Coach Goodwin sacked

Honestly as an Essendon fan I would 100% take Goodwin as a coach, I think he’s done a fantastic job over the tenure of his career there. If we have another mediocre year next year, I’d really love goody to come back at the bombers.

Pretty funny that the Dees sacked their premiership coach after an 82 point win while my beloved Port Adelaide still got "Daddy Donuts" at the reins after a season of multiple near-100 point drubbings.

Correct but by not giving the extension they effectively told him he wasn't worth keeping.

Cricket Australia did a similar thing with Justin Langer offering him only a token 1 year extension so he resigned.
Well the talk was that Kevin Sheedy had dangled a carrot in front of Richmond in an effort to get a better contract renewal offer from Essendon. I think he did that more than once while at the Bombers, threatened to leave them and go to the Tigers.

How about Gary Lyon take over instead of potting every other coach the gutless flog.

That would involve 'the great man' holding an off field position at a football club that wasn't 'selection panel member' or 'internal review consultant' at Melbourne.

Sorry wait!!

He has coaching experience!

Garry coached Australia in the 'International Rules' games against the Irish from 2001 to 2004. 8 Games (2 Wins, 5 Losses and a draw)

Hmmm it's been 21 years though, is that too long removed from the (made-up, exhibition) game?

Short memory Cyclops. You seem to have forgotten the mid '80's when Collingwood nearly went bankrupt. Or the late '90's when the club was posting losses.

Yes the AFL didn't come to their help...I'll grant you that.
Nothing wrong with my memory, our mob and your mob had a war and both nearly went broke and we both saved ourselves. Oakley went after Fitzroy, Footscray and North.

South already went broke and was saved by shifting to Sydney, where they received endless cycles of assistance. Still getting aid, paid for by...guess who?

All that Melbourne needs is a shot in the arm with that list and they'll shoot up the ladder in quick time.

They need KPF's. Not easy to come by. To develop them will take years. To recruit a ready made is problematic.

Oh, and a decent game plan to take advantage I50 entries.

As I said on the Dees board the other day, given his outstanding ability to tell obvious lies with the straightest of straight faces, old mate would make an epic used car salesman.

So there’s always that, if no footy jobs come up!
Ross Lyon is a better coach than Goodwin and you know it! LoL

Geez Brad Green has puffed out like a cane toad

I saw his name appear on the clip of the presser and thought it must be a different bloke.

Uh oh ...

Green said in the press conference that they think they have a list that should be playing finals.

Get ready for Cornes to mention that after every loss for the next 5 years.
I reckon they do have the list to play finals, too much talent to be missing the 8. Wouldn't be surprised if they're there next year.

Seems very odd timing, given the fact they’ve played possibly their best footy of the year the last two weeks, outside of the last quarter v us obviously.

Not sure how enticing a job it would be to take over, given their list profile.

They’ve been a bottom 7 team the last two years now, and 3 weeks ago lost to Carlton, while only missing Lever of note, while last week they lost to us missing as many as 7 of our best team, with them only missing May and Lever of note, yet their arguable best player turns 34 in a few months (Gawn), May turns 34 in 5 months, Melksham turns 34 in a month, McDonald 33 next month, Viney is 31, Petracca turns 30 in 5 months, and isn’t what he was, Salem, Lever and Langdon will also be 30 by R1 next year, and 28yo Oliver is going to be on a reported $1.7mil back-ended contract, yet is a shadow of his former self!

They have some very young guns (especially Langford, Lindsay and Windsor), but really only one “gun player” between the ages of 20 and almost-30 (Pickett).

To make things worse, they traded their first this year for the pick they got Lindsay with, so will finish bottom 6 or 7 and not have a first rounder, and then they’re going to lose a bunch of their very best players in the next 2-3 years, and will presumably have to rebuild as Tassie are coming in.

Got to wonder how appealing it will be to walk into that situation.
Right up Simmos alley.

Never ending credits for the seniors. No to blooding youngsters. Hanging for the day that the seniors can get through band back together one more time.

He'll love it.

From 2000 onwards there has only been 4 "Dynasty Teams" or "Teams to win Premierships in quick time" and they are in timespan order:

Brisbane Lions: 2001, 2002 & 2003
Geelong: 2007, 2009 & 2011
Hawthorn: 2013, 2014 & 2015
Richmond: 2017, 2019 & 2020

These sort of teams don't come along often.
If you think about it another way, that's 12 out of 25 premierships (or half of them) won by a dynasty team. Moreover, a new dynasty team emerged on average every 5 years or so.

In my view, that means dynasty teams aren't that rare in the modern era. Therefore, it's not unreasonable to speculate that any premiership side that doesn't have an old age profile could be the next dynasty.

That said, I don't think the 2021 Demons had the forward line talent for multiple premierships.

Coach Goodwin sacked