boncer34
Formerly "Dos23"
Who do you want to win the Grand Final and why? Which is the match up you most desire?
For me -
Melbourne finished with a H&A record of 17-4-1 to claim the minor premiership before easily dismantling the Lions in week 1 of the finals.
Why I want them to win
I find it very difficult to go past the history of a Dees Grand Final. Up until 1964 they'd won 12 flags and were a powerhouse of the comp, since then they've competed in just 2 Grand Finals (1988 and 2000) and were pantsed in both. Other than those efforts the closest they've come is when Jim Stynes ran over the mark in 1987 to move Buckenera within goal kicking range. Their fans have suffered some incredible lows and if anyone deserves one it is the Dees fans, plus I have a good mate who is a Dee's fan so it'd be nice for him. Additionally Max Gawn
seems like a ripper bloke, seeing him lift the cup would be pretty cool. Plus Pig and Melk.
Why I don't want them to win
There's something about some of their players such as Oliver that I just can't quite get on board with. He's a gun but jeez his flopping shits me, its not as blatant as other opposition players (I'll get to them) but jeez he goes down very quickly at the lightest touch. I have him in the group of players I'd love to have at Essendon and wouldn't care about the flops if he was, but since he's not it gets to me. There's also a fair amount of swagger amongst a playing group that in reality has done very little, having them bought down to earth wouldn't be the worst thing. Also I don't like Gary Lyon so bringing him pleasure is annoying. Oh, and if Nathan Jones isn't included in the 23 I hope they get destroyed Grand Final day should they make it.
Port Adelaide
Port finished with a H&A record of 17-5 to steal 2nd place and put the Cats away easily in week 1.
Why I want them to win
The Power are a pretty inoffensive team to me, they're interstate and I only know one actual Power fan in real life so if they win the celebrations and over the top bragging is in another state. It'd also be amusing to me to see Hinkley raise the cup for a fan base that seemingly hates his guts and wants him to move on. Additionally much like Maxy for the Dees I quite like Boak, I'd like to see him get rewarded, it would've been super easy for him to take the money and run early on in his career especially how bad they were but he stuck around so reward would be nice.
They have a lot of players who I dislike for the same reasons I dislike Oliver, they are guns but jeez they flop and sook it up when it doesn't go their way. Other than that I don't really have a reason to not want them to win, maybe their posters on here would become even more insufferable but you can say that about any club really.
Geelong choked in the last round against Melbourne to finish 16-6 landing them 3rd on the ladder, week 1 they were very average against Port but bounced back nicely in week 2 vs GWS.
Why I want them to win
I have some personal connections through family and friends with the Cats so if I'm honest I'll probably barrack for them more than any of the other remaining 4. I also think it'd be nice for Chris Scott
to get some recognition for his ability as a coach, they've stayed up for a long time which has a lot to do with him so to snag a flag would end the "anyone could've coached them" stigma around him. It'd also really burn Hawks fans that a team that topped up snagged a flag, unlike their train wreck effort.
Even though they haven't won a flag since 2011, it feels like they've been around forever it's time for them to disappear and let others have a crack for awhile. Dangerfield and Rohan lead the way on players I think are flogs so seeing them get a flag is something I can live without. Other than that its hard for me to pick a reason why I don't want them to win, they'd almost be my 2nd team if I had one.
The Dogs fell out of the top 4 in the last round with a loss to Port, they've since then beaten the Bombers comfortably and were carried against the Lions.
Why I want them to win
I dont
That game against Brisbane was an out and out disgrace, how you could justify paying some of those decisions late is beyond me, not to mention the bullshit ones they got a week earlier (we'd have still lost). I could rant a lot more about Bevo, Weightman and a whole heap of other flogs but I'll bite my tongue for now and say I hope Port belt the bejesus out of them this week.
For me -
Melbourne finished with a H&A record of 17-4-1 to claim the minor premiership before easily dismantling the Lions in week 1 of the finals.
