Goulburn Valley General Thread 2011- 2012

Did Brad Murray win the B & F when he was at Echuca? Can't wait to see what he does under Peter Banfield at Blackburn. Getting close to veteran stage but should go real well!:):thumbsu:

Any chance of Kingy returning to shepp when time permits with the dogs. Would be great to see him suit up against his old sparring partner in Blake

Tom Sheldon will be playing at Echuca if NFL doesn't work out....Never signed a contract at Rochy and pissed off with them for saying he did...couple of his Echuca mates have returned to the fold !!!!!:thumbsu:

Clearances have Sheldon going to Rochester.

This.

His punting efforts are going extremely well in the US from all reports. He will be back in Australia within the next week or two, then back to the US. Will be at Rochester if the punting falls through.

This.

His punting efforts are going extremely well in the US from all reports. He will be back in Australia within the next week or two, then back to the US. Will be at Rochester if the punting falls through.

Won't play a game of Aussie Rules for Rochester this year or ever !!!!

Is about to hit the big time in the US.....AFL will be a thing of the past for him....

Good Luck TS..........:thumbsu:

Can anyone confirm the status of Brett Mahoney at Mansfield? Reports are he was looking at Subiaco for 2012. Would be a huge loss if he was to go. Dissappointing to hear that on pre season numbers there are a number of clubs concerned about having enough players for a viable seconds team. Given the previous posts about players being offered good money to play in the minor leagues it poses a real dilema for GV clubs.
Benalla is one that appears in real trouble and there are worries at Ky and Euroa also.
Can anyone confirm if Ogden is staYING AT kY? mATES IN THE BFL continue to say that Redan have him for 2012. Apparently chased him very hard for last season and are very keen on him to join this year.
Tats depth must aslo be a concern given the number of players who have moved on.
Any other clubs with concern on numbers moving forward?

Can anyone confirm the status of Brett Mahoney at Mansfield? Reports are he was looking at Subiaco for 2012. Would be a huge loss if he was to go. Dissappointing to hear that on pre season numbers there are a number of clubs concerned about having enough players for a viable seconds team. Given the previous posts about players being offered good money to play in the minor leagues it poses a real dilema for GV clubs.
Benalla is one that appears in real trouble and there are worries at Ky and Euroa also.
Can anyone confirm if Ogden is staYING AT kY? mATES IN THE BFL continue to say that Redan have him for 2012. Apparently chased him very hard for last season and are very keen on him to join this year.
Tats depth must aslo be a concern given the number of players who have moved on.
Any other clubs with concern on numbers moving forward?

Mahoney was going to the West last I heard. The problems with the reserves is that many players get offered money, maybe only need to train once or twice a week and it can be an easy way to play with mates. GV footy requires 3 nights per week, Sunday recovery and often meetings that are the bane of players that don't take it too seriously.

Too true, and there in lies the problem. Though it is hard to argue against a guy getting a couple of hundred to play in minor league footy when he gets bugger all to play 2's in major league.
If Mahoney is off to the West thuogh he will be a big loss to the Eagles, can't help but think it could be the next step he needs to make.
Appreciate the reply Ringo.

To me this is a big part of the problem Ringo. Country footy is no longer country footy as such. The demands on players are too much. 3 nights a week plus Sunday recovery is a lot. I beleive the increase in demands of players is taking away from the fun and attraction of what country footy used to be. From my point of view I am just a player (many people will argue with that even) I play footy to play at my home club, don't get paid but am happy to turn up Tuesday, Thursday during the year and play saturdays. I have a young family and a job that is demanding as well. I honestly could not justify an extra night a week plus a sunday morning on top of what I already commit. I really think this is the reason many borderline "major league" players are being lost to clubs

Too true, and there in lies the problem. Though it is hard to argue against a guy getting a couple of hundred to play in minor league footy when he gets bugger all to play 2's in major league.
If Mahoney is off to the West thuogh he will be a big loss to the Eagles, can't help but think it could be the next step he needs to make.
hey I couldn't agree more, i came from minor league to play gv footy last season and thought i would really enjoy the more professional footy gv offered. but im now going back to my old club due to demand to play gv footy. we trained 3 nights a week from nov to feb and then did a recovery most weekends on a sunday also a team meeting thurs night that didnt see me home till after 9pm. i was paid player there and played all seinor games and really enjoyed the FOOTY and people, but at the end of the day too big commitment for me!!

Mate on the GV site Mahoney has put in a clearance to the WAFL I reckon on those big dry grounds he will have an impact.Steven King will be a huge get for shepparton looks very fit

The financial burden upon clubs looks to be about to take another step , with a club alledgedly paying any players who train $15 per training .
Whilst the same club has alledgedly offered district club under 17 players coin .
Note that it isn't a GV club , but no doubt will become the norm in the next few years amongst all leagues .:thumbsd:

Hi

I live in Melbourne and am playing footy up in the country this year and heard a rumour about a group of country players from different leagues training together at Gosch's Paddock in Richmond.
1. Is this true?
2. If so, can anyone train there?
3. What times do they train?

Cheers

Sportsbet odds are up:

Shepp United 2.85
Mooroopna 4.00
Tatura 5.00
Rochester 5.00
Seymour 11.00
Mansfield 11.00
Kyabram 26.00
Shepparton 26.00
Shepparton Swans 67.00
Benalla 101.00
Euroa 101.00
Echuca 101.00

What's happened to Echuca? Do Shepp United deserve to be favourites at this stage, I thought they had lost a few, have these guys been replaced?
Who are the other main premiership threats? Can anyone see the flag coming from outside the top 4 fancies?

Sportsbet odds are up:

Shepp United 2.85
Mooroopna 4.00
Tatura 5.00
Rochester 5.00
Seymour 11.00
Mansfield 11.00
Kyabram 26.00
Shepparton 26.00
Shepparton Swans 67.00
Benalla 101.00
Euroa 101.00
Echuca 101.00

What's happened to Echuca? Do Shepp United deserve to be favourites at this stage, I thought they had lost a few, have these guys been replaced?
Who are the other main premiership threats? Can anyone see the flag coming from outside the top 4 fancies?

I'll take Echuca some coin at $101.00...Echuca will make top 6 then you are a chance....don't think united will be unbeatable....Rochy for me...

Big Rumour Echuca will take a certain clearance to Shepp swans all the way...money involved......watch this space !!!!