. I guess at the same time there is no point stressing about it. Hamilton, Robson and co seem very good operators, so it is really up to them to get the job done.

Let's say Gold Coast DO talk to Hurley's management, do you honestly think they would offer Hurley $1M a year? or $500,000?

... I see GC throwing heaps of cash (virtually unmatchable) to players like Franklin, Gazza and other big names down the road... not players as young as and unproven (albeit harbouring great prospects) players like Hurley.
No, I don't think they would offer Hurley $1M a year, nor did I ever say they would. I was merely talking about the additional allowances at Gold Coast's disposal.

They will spread those allowances over their stated aim of 8 unsigned players across the 16 teams. They will probably land 1, or max 2 marquee players (Franklin, Gazza, Selwood, etc) with ~$1M offers. However they will still have ample left over to offer the remaining 6-7 players comfortably more than their clubs can match, and it is this category where I would place the likes of Ryder, Hurley, Pears and co.

No, I don't think they would offer Hurley $1M a year, nor did I ever say they would. I was merely talking about the additional allowances at Gold Coast's disposal.

They will spread those allowances over their stated aim of 8 unsigned players across the 16 teams. They will probably land 1, or max 2 marquee players (Franklin, Gazza, Selwood, etc) with ~$1M offers. However they will still have ample left over to offer the remaining 6-7 players comfortably more than their clubs can match, and it is this category where I would place the likes of Ryder, Hurley, Pears and co.

Dont forget the have to pay the 20 odd players they already they will keep from their current squad , some of whom have been offered better than the asking rate to stay with the GC rather than nominating for the draft.

I do not think money will be an issue for us as we have had the spare room in the salary cap for a couple of years. The fact that we could have easily paid Luke Ball $500k plus a year is an indication that a young player like Hurley could be offered the same.
It will be clubs like the Saints and Geelong who are on the limit of their salary cap who are in danger of losing the next level of players for good money. The problem we could run into is the third or fourth player in line after Ryder and Hurley.

Calm down fellas...he is aint going anywhere- true dat.

He is very close to his family. And at 19 years of age , as recent events have shown - he needs to be close to them. Plus we could offer close to what GC could if money were the issue.

He is a one club guy that will become part of the the 25 best players to play for Essendon Football Club.

Where is the Chilli SOURCE for this rumour any way - this friends/family rubbish is too easy to pull, give me something more concrete ?
in you saying that mate il give yousome bad news and let you know one of hurleys older brothers in daniel lives up the gold coast somewhere and im pretty sure his sister bridget also is there not 100 percent about her though....

Rumour Gold Coast want Hurley