Good lord! We won!

Feb 21, 2002
Leongatha
How did that happen?

Did Rohde do anything particularly different? How did Robbins go up forward? Sounds like we've done something about centre clearances.

Thompson and their tall forwards have given us grief in the past, but it sounded like Harris was sensational.

Even Harrison did OK.

Look forward to your reports.

Listening to tripple M
Smorgan saying every time that we were challenged we came back. We had intensity and spirit. West had 34 Pos. Saying how they are really good signs and it is great to win and great for our fans. Said that they did a few things different. 7,500 members that haven't resigned.

Heard that Robbo was put in the forward line to create some pressure.

I'm so happy:D

Finally saw some of the long promised accountability and didnt have to sit and watch the opposition midfield cut us up. Thats the main reason for us winning.

Rohde went with a few different ideas like Robbins in the forward line-although that was more to quell Smiths influence than anything else.

Tackling was great.

Agree tackling was good...Hawthorn are noted for their run out of the middle and we demolished them in this area. Robbins was more than a handful up front. Grant and Harris were rocks in defence...Westy and Guido were class...Cooney will get his rising star nomination this week.

On another note regarding Rawlings kicking, I saw on the T.V the other day that Lloyd gets 70% of his goals from within 20 degrees of th posts. Is Rawlings problem that he can't kick or he is leading into the wrong positions? although he kicked something like 2.6 today he certainly had a lot of shots from the boundary line or outside 50. What are your thoughts?

Agree. While Rawlings isn't exactly a great shot for goal, quite a number of his shots are from positions from which others would also often miss.
He offers a target and his contested marking is outstanding.
A great pick-up.

Ah, hope you don't mind but was looking for a nice thread to give a pat on the head to the Dogs. The leash was tight on us today.

congrats you puppies :)

Good win Doggies. What a relief to finally come away with the four points (even though I thought we were going to stuff things up again at one stage).

Scott bassett continues to put his hand up. Very solid outing on his behalf. Harris was very good. As were all the others, particularly the players who we seem to always be asking when they are going to contribute along the lines of West, Smith, Darcy and co. Still a long way to go but very good effot all the same, physicality was the best its been for about 2 years.

I was in a sweat until the last five minutes but at last we got 4 quarters of solid footy. It wasn't always pretty but the tackling and accountability was a vast improvement. Also great to see some of the mid-range players putting their hands up to be contributors - Harris, Murphy, Giansiracusa, Bassett.

Westy was outstanding, as well as Johnno.

Does anyone agree with me that Street resembled a very large rabbit caught in the headlights? Fair dinkum, it was like watching paint dry. I am looking forward to seeing Bandy back in the side and would like him to take on a Cameron Mooney-type role if he can develop a bit of mongrel.

It was a great feeling walking through the city with my shiny new long sleeve bulldog jumper on. On the way back to the car, we passed a whole lot of Freo supporters. They asked who won, I said 'us' with a grin, and they let out a huge roar of approval. Almost makes up for round 7 last year.

Just got back from Dollywood in Tennessee and saw the good news. Damn..... I hope we win a few more so I can actually hear us win once again. It's been over two years since I've listened to a broadcast of us win. Can't wait to see our two minute segment on the Fox Sportsworld highlights package Friday morning!

Originally posted by Chicago1
Just got back from Dollywood in Tennessee and saw the good news. Damn..... I hope we win a few more so I can actually hear us win once again. It's been over two years since I've listened to a broadcast of us win. Can't wait to see our two minute segment on the Fox Sportsworld highlights package Friday morning!

Man, i thought i had it rough...

Originally posted by Top Dog
I was smiling the whole drive home. Especially listening to that bloke have a dip at quarters on MMM :p Go Doggies!

Gee I wish I had tuned in to that. Quartermain is one hugh pain in the butt and puts us down at every opportunity. I remember about this time last year listening to him on the way home in the car and he was suggesting that the club was on death's door again.:mad:

Originally posted by Go_Doggies
Man, i thought i had it rough...

Actually I had it pretty lucky two years ago on my trip to Melbourne. We won four out of five matches while I was there and I was at three of them. I only wish I would have flown up to Sydney for the weekend we played them to see us win there. However, sitting around the Doggies Pokie venue and watching the match with Sporty, sig, Rocco and others was fun. I even had the honour of meeting local that day.

The last time I had Internet radio access was in 2001. I do, however, miss watching the AFL changing scoreboard this year..... yeah, sure. ;) I never thought I'd be glad to hear Rex again. God, I am desperate, aren't I?

Actually I had it pretty lucky two years ago on my trip to Melbourne. We won four out of five matches while I was there and I was at three of them. I only wish I would have flown up to Sydney for the weekend we played them to see us win there. However, sitting around the Doggies Pokie venue and watching the match with Sporty, sig, Rocco and others was fun. I even had the honour of meeting local that day.

The last time I had Internet radio access was in 2001. I do, however, miss watching the AFL changing scoreboard this year..... yeah, sure. ;) I never thought I'd be glad to hear Rex again. God, I am desperate, aren't I?

Yeah you are desperate but I feel your pain and I've only been away for 1 year. Hopefully I will have as much luck as you when I visit in early May for the games against Essendon and Richmond. Fingers crossed hey.

Imagine knowing what you know now, yet going to Sydney for that game. You would never have forgiven yourself.

:D

Originally posted by Borgsta
Yeah you are desperate but I feel your pain and I've only been away for 1 year. Hopefully I will have as much luck as you when I visit in early May for the games against Essendon and Richmond. Fingers crossed hey.

If only we would have beaten Collingwood the day I arrived! However, I have few memories of that day after arriving at 8am after the 15 hour flight from LAX, which was after a six hour stopover there after a five hour flight from Chicago! Maybe that's just another reason why I hate Collingwood so much!

At least I got to see us beat Richmond and I was able to boo that scumbag Campbell. Geez... how I miss Melbourne!:(

Hope you have a great trip and bring us luck!

Originally posted by Sporty Spice
Imagine knowing what you know now, yet going to Sydney for that game. You would never have forgiven yourself.

:D

LOL And I did win on the pokies that day, didn't I? Yeah... sure. I think I contributed half of Granty's pay that day to the Bulldogs pokies benevolent fund!:p

I tried getting 3AW on my wireless while in Tennessee on Sunday to listen to the match, but all I got was Kenny Chesney or some other hokum country singer! And NASCAR! Bloody rednecks! :rolleyes: :D

Good lord! We won!