Why I want them to win
I find it very difficult to go past the history of a Dees Grand Final. Up until 1964 they'd won 12 flags and were a powerhouse of the comp, since then they've competed in just 2 Grand Finals (1988 and 2000) and were pantsed in both. Other than those efforts the closest they've come is when Jim Stynes ran over the mark in 1987 to move Buckenera within goal kicking range. Their fans have suffered some incredible lows and if anyone deserves one it is the Dees fans, plus I have a good mate who is a Dee's fan so it'd be nice for him. Additionally Max Gawn
PLAYERCARDSTART
Max Gawn
- Ht
- 209cm
- Wt
- 110kg
- Pos.
- Ruck
Career
Season
Last 5
- D
- 4star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 4star
- CL
- 4star
- HO
- 5star
- D
- 4star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 4star
- CL
- 4star
- HO
- 5star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 2star
- HB
- 4star
- CL
- 3star
- HO
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
There's something about some of their players such as Oliver that I just can't quite get on board with. He's a gun but jeez his flopping shits me, its not as blatant as other opposition players (I'll get to them) but jeez he goes down very quickly at the lightest touch. I have him in the group of players I'd love to have at Essendon and wouldn't care about the flops if he was, but since he's not it gets to me. There's also a fair amount of swagger amongst a playing group that in reality has done very little, having them bought down to earth wouldn't be the worst thing. Also I don't like Gary Lyon so bringing him pleasure is annoying. Oh, and if Nathan Jones isn't included in the 23 I hope they get destroyed Grand Final day should they make it.
Port Adelaide
Port finished with a H&A record of 17-5 to steal 2nd place and put the Cats away easily in week 1.
Why I want them to win
The Power are a pretty inoffensive team to me, they're interstate and I only know one actual Power fan in real life so if they win the celebrations and over the top bragging is in another state. It'd also be amusing to me to see Hinkley raise the cup for a fan base that seemingly hates his guts and wants him to move on. Additionally much like Maxy for the Dees I quite like Boak, I'd like to see him get rewarded, it would've been super easy for him to take the money and run early on in his career especially how bad they were but he stuck around so reward would be nice.
They have a lot of players who I dislike for the same reasons I dislike Oliver, they are guns but jeez they flop and sook it up when it doesn't go their way. Other than that I don't really have a reason to not want them to win, maybe their posters on here would become even more insufferable but you can say that about any club really.
Geelong choked in the last round against Melbourne to finish 16-6 landing them 3rd on the ladder, week 1 they were very average against Port but bounced back nicely in week 2 vs GWS.
Why I want them to win
I have some personal connections through family and friends with the Cats so if I'm honest I'll probably barrack for them more than any of the other remaining 4. I also think it'd be nice for Chris Scott
PLAYERCARDSTART
Chris Scott
- Ht
- 182cm
- Wt
- 89kg
- Pos.
- Fwd
Career
Season
Last 5
- D
- 4star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 3star
No current season stats available
- D
- 4star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- G
- 3star
PLAYERCARDEND
Even though they haven't won a flag since 2011, it feels like they've been around forever it's time for them to disappear and let others have a crack for awhile. Dangerfield and Rohan lead the way on players I think are flogs so seeing them get a flag is something I can live without. Other than that its hard for me to pick a reason why I don't want them to win, they'd almost be my 2nd team if I had one.
The Dogs fell out of the top 4 in the last round with a loss to Port, they've since then beaten the Bombers comfortably and were carried against the Lions.
Why I want them to win
I dont
That game against Brisbane was an out and out disgrace, how you could justify paying some of those decisions late is beyond me, not to mention the bullshit ones they got a week earlier (we'd have still lost). I could rant a lot more about Bevo, Weightman and a whole heap of other flogs but I'll bite my tongue for now and say I hope Port belt the bejesus out of them this week.

is a Dee's supporter God Bless her!