Gotta Keep Farmer

Have not commented on it so far . but here are my thoughts.

Given the timing of the events only hours after CC resigned ,We should be prepared cut him a bit of slack this time becuase of that.

Wiz would have been well aware that He was most probably the reason that CC and the season is gone.

No doubt he would have been reminded of that in the hours preceeding the incident , and being injured had robbed himself of any chance of redeeming the situation.

I reckon if I had let everyone down like he did I would have gotten pissed and a bit angry at the world as well.

In a way it is a sign that He does have a concience which is good.

Hit it on the head Rip. the ones who would benefit most from us axing Jeff would be opposition clubs. You only had to hear the glee in that f-wit sattler's voice yesterday to know that's the truth. Do what's best for the footy team this time and screw the media hype. We want Jeff on the field doing what he is paid to do.

Agree and agree.

We will really show the rest of the AFL clubs a thing or two if we suspend Farmer heavily again. Look at where Collingwood and the Eagles are on the ladder and look at where we are on the ladder.

I think you will find that a lot of us who are on Farmers case over this are arguing against posters who simply want to let this last incident slide and pretend it never happened.

No-one wants to lose him, and personally I reckon he will get another suspension and a heavily discounted and disciplined contract next year.

But the club may well have painted itself into a corner on this and he may well be gone.

Either way Jeffery you need a good slap and a big mirror.

I think you will find that a lot of us who are on Farmers case over this are arguing against posters who simply want to let this last incident slide and pretend it never happened.

No-one wants to lose him, and personally I reckon he will get another suspension and a heavily discounted and disciplined contract next year.

But the club may well have painted itself into a corner on this and he may well be gone.

No more club suspensions! it only serves to damage the club, surely we have learned the lesson. The overreaction last time cost us dearly. Lets not make the same mistakes again. IP used the quote recently, keep doing the same things and you will get the same outcome and in this case it means losing games and sending the club down

Certainly can't let the incident slide. He needs to be slapped , but should not be sacked because there are mitigating circumstances IMO.

If it were me I would banish him to Sowf's for a few weeks or even the rest of the season.

Harsh I know. ;)

That way He is diciplined and still can play footy

No more club suspensions! it only serves to damage the club, surely we have learned the lesson. The overreaction last time cost us dearly. Lets not make the same mistakes again. IP used the quote recently, keep doing the same things and you will get the same outcome and in this case it means losing games and sending the club down

So what do you propose as an alternative?

Certainly can't let the incident slide. He needs to be slapped , but should not be sacked because there are mitigating circumstances IMO.

If it were me I would banish him to Sowf's for a few weeks or even the rest of the season.

Harsh I know. ;)

You are a hard man Rip!!

But I think that IP and I could live with that.:p

So what do you propose as an alternative?

Do what the other clubs do, fine him and get on with winning games of football.

Was there media hysteria calling for his sacking when Daniel Kerr committed his umpteenth offence? Lets not listen to the media calling for us to burn the witch.

Do what the other clubs do, fine him and get on with winning games of football.

Was there media hysteria calling for his sacking when Daniel Kerr committed his umpteenth offence? Lets not listen to the media calling for us to burn the witch.

Well lets take out $100,000 out of his salary for next year and keep it in escrow...and explain to Jeff that it is being withheld because we just know that he is going to stuff up and we need it to cover his fines.

Seriously, as a Duty of Care issue we cannot just go down the road of fining him.

It doesn't help Jeff at all and it certainly doesn't help the club, and in particular the playing group.

Well lets take out $100,000 out of his salary for next year and keep it in escrow...and explain to Jeff that it is being withheld because we just know that he is going to stuff up and we need it to cover his fines.
Seriously, as a Duty of Care issue we cannot just go down the road of fining him.

It doesn't help Jeff at all and it certainly doesn't help the club, and in particular the playing group.

It's a great idea, better than suspending him, which did no good at all. Especially to the playing group. I don't think any of them would be feeling good about the consequences of the last time now.

Well it is obvious the threat of being suspended doesnt deter Jeff Farmer, maybe he needs to be hit in the hip pocket? Some penalties work better for different people.

