Total_Juddshanks

The good ones
Deep down we all believe we are one of the good guys right?

I am currently basking in the warm glow of being a top notch bloke as follows.

Every day I say hello to the security guard in my apartment building.. Everyone else just walks by him, but I make an effort to say hi, ask him how he's doing, have a quick chat with him if I've got nowhere to be in a hurry. There's nothing in it for me, I'm just a seriously decent sort of person who wants to treat him like a human being.

But brace yourself, there's more.

It's a freezing cold night tonight, and i just headed out for a late night Maccas run, and gave him a nod and a wave. Must be shitty shitty night to be sitting on the gate. So on the way home, I stopped to buy myself a chocolate bar, and I thought what the hell. On the way back past him, I gave him a nod and dropped a snickers ( I selected this as the most manly and casual chocolate bar) on his desk. The look he gave me was somewhere between incredulity at his good fortune, and just sheer awe and amazement at what an extraordinarily wonderful person I am.

Can anyone top me in the top bloke stakes? I think not.

Few years ago at a checkout the lady behind me dropped a jar of something and I bent down to pick it up for her but she bent down at the same time and picked it up before me so I was just left there bent down and snatching at thin air. Felt awkward and never bothered to do anything nice since then.

Every day I say hello to the security guard in my apartment building.. Everyone else just walks by him, but I make an effort to say hi, ask him how he's doing, have a quick chat with him if I've got nowhere to be in a hurry. There's nothing in it for me, I'm just a seriously decent sort of person who wants to treat him like a human being.

It's a freezing cold night tonight, and i just headed out for a late night Maccas run, and gave him a nod and a wave. Must be shitty shitty night to be sitting on the gate. So on the way home, I stopped to buy myself a chocolate bar, and I thought what the hell. On the way back past him, I gave him a nod and dropped a snickers ( I selected this as the most manly and casual chocolate bar) on his desk. The look he gave me was somewhere between incredulity at his good fortune, and just sheer awe and amazement at what an extraordinarily wonderful person I am.

I hope he is not a diabetic with a peanut allergy :)

nice gesture though!

I moved house a few years ago
was doing a number of car deliveries from the old place to the new - in the space of a few hours I did the exact same drive 4 or so times

I was a 30+ degree evening... real scorcher of a day
I noticed early on a car had broken down in a really inconvenient spot and there was a middle aged man in a suit waiting for RACV...

this was over a few hours now... and RACV just didn't seem to come... the man looked more and more worried/dishevelled...

after the third pass by this spot I turned around... went to the service station and bought a 2 litre bottle of water and some chocolate/chips and went back to the guy... gave him the food

no one ever looked more grateful - especially for the water

He had rung RACV but some kids played a prank and rang to cancel his call.... it had been going on a few times.. he was clearly having a bad day

( I know nothing about cars so couldn't help him with his problem) I left when the RACV arrived

I once noticed a Westy (Ballarat term for bogan as they reside mostly in Wendouree West) drop $50 from his pocket whilst walking down the street without noticing. Picked it up and jogged up to him and gave it back.

I also always hold the door open for women in shops, etc. but that is growing increasingly strange with sometimes instead of the standard thankyou, they'll give you the "I'm perfectly capable of doing it myself" look. Just accept my kindness

I hope the security guard doesn't think he's gay and cracking onto him
I hope the security guard DOES think he's gay and cracking onto him. Then this can be moved into the AFS thread.

Few years ago at a checkout the lady behind me dropped a jar of something and I bent down to pick it up for her but she bent down at the same time and picked it up before me so I was just left there bent down and snatching at thin air. Felt awkward and never bothered to do anything nice since then.

You should have taken her frozen peas as revenge.

Are to still a good guy if you do good things regularly, but only really for hot women? Does that count?

I held the door open for two old scrubbers on Hindley St a while ago. They looked at each other weirdly and one said "thanks mate" (sounded like a truck driver) and I said "I always open the door for ladies" and they pissed themselves all the way down the street!

Feel pretty good today. I did something I doubt many people would actually take the effort to do.

Someone had stolen this couples iPad from a basketball stadium, but I guess that because it was passcode locked they decided that it was no use to them so they had left it out the front of my Nona & Nonos garden yesterday. My Nona and Nono being elderly didn't really know what it was. Today we went up there for lunch and they asked me what it was, I told them and they said they aren't sure what to do with it, they were probably going to either throw it away if they weren't sure or just packed it in the cupboard. I said I'll see what I can do with it. At first I did think, oh I could just take this home, reformat it and it'll be sweet, but I thought again and thought I should do the nice thing and try find out who owns it.

As it was passcode locked, I wasn't sure what more I could do. I realised it had a 3G icon up the top, meaning there is a simcard in it. I replaced the simcard in my phone with the one from the iPad and sent a message to another phone to get the simcards mobile number. I noticed the simcard was from TPG. So I rang up TPG and asked if they could contact the account owner of the number or give me their information. The guy at TPG had contacted him, and gave the couple my number. Surprisingly TPG were very helpful and grateful that I was honest enough to go through all the procedures to try return the product.

The couple rang me, and they only lived about 20 minutes away from where I was at the time. They came and picked up the iPad (I made sure I knew it was theres by being sly and trying to get them to say what cover was on it) - when they were leaving they gave me $50, I tried refusing but they were insisting that I took it - so I did. I guess it would have cost more to buy a new one, but I knew, as they said there was a lot of important information and photos from her business.

Good deed for the day, check.

Last year in my economics exam for Uni, the girl in front had brought the wrong calculator and she thus wasn't allowed to use it. She was stressing real bad with the examiners there and what not. I brought a spare in case mine ****ed so I thought I'd be a good bloke. She was very appreciative :thumbsu: (no not like that)

Last year in my economics exam for Uni, the girl in front had brought the wrong calculator and she thus wasn't allowed to use it. She was stressing real bad with the examiners there and what not. I brought a spare in case mine ****** so I thought I'd be a good bloke. She was very appreciative :thumbsu: (no not like that)
Story would have been more interesting if yours broke down mid-exam.