FitzroyRamone

B+F in a premiership year - SFA season 4
Brisbane Lions
Fitzroy, Norwich City, Niners
Hi all,

Quick question. If the Fitzroy Reds do as expected and make the D3 Grand Final, would anybody be interested in a grand final brekafast on Saturday 15/8? I'm about to put it to FFC and FRFC, just wanted to check how much interest their would be amongst us old Roys.

Cheers,
FitzroyRamone

Originally posted by Olmy
Yeah, sounds good to me, as long as it's not too early.

Where'd it be staged??

I thought maybe a BYO beer and pizza brekkie (as opposed to a chicken and champagne) at Edinburgh Gardens from 8.00-10.00, hop on a tram and get the train down to Cheltenham, singing "We are the boys" along the way!

Cheers,
FitzroyRamone

just a thought......

North Melbourne have a huge GF breakfast for the AFL (as you all know !)

I would think that would be a huge opportunity for the FFC to raise some funds.....

Might be able to scrounge some tickets from somewhere to raffle or something.

Just a thought....

Satay Mat

Originally posted by Satay Mat
just a thought......

North Melbourne have a huge GF breakfast for the AFL (as you all know !)

I would think that would be a huge opportunity for the FFC to raise some funds.....

Might be able to scrounge some tickets from somewhere to raffle or something.

Just a thought....

Satay Mat

I don't quite understand this ... do you mean we should hold some sort of chook raffle?

Why not ask Bill Atherton to approach Brisbane re some Granny tickets, or if they are reading this they can contact you, I'll get you some tickets for the London game but they would be bloody useless, or get a chook form the local butcher.

Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer

I don't quite understand this ... do you mean we should hold some sort of chook raffle?

no mate....

all is was saying is that if the FFC held a grand final breakfast in Melbourne I would pay money to attend. The North Melbourne event does not really have much to do with North Melbourne so the fact that the roys are not stand alone in the comp should not matter.

Could be a celebration of all things footy !!!

You could also raffle a chook if you want.

Satay Mat

Satay Mat, I think your idea is the dogs bollocks and should be followed up might be to late but i reckon you could start with a small one at Lord Newry they have an upstairs room, the Fitzroy boys have used it as a ribald players end of season piss up.
Kev, FR any chance of that sort of thing ( I know I won't be there, unless you pay my faree from the UK) but it is worth a thought the VAFL (the Ammos) it might start something big.
The Fitzroy Reds Granny Breakfast has a ring to it, (excuse me while I reach for a Fosters), but it will be a way in in for the FFC to promote themselves as a football ientity that is still alive.

Perhaps if the club organises something, they might consider getting a function room at a pub somewhere (Lord Newry perhaps). They could pre-sell the seats or something, and put on a breakfast. They'd probably get a few hundred people interested.

Not only would it be a good lead up to the VAFA GF (if we make it every year!), but it would also be an event to help restore the FFC as a living sporting/social entity.

Olmy this no good we are thinking alike, I'm worried, but maybe to late in the day to do it, but I'm sure the Lord Newry would be able to rustle up something for breaky.

Levo, of course it's good that you've come around to my way of thinking. Trust me, those who think like me find life to be a very successful experience. There are two rules to remember: "What would Olmy think of this?" and (as Mr.Ripper and his friend Jethro Q. Walrustitty would tell you) "Olmy knows best". ;)

In all seriousness though, perhaps it's not too late to organise something of a semi-formal nature (I'm not talking "formal" in terms of attire, but rather something that is a tangible event).

I guess all it takes is one of us to get off our lazy arses and ring/e-mail Bill.A with the suggestion and a few ideas as to the implementation of the idea.

Or we could just hope their thinking the same as us, or happen to log on here to read it for themselves . . .

I am going to the monthly FFC meeting at the Lord Newry Hotel on Thursday night and I will discuss the idea of a GF Breakfast with Friz and Peter Hille (prez and vice-prez of the Reds) and the ever enthusiastic Billy A. I have spoken previously with Bill and he was a big rap for it.
Some ideas I will bring up are:
holding it at the function room at Brunsiwck Street
booking upstairs at the Newry
booking a table at a cafe on Brunswick Street (any suggestions)
finding a hotel in the southern suburbs that hold breakfasts
finding a decent park and have a BBQ

Cheers,
Fitzroy Ramone