Review Good vs Carlton

We aren't winning next week, and West Coast don't look good enough to flog anyone currently.

We could win next week actually. I don’t think we’ll get there, but with Richmond travelling on the morning of, it brings us closer.

But even if we manage a respectable loss, WC can smash a team. They are a team that if they are on they can score heavily.

Not saying we’ve lost pick 1, but it’s a real possibility.

Good:
Gibbs - It never quiet worked out for him with us, but a solid game caps off a long career, well done Gibbsy

Sholl - Outstanding in the first half, bit quieter in the second, lock him in for the rising star nomination this week and 200+ games on the wing
Schoenberg - he has such a well rounded game and is still there at the end of games which I didn't think he'd have the fitness for this season
Himmelberg - Another strong week, building really well heading into the off season
Midfield - Rob, crouchs, Sloane and Laird look far better than they did early in the year
Another win, probably our best half for the year without doing too much damage to our percentage

Ugly:
Umpiring - nothing new there...
Carltons rebuild

He does need to get more involved but Jones is playing in that graveyard HFF no mans land role that a lot of our team have really struggled with. Was sitting with the forwards at the half, would love to see him get some actual time on ball next week.

I feel like he's starting to do more with his touches, but he just doesn't seem to get any easy ones.

Do the others not look for him when he's free? I don't know. He just seems to have to work so hard for his touches

Anyone posted “baggers” on the Carlton board yet?

Bigfooty servers struggling after another embarrassing Blues loss. Must be a few heading there to rub it in.

For a club in our situation the perfect game.

Some great Footy to build confidence.
Then manage the draft position.

Lachie Sholl, great game.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
Yep. I was actually stoked that carlton got that last goal late...

A win under 20 points was perfect..

Cant see us bearing the tiges... so we’ve pretty much wrapped up pick 1.

Anyone know by how much NM need to lose by to drop below us?..

Yes...second half was bad. But they showed some decent composure and a few nice passages of play to hang on...so better than a choke.
Oh it's not the end of the world, just getting a win is good enough for us right now. Talk of needing to be ruthless is premature now. It's also in part understandable that maybe the intensity dropped getting up so early to fly there. That being said Carlton played more matches in a short time frame so it certainly is balanced.

I think some of it is a case of Carlton suck when they try play structured, it's when they can just go fast and throw caution to the wind they start to do better. Tricky for them as they won't win a premiership until they can get it balanced better.

heart-jpg.960393

Rory Laird would be in the top handful of inside midfielders for his last few games. He's winning contests and using the ball efficiently.

By contrast Brad was not good. Got most of his possessions uncontested, only 4 of 16 were contested. And did not use it well.

We must let Brad walk even if we only get pick 20 or whatever. Case closed.

Jones and Fog still a bit of a cause for concern?

Cannot for the life of me understand why we played Frampton.
Not at all, thought Fog had a really solid 2nd half and attacked contests hard all day. Himmelberg should show you that it can take a bit longer for key forwards to develop. Jones took that very nice mark and kicked the goal but struggled to get involved in general play, that will come with another pre season I reckon. Seems to be playing less midfield minutes recently too.

Review Good vs Carlton