Coach Goodwin sacked

Why is it standard practice in the AFL for a sacked coach to front up at the club’s press conference announcing their own departure?

The club wants to signal a fresh start, but also needs to appear respectful toward the person they just let go.

At the same time, the outgoing coach is expected to sit there quietly and take it - often without being able to say what they truly think.

It’s an uncomfortable performance where both sides are playing roles, and neither can be fully honest.

No one really benefits from it, and it’s hard to imagine any other professional sport handling things this way.
It's a fair point. I can't recall who it was, but when a coach was sacked in recent years, he didn't attend the presser.

Walls did it again with John Northey with Richmond and the Bears in 1995
The tigers sacked him after making their first finals in 13 years
I'd just like to correct you there. Richmond did not sack John Northey. He still had a year to go on his contract and asked for an early extension after that finals series. The Richmond board, for whatever reason, declined to extend his contract early so he walked out on the Club.

It was, in my opinion, one of the worst decisions Richmond ever made because he was terrific for our Club and I think we could have had more success if we had hung on to him.

For a club that managed to almost bankrupt itself in a 1980s recruiting war, being called a Worst Richmond Decision Ever is one helluva call

Feel happy for Dees fans & players. That guy was the definition of avoidance to his own shit show that he created.

Yea is a shame to finish this way after romping in there first flag in ages. But he has either refused or been unable to address glaring issues since. Their senior players despite being good individual players have been about the most obviously selfish and petulant bunch in the league the last couple of years especially. All he and the club did was bury their heads in the sand over it.

I'd just like to correct you there. Richmond did not sack John Northey. He still had a year to go on his contract and asked for an early extension after that finals series. The Richmond board, for whatever reason, declined to extend his contract early so he walked out on the Club.

Correct but by not giving the extension they effectively told him he wasn't worth keeping.

Cricket Australia did a similar thing with Justin Langer offering him only a token 1 year extension so he resigned.

Well done Goodwin, should be proud of his time at the Dee's. Also well done to Brad Green handled it well and a good decision in my opinion.

Yea is a shame to finish this way after romping in there first flag in ages. But he has either refused or been unable to address glaring issues since. Their senior players despite being good individual players have been about the most obviously selfish and petulant bunch in the league the last couple of years especially. All he and the club did was bury their heads in the sand over it.
Their flags year was massive, so Goodwin obviously can coach.

The drug stuff looks like it eroded Goodwin and his lists ability to back up.

Piess 1990 had somebous on speed but it was mostly alcohol that sank that possible dynasty.

You can’t have dynasty teams regularly. We were pretty privileged to see hawthorn and Richmond the last decade. Geelong and Sydney have been constants. Flags are hard to win.

This is true. I'm not as critical of them not winning another flag as I am of them not really challenging hard enough for one. Failed to even make another prelim. He and the recruitment team and footy department in general really stuffed it.

I'm amazed that Leppa never gets mentioned these days as a coaching candidate, assuming he wants to coach again. Sure he had a horrendous stint at Brisbane, but that was years ago, and since then he's been involved in multiple flags at Tigers and Pies.

Well done Goodwin, should be proud of his time at the Dee's. Also well done to Brad Green handled it well and a good decision in my opinion.
It's funny that I have reached the opposite conclusion, perhaps purely based on what my past experience has me reading between the lines.

Green strikes me as a Spin Doctor, and the decision smacks of deciding to stop making excuses in a way that still takes no responsibility for what certain individuals, including the coach, have done in the past

It's funny that I have reached the opposite conclusion, perhaps purely based on what my past experience has me reading between the lines.

Green strikes me as a Spin Doctor, and the decision smacks of deciding to stop making excuses in a way that still takes no responsibility for what certain individuals, including the coach, have done in the past
Ok, yeah I respect that you see it differently. I just see it as he was straight up and transparent with his press conference and just said they have decided to bring a fresh opinion in and what will in hope bring a stop to the trend of trouble. You probably know the club better and the in's and out's of this decision and the consequences, just an outsider's opinion here.

Oh I'm as much an outsider as you. Part of what is filtering my own thinking is how we handled Bomber.

The issues at Melbourne are many from the outside looking in,
Yes they won a cup in what I call a tainted year re covid.
But A win is a win.
Why they picked Grundy to partner Gawn is a head shaker.
Losing Jackson wow
Signing Petracca and Oliver to huge contracts? The same applies to Pickett.

In fairness, Petracca seems like a bit of a tosser hell bent on building his so called 'brand' and finding his wife something quick and healthy to eat for dinner.
He's not hell bent on building his brand.

He mentioned it once and Damien Barrett goes on and on about it. Barrett literally can't mention Petracca without throwing in the word 'brand'. It's weird, but it obviously influences people. I mean, some people now think Petracca is hell bent on buidling 'brand Petracca'. Barrett also ran countless articles and commentary on Oliver and Petracca won't be at the club this year. Went on and on about. However, a complete failure of a prediction on both counts.

Petracca has not repeatedly mentioned wanting to boost is own brand. And the reality is that he's stayed at Melbourne through many shit years.

He's not hell bent on building his brand.

He mentioned it once and Damien Barrett goes on and on about it. Barrett literally can't mention Petracca without throwing in the word 'brand'. It's weird, but it obviously influences people. I mean, some people now think Petracca is hell bent on buidling 'brand Petracca'. Barrett also ran countless articles and commentary on Oliver and Petracca won't be at the club this year. Went on and on about. However, a complete failure of a prediction on both counts.

Petracca has not repeatedly mentioned wanting to boost is own brand. And the reality is that he's stayed at Melbourne through many shit years.
Its okay mate, he doesn't play for you guys yet. You dont need to blindly defend him.

Yes, hes stayed there because the club wouldn't let him go the last 2 years....

Even winning a Premiership couldn't save him from being unceremoniously dumped before the end of his contract. (meanwhile at Port....)

Was the right call.

Has turned that club into a horrible toxic place that was spiraling into something for the dark ages.

The club internals must have said some scathing things about him.

Club needs a full clean out of the toxins.

Goodwin gone is a start.. may should be next. Absolute flog and a half of a bloke. One of the Worst bullies in footy.
Clayton Oliver ( probably ship sailed on that one now), but if they can do a salary dump with a pick someone might bite.
Hit the ground for a refresh with a good coach and who knows

clearly talked to the leadership group and other coaches and staff and came to this decision.
you either die the Hero, or live long enough to become the villian

Oh I'm as much an outsider as you. Part of what is filtering my own thinking is how we handled Bomber.
Behind the scenes I hope there is enough support and it's done in the right way. The board and club has to keep the club moving forward though and do the right thing out of sight. Bomber wasn't fit to continue on, I loved him as a coach and deserves all the credit he gets, but from what has come out and his future decisions it was the best thing for the club to get Scott on board.

Coach Goodwin sacked