Golf Golf Clubs/Equipment Discussion.

Golf hitting nets are back on the agenda in winter, as I can't get to a range during daylight hours during the week.

Thinking of 3 options.

1. A cheapy Amazon/Ebay net, there are a heap available for <$100 and as long as it's easily movable (so the dog doesn't destroy it when I'm not around) how complicated can a golf net be? I'd likely only be swinging 75% anyway so as long as it can handle that I don't need a super premium net.

2. Get a good net. There are some really highly rated nets like Rukket, but these are like $200+ and I'm not sure if at twice or three times the cost of other options they are that much better.

3. Bunnings DIY Job. I've actually looked at this and on paper it wouldn't be that hard to screw in a couple of L brackets into the fence posts, and then clip/cable tie on some netting or a tarp that hangs down and could be pegged/stumped to the ground. Only problem is I'm not sure if the netting/tarp would be durable enough and have the right properties for hitting balls into safely. Still, could very well work and I reckon it'd be less than $50. Obviously requires the most effort to set up though.

Like scrapy said, rukket net are very good. it does blow over in the wind but what doesnt. a stiff wind.
i dont personally like the mat you hit off as ball is above feet. i invested in some rubber matts to stand on to roughly equate to the height of the little hitting matt. does the job.

nothing is like hitting off turf of course as other shave said.

my mate has a bunnings diy thino. its cost efficient

Like scrapy said, rukket net are very good. it does blow over in the wind but what doesnt. a stiff wind.
i dont personally like the mat you hit off as ball is above feet. i invested in some rubber matts to stand on to roughly equate to the height of the little hitting matt. does the job.

nothing is like hitting off turf of course as other shave said.

my mate has a bunnings diy thino. its cost efficient
When i bought mine the guy in the shop suggested buying a large front door mat to stand on to even the height out.

If I want to buy a good quality net that is big enough and strong enough not to endanger the neighbourhood, what should I purchase?

Just set your back yard up like this with a giant shed.

1593400950749.png

Probably Rukkett...bloody good. I do tee my driver on the lowish side though. s**t scarred of skying one into the neighbourhood...or an on coming car or train!

Does anyone know much about the Ping 400 irons and the new 410’s? Every time I see them used the face seems to be scuffed up from use. I was thinking about buying the 410’s but I don’t know if I could handle a new set of irons that looks a few years old after a few rounds.

Mizuno

Stop shopping elsewhere 🙂

I just spent $1400 on a new guitar. Safe to say that golf expenditure will be at an all-time low for the foreseeable future.View attachment 909763
But isn't it beautiful? 😍 Gary Clark signature Epiphone Casino for those that care.

Goes about 180?

I just spent $1400 on a new guitar. Safe to say that golf expenditure will be at an all-time low for the foreseeable future.View attachment 909763
But isn't it beautiful? 😍 Gary Clark signature Epiphone Casino for those that care.
No

Can it putt, no
How does it go out of the bunker?

Rapsodo MLM Launch monitor now has update for indoor and net use....$800. 2.5% less accurate than Trackman. Only downside is you need a modern Apple phone...not Android yet (pretty poor). And I would need to update that unfortunately.

The amount of balls I hit into the net it would be handy....and kind of fun, to know what is really happening. Be awesome too with time they had some basic courses to play on it! Even removing putting....say anything greater than 30 feet is a 3 putt...closer is a 2 putt and anything inside 6 feet...1 putt. Just for fun.

So, I’ve bought these irons
Cleveland Launcher UHX Irons 4 - GW Reg Steel shafts (True Temper Dynamic Gold 98) for $1000. I was tempted by the Ping G410 irons. However, Cleveland is outperforming the big boys in all the testing with comparable clubs.

Next plan is to try out the Cleveland Launcher HB Turbo driver.

So, I’ve bought these irons
Cleveland Launcher UHX Irons 4 - GW Reg Steel shafts (True Temper Dynamic Gold 98) for $1000. I was tempted by the Ping G410 irons. However, Cleveland is outperforming the big boys in all the testing with comparable clubs.

Next plan is to try out the Cleveland Launcher HB Turbo driver.
Edit: I’ve bought this driver on eBay for $288 used (it looks brand new) from Stanmore Golf Traders in Sydney. It’s $100 dearer brand new.

What’s everyone’s thoughts on getting fitted for clubs? If a higher handicapper around the 20 mark?

I’ve been hesitating pulling the trigger on new clubs mainly because still working on the swing but can’t help but feel my clubs just aren’t right for me .. which doesn’t give a lot of confidence when standing over a ball. In particular my driver I know isn’t right , can’t hit a fairway with it . Tried my dads old driver and instant improvement .

Thought about maybe trying driver fitting first , then after a while try irons.

Can anyone share their fitting experience and the results ?

What’s everyone’s thoughts on getting fitted for clubs? If a higher handicapper around the 20 mark?

I’ve been hesitating pulling the trigger on new clubs mainly because still working on the swing but can’t help but feel my clubs just aren’t right for me .. which doesn’t give a lot of confidence when standing over a ball. In particular my driver I know isn’t right , can’t hit a fairway with it . Tried my dads old driver and instant improvement .

Thought about maybe trying driver fitting first , then after a while try irons.

Can anyone share their fitting experience and the results ?
My thoughts are that Collin Morikawa could shoot 65 around your course with your clubs.