There are 2 Jeff Farmers.

The one who gets himself into trouble by making the wrong decisions on the drink.

Then theres the one who we call "the wiz" the one who can turn a game in a quarter. A proven matchwinner.

If we lose Pavlich and Bell then Farmer. 3 Matchwinners will leave Fremantle.

Compare Jeff to Shane Warne. Shane might not have had assault charges but he did have a number of off-field indiscretions including a 12 month ban for using a banned substance. Did Cricket Australia terminate him? No, because he is Shane Warne, how do you sack a matchwinner like Shane. Same goes with Jeff Farmer, although we cant accept this behaviour we cant sack Jeff Farmer.

Good Morning Bush Cat

It is Jeff's duty to play football. It's the club's duty to start winning.

Honestly, all of these people looking for role models, should really look elsewhere. He can only be a positive onfield role model for his all too often lazy, arrogant metrosex team mates.

Have not commented on it so far . but here are my thoughts.

Given the timing of the events only hours after CC resigned ,We should be prepared cut him a bit of slack this time becuase of that.

Wiz would have been well aware that He was most probably the reason that CC and the season is gone.

No doubt he would have been reminded of that in the hours preceeding the incident , and being injured had robbed himself of any chance of redeeming the situation.

I reckon if I had let everyone down like he did I would have gotten pissed and a bit angry at the world as well.

In a way it is a sign that He does have a concience which is good.

thats probably the best description of what could have happened. it has been coomon to hear that every freo cynic have said from farmers indiscretions in the past few months have may caused ccs downfall. however that is totally unfair to farmer and the team should be blamed as a whole for their horrible 3 game start. (especially the lead against port)

Harsh I know. ;)

I agree.
Contract slashed for next year and put on a performance based contract.

Stuff up, he doesn't play = no money

Don't worry Joondalup.

You have made some very relevant and salient points.

Cheers for not trolling, a lot of us have had a pretty upsetting week, and some take it better than others.
Well said and thanks. I am not trying to be a nasty in any of this. Everyone knows Freo have a huge future ahead but you got to get the prioritys right first. Good luck Fremantle.See ya folks.

It seems to me that Farmer typifies the Fremantle problem and I honestly believe that the best thing that could happen for the culture of the Fremantle football club is to sack Farmer. He's highly inconsistent, he can be a genius in one game and not touch it the next. He's ridiculously undisciplined and his off and on-field behavior is often absolutely disgraceful. Finally he's had a number of chances now to show that he can improve and quite frankly he hasn't done it. Sack him now, draw a line in the sand for the other players in the side and for once look past the short-term costs and focus on the long-term benefits that removing his malignant influence from Fremantle could have.

Or don't of course, that would probably help everyone else in the competition :D

Farmer as the player on the field I would love the club to keep. The problem is I think it has got to a point now in which Farmer the off field persona is almost making that impossible.

It seems to me that Farmer typifies the Fremantle problem and I honestly believe that the best thing that could happen for the culture of the Fremantle football club is to sack Farmer. He's highly inconsistent, he can be a genius in one game and not touch it the next. He's ridiculously undisciplined and his off and on-field behavior is often absolutely disgraceful. Finally he's had a number of chances now to show that he can improve and quite frankly he hasn't done it. Sack him now, draw a line in the sand for the other players in the side and for once look past the short-term costs and focus on the long-term benefits that removing his malignant influence from Fremantle could have.

Or don't of course, that would probably help everyone else in the competition :D

What a load of crap. He is very consitant on the field. Of course you would love to see us lose him.

Hahaha it seems the post i was refering to got deleted and mine was kept on making me look like a ********.

Fair enough mate:):thumbsu:

Like I said yesterday you can be a bit obtuse at times, but you completely lost me for a while there.:D

Was someone being mean to poor old bushie??:(

Fair enough mate:):thumbsu:

Like I said yesterday you can be a bit obtuse at times, but you completely lost me for a while there.:D

Was someone being mean to poor old bushie??:(

What do you mean by "a bit obtuse"? Yup it was one of the great bigfooty sprays i have seen, wasnt clever because most of it was just these "*****"