Goulburn Valley FL 2021

Trent the flight Steward

Jul 30, 2006
Cessnock
Didn't ky have half their senior side living in Melbourne?

I'd think there would be a few guys in the kdfl that could get walk into most gvfl sides, also you'd look at the Murray, Bendigo and ovens and Murray, even the central Murray, where many guys reside in Bendigo.

Overall most clubs instead of looking to getting a few guys from Melbourne could look elsewhere, even to Geelong, in case of Melbourne lockdowns.

For example would a club make a play for Dean polo, let him train in Albury, give him July off and see if you can get him out of retirement.

Also could more players that currently live in Melbourne move to the gv area, everyone is sick of Melbourne lockdowns, cheaper houses could see an influx of melbournians move to play footy.

And do clubs ask Melbourne players to move to the town if they sign them?

id think metro clubs would be harder hit, with sponsors etc to pay for players so could be back to more players returning to the bush, which is good for the game.

Think it should not matter
Probably getting a good local training base is at the forefront front of club plans

jayco13

Mar 23, 2011
Rushworth
Rushworth, NY Jets,

I'd think there would be a few guys in the kdfl that could get walk into most gvfl sides, also you'd look at the Murray, Bendigo and ovens and Murray, even the central Murray, where many guys reside in Bendigo.

Overall most clubs instead of looking to getting a few guys from Melbourne could look elsewhere, even to Geelong, in case of Melbourne lockdowns.

For example would a club make a play for Dean polo, let him train in Albury, give him July off and see if you can get him out of retirement.

Also could more players that currently live in Melbourne move to the gv area, everyone is sick of Melbourne lockdowns, cheaper houses could see an influx of melbournians move to play footy.

id think metro clubs would be harder hit, with sponsors etc to pay for players so could be back to more players returning to the bush, which is good for the game.
And people have worked out by now that they can work from home which may give some players the option of keeping their jobs in Melbourne but the luxury of moving out of the city

May 25, 2012
GWS

Can you please re read what you just posted Trent. Asking a player to pack up and change their lives to play country football is quite ridiculous unless you are paying them 2k a game, which with the new salary caps you can not afford to do. Have you been a recruiter or coach of a club before? Recruiting isn’t that simple and is the hardest part of the role. Unless you are Albury and have the Joss connection that just wouldn’t work.

Ky as with euroa have majority of their players in Melbourne who live there due to work and other reasons, most of which are local boys as well. I like the way you’re thinking, but let’s be realistic.

Trent the flight Steward

Jul 30, 2006
Cessnock
Not sure you've noticed the predicament in Melbourne, a lot of people are in lockdown that can't actually work at all, or their partner. Look at the financial impacts that has on people, I have people ringing me all the time looking to move out of the city to the country because of lockdown. Country areas have cheaper houses, less chance of harsh long lockdowns, cheaper morgage. People can also work from home and may need to go in the office one or two days a week.

If you can't sell to a player the benefits now of moving to the country or at the least playing in the country from this, where many people are chomping at the bit to get out of the city, country clubs have plenty in their favour, which hasn't being the case in a long time ultra. I'm not saying it's easy to recruit, but it's in country clubs favour, which it hasnt being for a long time

Can you please re read what you just posted Trent. Asking a player to pack up and change their lives to play country football is quite ridiculous unless you are paying them 2k a game, which with the new salary caps you can not afford to do. Have you been a recruiter or coach of a club before? Recruiting isn’t that simple and is the hardest part of the role. Unless you are Albury and have the Joss connection that just wouldn’t work.

Ky as with euroa have majority of their players in Melbourne who live there due to work and other reasons, most of which are local boys as well. I like the way you’re thinking, but let’s be realistic.

Jan 9, 2013
And people have worked out by now that they can work from home which may give some players the option of keeping their jobs in Melbourne but the luxury of moving out of the city
He
Tom Holman is an absolute gun Hilly. Reeves and Barnes will be a bonus. As good as Reeves has been, do you think Paulo might play the big fella enough times to qualify and then roll him out as a final specialist? The big man loves a Grand Final!
Yes tongue Reeves has produced the goods more than once on Deakin we saw the outcome in 2018 when he didn’t play and Ash Holland having the influence on that game that he did

Feb 13, 2018
wombats
Tom Holman is an absolute gun Hilly. Reeves and Barnes will be a bonus. As good as Reeves has been, do you think Paulo might play the big fella enough times to qualify and then roll him out as a final specialist? The big man loves a Grand Final!
Reckon that's the plan get some back end games into him and then unleash on the finals

jayco13

Mar 23, 2011
Rushworth
Rushworth, NY Jets,
Why fingers crossed mate if double jabbed should be ok if Dan does lockdowns again goes against everything proposed if he though would kill country footy good and proper
Fingers crossed that we'll be back playing with crowds watching. That was the dream this year, and didn't happen. Just hoping things will get back to normal in 2022

Trent the flight Steward

Jul 30, 2006
Cessnock
Interesting article about the Hume league and what the cancellation of two years has done financially for league's, which will be a state wide issue.

Brad Scott as the GM for AFL Vic was completing a feasibility study of league's in the state to see how viable they are, after covid of course. With AFL strings pulled tight don't expect much to go into grassroots footy for comps across the state, money will all go to junior footy programs, I'd be surprised if any gets to community footy and explains why league's was so keen to complete a season

Fingers crossed that we'll be back playing with crowds watching. That was the dream this year, and didn't happen. Just hoping things will get back to normal in 2022

Mar 13, 2007
THE TAN
Interesting article about the Hume league and what the cancellation of two years has done financially for league's, which will be a state wide issue.

Brad Scott as the GM for AFL Vic was completing a feasibility study of league's in the state to see how viable they are, after covid of course. With AFL strings pulled tight don't expect much to go into grassroots footy for comps across the state, money will all go to junior footy programs, I'd be surprised if any gets to community footy and explains why league's was so keen to complete a season
Will AFL Vic exist and/or have any say in football in country Victoria next season ?
Rival bodies who are offering reduced admin for those administered are starting to appear .
Will leagues like the GVL continue to give 70-80k per annum over and above wages ?

Mar 13, 2007
THE TAN
Is there a bit of a move to overthrow the current board? Heard a whisper that may of been the case. I could be wrong but could be what is being alluded to.
Sounds about right .
New board is elected with the club owing $150k , board wipes out that debt then others try and white ant them , so they can claim glory .

ringo1

Jan 30, 2006
Williamstown/Echuca
😂 sorry Silver. I believe this is what’s happened, which could also undo the Vidler appointment. Sounds like a mess.
Footy clubs just seem to have that ability to implode.Unless people involved park their egos and do what's best for the club, then this happens. They have become in some instances snake pits.