Good luck to Dylan Smith

Yeah, good luck to the kid.

Treat him well, he deserves it.. Will always give 110%

I think the argument about who won the Peter Bell deal.. has just fallen to pieces.

Go Roos

Didn't get a run last season under Laids, not even a game in the pre-season cup. Main concerns were over his kicking depth, and pace. Very much like Bell early in his career, and Dylan would be likley to model his game on Bell.

Good pick-up, fighting for a spot with Schammer as they are of similar ilk.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Should be a good pickup. Why was he given the flick?

He's had a little bit of bad luck in his time with us. He started off with some back problems, then he had a minor heart scare, and so, he never really got a good basis in training to get into the senior side when Pagan was around.

In 2003, he played enough good games with Port Melbourne to be given a try with our senior side, but it seems that JYD had him written off from the beginning. I think Paul Hamilton (one of our coaches) felt that Smith should have been given a run.

Smith's limitations (and style) as a footballer aren't too dissimilar to Peter Bell when we picked him up. But like Bell, the kid is willing to learn and put in the hard work. He has a sh*tload of leadership potential (much more than what Bell showed back in '96 imho)....most of the regulars at Roos reserves games noticed how Smith would instruct and encourage his teammates during the game and in the huddles at 1/4 and 3/4 time.

He's had two pretty tough coaches in Pagan and Laidley. Perhaps they wearn't the best men to get the best out of Smith. Connolly seems to be a players' coach and maybe he'll get the job done. The key problem for Smith is whether there is a spot in your midfield for him.

Originally posted by Shinboners
He's had two pretty tough coaches in Pagan and Laidley. Perhaps they wearn't the best men to get the best out of Smith. Connolly seems to be a players' coach and maybe he'll get the job done. The key problem for Smith is whether there is a spot in your midfield for him.

And if there isn't a spot it won't be through lack of trying or poor work ethic. Good luck to him, will still be a great team member even if he can't crack a consistent spot.

IMO outstanding citizen, useless footballer. You need to get his head right in that you need to teach him how to enjoy his football again and just play his own game. While he was at the kangas he tried to mould his game to what the coaches wanted which wasn't true to the way he would have played his footy. He also was very injury prone with hammy's being the real blight on his career thus far.

I'd like to see him succeed and do something with his career to justify why we took him so high, but i can't concieve it happening.

Is history about to repeat in an upside down manner?
Have freo picked up a Roo reject and could he turn into a star?
Stranger things have happend, and its happend in the past with the bell situation.
The whole who won the trade for bell arguement rests in Motlops hands.

Originally posted by sabre_ac

:o

Good luck to Dylan.

I reckon he will make it and I hope Laids has a ticket to the game he turns his career around.

Great bloke

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Is history about to repeat in an upside down manner?
Have freo picked up a Roo reject and could he turn into a star?
Stranger things have happend, and its happend in the past with the bell situation.

For a while there the trade was heavily bent with Bell on one side of the ledger and a host of youngsters plus Sinclair on the other side.

This year Bell really added to his value, and from my limited viewing of the Roos, the players involved in the Bell deal had a so so season. Now Smith has switched sides, maybe Bell is going to be a very hard player to balance the scales with.

We will wait and see.

Originally posted by masai
For a while there the trade was heavily bent with Bell on one side of the ledger and a host of youngsters plus Sinclair on the other side.

This year Bell really added to his value, and from my limited viewing of the Roos, the players involved in the Bell deal had a so so season. Now Smith has switched sides, maybe Bell is going to be a very hard player to balance the scales with.

We will wait and see.

Bell was excactly the right man to get, and he became the captain and frontman of the footy club.

Even if Motlop turns into the player he should (which is stupidly amazing), he wasn't what Freo needed. You guys needed a leader, a respected footballer with the capacity to lead Freo into a new and successful era.

You gave up alot, but Bell was perfect. IMO, Motlop will be a better footballer, but he and Sinclair weren't what you needed. There is not a winner as such for we are not talking about simmilar players around the same age, and both clubs were after differen't things.

Originally posted by NorthBhoy
Bell was excactly the right man to get, and he became the captain and frontman of the footy club.

Even if Motlop turns into the player he should (which is stupidly amazing), he wasn't what Freo needed. You guys needed a leader, a respected footballer with the capacity to lead Freo into a new and successful era.

You gave up alot, but Bell was perfect. IMO, Motlop will be a better footballer, but he and Sinclair weren't what you needed. There is not a winner as such for we are not talking about simmilar players around the same age, and both clubs were after differen't things.

Well summed up mate, agree 100%.