Good Friday

• Thread starter Thread starter Jimmy1992

One thing I don't understand is people that outright brag about eating meat on Good Friday like they are king dick. If you are not religious surely you don't feel the need to give something you don't believe in the middle finger. It's not like dudes are having bbq's during the Ramadan just to be defiant.

Makes me laugh.

Yeah, that'll happen. They'll get rid of Christmas, bulldoze all churches and get rid of all charities, schools and hospitals that are associated with religion. You might be waiting a while.
You on crack, dawg?

All I'm saying is if one section of society think Good Friday is sacred then don't go to the shops or watch TV. Don't put the rest of us out because your beliefs.

Not sure how you interpreted I was suggested churches be closed and Christmas, let alone Easter cancelled?

I can't believe people find it hard to get through a day with a few shops closed. No wonder there is a debt problem. Did you forget to buy the milk or something? Good Friday has been on the calendar for a while.
I can't see why I can't sit at home and watch the footy? You know it's only a matter of time right?

One thing I don't understand is people that outright brag about eating meat on Good Friday like they are king dick. If you are not religious surely you don't feel the need to give something you don't believe in the middle finger.
Some people justifiably detest religion and everything about it and like giving it the finger.

What's more tragic is the cover up of widespread pedophilia in the Catholic Church yet practising Catholics just sweep this aside like it didn't happen.

It's not like dudes are having bbq's during the Ramadan just to be defiant.
Because they'd risk being murdered. Plenty of muslims cheat during Ramadam but through fear keep it hidden.

Makes me laugh.
Just like endemic pedophilia makes me laugh. ha ha ha ha ha, the church is great, isn't it?

It's not really a religious thing any more anyway. The original point of no meat on Fridays is that it's a limited fast. You're denying yourself something that you want. Being of a Catholic household we abstained from meat on Fridays druring Lent growing up, but it was always a very simple meal of boiled fish or something.

Nowadays it's just a massive seafood feast that everyone looks forward to.

One thing I don't understand is people that outright brag about eating meat on Good Friday like they are king dick. If you are not religious surely you don't feel the need to give something you don't believe in the middle finger. It's not like dudes are having bbq's during the Ramadan just to be defiant.

Makes me laugh.

I have a friend that unlike me is a catholic and still eats meat on good friday, because he feels like it.

My wife did a uni essay.

I did 4 loads of washing, made boiled eggs for breakfast, did the dishes, did a clean up, sat on the couch with my little boy and watched The Yearling (classic Gregory Peck), Had leftover vegetarian pasta for lunch, did the dishes, went to the oval with my little boy and kicked a footy around for an hour, came home and got ready for a family dinner.

The family diner was chilli octopus, fish pie, whiting, bakala, garden salad, lentil and rice salad, champagne, sparkling shiraz, numerous red wines, white wines and finished it off with a small glass of Mt Gay Extra Old Rum with ice.

Yeah, Good Friday was shit !

You on crack, dawg?

All I'm saying is if one section of society think Good Friday is sacred then don't go to the shops or watch TV. Don't put the rest of us out because your beliefs.

Not sure how you interpreted I was suggested churches be closed and Christmas, let alone Easter cancelled?

I never said you suggested that. Was just saying you've got a long time to wait until religion stops impacting on society.

Worked night shift for 12 hours,came home slept, ate, went back to work for another 12, good money too.

It's not really a religious thing any more anyway. The original point of no meat on Fridays is that it's a limited fast. You're denying yourself something that you want. Being of a Catholic household we abstained from meat on Fridays druring Lent growing up, but it was always a very simple meal of boiled fish or something.

Nowadays it's just a massive seafood feast that everyone looks forward to.

And the emphasis is on the Catholic part. I know of zero Protestants who avoid red meat over Easter.

My family was CoE & we didn't eat meat on fridays, it was fish & chip night. Strange that they never went to church, but made me go to sunday school every week, until I got thrown out.

Protestants have embraced certain traditions increasingly in the last ten or so years. Many protestants now observe Lent in some form, and heaps give up meat on good Friday. I reckon social media has broken down a lot of the traditional differences between Micks and Prods.

Catholics. Bigger knobs than Christians.
Bigger balls as well?

You on crack, dawg?

If you dont want to show a modicum of respect to the belief of some, then dont have the holiday. You have a day off thanks to Easter, so suck it up or go back to work

Surely Jesus would want a big pissup with some mates for when he died and a bbq so we did exactly that with some fish was good :)

Protestants have embraced certain traditions increasingly in the last ten or so years. Many protestants now observe Lent in some form, and heaps give up meat on good Friday. I reckon social media has broken down a lot of the traditional differences between Micks and Prods.

Perhaps amongst the Anglican community.

Lent is something virtually all denominations recognise, but few have any traditions associated with it (to my knowledge).

Perhaps amongst the Anglican community.

Lent is something virtually all denominations recognise, but few have any traditions associated with it (to my knowledge).
Noticed it as more of a trend amongst Baptists and CofCs lately. Generally as giving up something for the Lent period. Wasn't as common 10 yrs ago in my experience.

Why do people think our lives suck because we hate Good Friday

It's not that if we looked hard enough we could find stuff to do, it's the choice of when we do it that we want

It's the day non religious people hate the most because it effects us the most when we don't want anything to do with it

How about a Sunday where all churches are prohibited from doing whatever they do on a Sunday and have their own relax day?

Noticed it as more of a trend amongst Baptists and CofCs lately. Generally as giving up something for the Lent period. Wasn't as common 10 yrs ago in my experience.

I've noticed this as well.

Many people use it as an excuse to diet though.