grand finals are going to be night from now on

The concept of the night grand final to me is somewhat reflective to the NFL's attitude to the Los Angeles market between 2007 and 2016.

Everyone knew if the NFL were to maximise the $ coming in, they'd need to put a team or teams in the LA market and make it a feature of the league. There was however a lot of push back from various people who believed the LA market should have been used as an empty threat to get the necessary stadia built in the existing markets.

Bottom line is that it had the potential financially to be the NFL's white wale.

The AFL Grand Final isn't necessarily going to be a bigger spectacle at night. It only makes sense to make it a permanent night fixture if the relative television network forks up the big bucks for it. Use it as an opportunity to get every club financially stable during a time where things couldn't have been more uncertain due to Covid.

Alas, the TV rights deal doesn't finish until 2024, so it could throw a spanner in the works. It's without question though that the AFL needs to take full financial advantage if they are going to make what some may see as a drastic change.

Too bloody right. I sat with a mate and the dear wife and tried to keep a lid on it. Lit a fire in the backyard and pretended that I was having fun. To bad about the BBQ that starts at noon. To bad about the beers and the laughs and the generally great day with a yard full of dogs and kids and adults shouting at the TV. Nah, it's all about the bells and whistles and the TV ratings. The most hollow GF I can remember, and I'm a Tiger.

Great post. Really rang true, with me.

Surprised by the backlash, I thought it was a decent spectacle. It’s also hard to judge the merits of it given the circumstances and abnormality of this year. It was always going to be bland in Melbourne with no build up, nothing open, and no gatherings allowed.

The main issue is that it’s too late for the traditional post-match activities.

I’d prefer the traditional time if given the choice, but I’m not sure we’d lose that much by moving it to twilight.

Wait until next year when the police complain because 60k of the grand final crowd turn up to the game smashed, fights break out, some get kicked out and some can’t even get in. It won’t be pretty having a night GF in Melbourne. People will still start drinking at 10am and it will end up a nightmare for the AFL.
Not to mention every pub/bar/casino in metro Melbourne packed with people absolutely sloshed by gametime because they've been in their since 11am.

The GF at night makes it less of a family event, it loses a bit of the magic for mine. I'm not even a family man, but the classic mates around the BBQ on a sunny Saturday afternoon has always been the way. Then it leaves plenty of time after for each to their own, whether that be kicking on or leaving.

Probably also worth noting that a Public Holiday on the Friday for a game on the Saturday night which most kids wouldn't see the finish is even more ridiculous than it may already be.

If it's a Saturday night, it's localised entertainment. If it's Saturday afternoon, it's a state-wide event. Probably doesn't make a lot of sense, but that's how I see it.

Arvo GF is lunch-GF-dinner, a whole day thing. A night GF is do whatever you like with your day, have an early dinner, put the kids to bed then watch the footy.

I missed both the start (putting the kids to bed) and the finish (Mrs was asleep around 3/4 time so went to bed after the siren). No chance of a babysitter GF night, so can't see it being any other way, COVID or not, really.

The game is so skillful and entertaining day or night would be just as good

September 25th - Grand Final day 2021

And they've announced it's reverting back to the DAY TIME TIME SLOT

YEEAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH BOY

Enjoy it for the next few years...the AFL only did this to keep the fans happy after last years disasterous season...once this current TV rights deal expires at the end of 2024, the next broadcaster will demand a twilight/night GF...it’s inevitable.

I was huge for Night GF till that happened.... didn't at all feel like a GF. Didn't bother tuning in till the bounce either.

I'll give it a chance next year if at the G under some level of normality.

Though I'd lean Twilight initially.... finished too late IMO.
Part of the reason it didn't feel like a GF is because it was played at the GABBA, would've looked even worst during the day IMO.

As Richmond secured an unforgettable 31-point win over Geelong in the 2020 AFL grand final, Seven’s coverage reached 7.5 million people across Australia, while its average national audience of 3.812 million was 30 per cent up year on year and the biggest grand final audience since 2016.
On a night when Dustin Martin became the first player to win three Norm Smith Medals, Seven recorded an average metro audience of 2.979 million, a whopping 36 per cent up year on year. It was also the biggest metro primetime audience on any network since Seven’s coverage of the 2017 Australian Open men’s final.
Seven also recorded a 76 per cent metro commercial share, the biggest ever recorded.

etc

given this i cant see it not happening

discuss:
Lol