News Gone: Daniel Talia

Daniel Talia next year?

• Takes a year off, he’s a champ, he can do what he likes!

Votes: 2 3.9%
  • Is drafted / signs to another team

Votes: 42 82.4%
  • Goes undrafted / not signed to another team

Votes: 7 13.7%
  • Signs as a coach somewhere next year

Votes: 1 2.0%

And to play out that 2 years he'll be injected full of pain killers to keep him on the park and this board will be accusing the AFC of not being able to manage his injuries, wanting to sack the fitness and medical staff.
Think CARL supporters are more cynical about their fitness program than the Crows could ever be .....and with that, don't think we could have too many complaints about injuries this year

Would you prefer for Murray or Butts to play in the sanfl as we are rebuilding?
Exactly. Neither! Butts is universally loved here, and so he should be, and I'm growing a lot of man love for Murray. I think he'll be a ripper.

Daniel is not the future of the AFC as a player, but it would be great to have him back in some capacity down the track.

They are letting go the veterans who we have replacements for. Cook for Lynch. Butts for Talia. D Mac is irreplaceable, it seems. Also, as an aside, who thinks we do better this year with Hartigan in the side?
I think we do better THIS year
But I dont think we see Murray this year
I dont think we see Worrell this year
I dont think Butts progresses as he has

So Even though I think we might have gotten up in 1 or 2 games more.
The lesser development causes us to be weaker post-Hartigan.

Think CARL supporters are more cynical about their fitness program than the Crows could ever be .....and with that, don't think we could have too many complaints about injuries this year
Great point.
We've had a few football injuries but bodies breaking down has been scarce. Probably because we're young though.

I keep logging in hoping to find a Gone: David Mackay thread.
Much disappointment :(

I keep logging in hoping to find a Gone: David Mackay thread.
Much disappointment :(
disappointed-fridge.gif

It's interesting that all these players are "not being offered a contract" rather than retiring.

Either these players have already arranged to be picked up by other clubs or they called the clubs bluff and refused to retire so we delisted them instead.
Douglas still thought he'd get picked up even though he "retired". Talia and Lynch aren't 33 year old midfielders though, so they'll have a better chance of getting another go.

.....and with that, don't think we could have too many complaints about injuries this year
Injury management was pretty appalling this year.

M. Crouch and Talia were 'managed' to the point where they lost an entire season.
Lynch's great injury-free form was a mere cameo this year due to treatment delays.
Mitch Hinge gets a serious shoulder injury in his first game, yet the club straps him up and sends him out in the same game where the injury gets aggravated and costs him the season.

Injury management was pretty appalling this year.

M. Crouch and Talia were 'managed' to the point where they lost an entire season.
Lynch's great injury-free form was a mere cameo this year due to treatment delays.
Mitch Hinge gets a serious shoulder injury in his first game, yet the club straps him up and sends him out in the same game where the injury gets aggravated and costs him the season.

Hately's groin injury
Brown's achilles
ROB with his back
Sloane's finger
Hamill's ankle (early season)

I agree with most of your post but feel Rutten had to beat better and did so.

Maybe sneak one in chb or bp

Yes, I think both Rutten and Talia take the two key defensive posts. Caven and Bock not quite as long serving to be included. Plus, plenty of run from Smart, Hart, Johncock and McLeod to allow Rutten and Talia to play their natural games!

Look at how his career went

When Alex Rance played, I felt Talia was the best defender in the league. Nearly impossible to score on him.
Then around when Rance left, Talia regressed due to injuries to the point Hartigan was a more reliable defender for us.

If any club could get the best out of him, it's a scary proposition.
But I think his best is long behind him right now.

Yeah, he'd still improve every team in the league. But he doesn't scare me anymore.

if he played somewhere else, Talia would give Thilly and Fog a bath for at least the next two years I reckon

Giving Fog a bath isn't exactly something to write home about. We all like the guy but he's a witches' hat aerially - just gives up too easily in marking contests.

It's interesting that all these players are "not being offered a contract" rather than retiring.

Either these players have already arranged to be picked up by other clubs or they called the clubs bluff and refused to retire so we delisted them instead.

we do this more than you think

Eg Douglas - we retired him, he said he had more to give, went undrafted, disappeared
Jacobs - cut and run on his teammates to GWS for 2 years, lasted one, came back to us for a job after he was cut

We have a long history of mollycoddling players and then those players having elevated opinions of their market worth

we do this more than you think

Eg Douglas - we retired him, he said he had more to give, went undrafted, disappeared
Jacobs - cut and run on his teammates to GWS for 2 years, lasted one, came back to us for a job after he was cut

We have a long history of mollycoddling players and then those players having elevated opinions of their market worth

It comes down to players don’t know when to retire. The $$$$ each player gets in AFL land clouds their thinking. It is just so hard to give those $$$ up.

Giving Fog a bath isn't exactly something to write home about. We all like the guy but he's a witches' hat aerially - just gives up too easily in marking contests.
He outbodied Jonas in a one on one marking contest just last week. That may have been a fault in past seasons, but he is competing a lot better aerially this year.

The 200-game backman is working his way back to full fitness and is confident his body can hold up to the rigours of AFL football in the coming years.

“And that’s the disappointing part for me,” Talia said.

“They’re probably thinking I’ve been injured all year and they might not want to take the risk.

“I feel like I’ve got another two, three, maybe even four years left in him. I’ve hardly been injured up until this year.

“That’s the really frustrating part. I feel like I’ll be fit in four to six weeks, and I’ll be right to go next year.”

:(:(:(

The 200-game backman is working his way back to full fitness and is confident his body can hold up to the rigours of AFL football in the coming years.

“And that’s the disappointing part for me,” Talia said.

“They’re probably thinking I’ve been injured all year and they might not want to take the risk.

“I feel like I’ve got another two, three, maybe even four years left in him. I’ve hardly been injured up until this year.

“That’s the really frustrating part. I feel like I’ll be fit in four to six weeks, and I’ll be right to go next year.”

:(:(:(
Of course Daniel is going to do the sell, he is trying to attract a buyer on more than a one year deal.

Truth is this is not the first year he was injured, he struggled with injury through the back end of last season as well.

The type of injuries that he has had this year is also concerning

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Talia is only 3 months older than Brodie Smith.
I wouldn't be surprised if he gets his body right and plays a couple of years of really good footy.

All the best Tarls, one of my all time favorite Crows.

It comes down to players don’t know when to retire. The $$$$ each player gets in AFL land clouds their thinking. It is just so hard to give those $$$ up.

Yep, players can always get a job on their name but so many players struggle with the drop in pay post football. Talking to one player that was in the system for about ten years he said while the drop in pay was difficult he also said he had to start paying for a heap of things that used to be free. Most invest fairly well now a days but that's often not enough for the 30 years ahead of them where they need an income.

Talia is only 3 months older than Brodie Smith.
I wouldn't be surprised if he gets his body right and plays a couple of years of really good footy.

All the best Tarls, one of my all time favorite Crows.

One of my favorites, I think he still has something to offer but elsewhere. The right decision and who knows maybe long term it will be better for him.

News Gone: Daniel Talia