Griffith Dropped????

• Thread starter Thread starter nut

Ellis should be groomed as the player to create space. Give him the opportunity and he will easy surpass Grigg. Instead, he was given "run with roles" at the start of the season. There's no doubt Grigg has a massive engine, and creates heaps of space, but his disposal by foot is poor. Decision making is questionable. As an outside player, his disposal should be elite. He has that much time to pick options and deliver. but it is not happening.
I reckon he s not working hard enough, he was a machine when he first arrived , fit as, absolute never stopped running, become bloody lazy, and no 1 at turning right angle for the 15m inbound kick. If he can't run and run into space , he s useless, I'll forgive some pie floaters if the bastard runs all day

We are getting killed in the ruck with him!
Disagree. Hampson is a better tap ruckman than Maric.

His problem is that he doesn't have an impact around the ground.

A lot of this comes down to the rest of the team not having the confidence to kick it to him

Disagree. Hampson is a better tap ruckman than Maric.

His problem is that he doesn't have an impact around the ground.

A lot of this comes down to the rest of the team not having the confidence to kick it to him
His marking stats is more than likely the reason for that, from memory I read 3 marks in 6 games. I stand to be corrected, look I would love for his form to pick up because he could be very handy for us with his size but at the moment his out put is just his hitouts but we need more

I reckon he s not working hard enough, he was a machine when he first arrived , fit as, absolute never stopped running, become bloody lazy, and no 1 at turning right angle for the 15m inbound kick. If he can't run and run into space , he s useless, I'll forgive some pie floaters if the bastard runs all day
Agree. This is why I keep saying he should be dropped. He wasn't always this way. He's too complacent. We might get the better Grigg back. At the moment he offers nothing.

Overreaction much?? hahaha, this is why i love this place..... or hate it, not sure which one is more accurate.
Melodramatic much?? Are we the richmond football club or the big griff supporter base.
Look no further then the hawks, kids play in the reserves for 2-3 years.... get a game, if you dont perform.... back to the vfl please. I like griff, but we need players that are mentally tough enough to endure this type of treatment. What about when Maric comes back in......inb4 meltdown for hampson getting dropped without playing a bad game

I'm not normally one to go on a rant about team selection but this seems a short sighted omission to me. The omission of McDonough after 1 game both this year and last was another IMO. Griffiths has been very good this year and one of the few bright spots in this season so far. So many players have seemed to have gone backwards this year and he's been one of the few to have shown significant improvement. Dropping him after one poor game when he had plenty of mates is what has pissed me off. Especially when the guy he was sharing the ruck duties with was so much poorer. We've played it safe at the selection table this year, we've played it safe with the style of footy we've played and look where we currently are.

Haha So many tears being shed over a KPF being dropped for not kicking a goal in three consecutive games! Has he ever kicked a bag at VFL level? He is an exciting player, with all the tools, but I have no issue with him being asked to get on the scoreboard at VFL level before playing senior footy again. After all that is his primary role in the side as a tall forward.

The double standards being shown when comparing Griff and Vickery are terrible! One year is all that separates the two in age. Hope Ty kicks a bag this week to shut the flogs up!

Look I think Vickery is a dud and thought Griifiths was showing something, especially being able to take a few of the hitouts when needed.

But having said that... Some of the reactions are just a little bit over the top. It's not like dropping Knights on the eve of his 200th consecutive game (or whatever it was).

Lol at posters backing up the match committee...

He's a young KP player who needs to play AFL to improve. For the first time in his career he has shown something & 6 games later we drop him.

He has so much potential. But yeah we should play Aaron Edwards instead...
Hes our 2nd forward who hasn't scored anything in 3 games. When we can barely kick more than a goal a quarter we need an actual target other than Jack.

In his last three games he's had:

8 disposals, 3 marks, 0 goals, 6 hitouts
11 disposals, 4 marks, 0 goals, 14 hitouts
8 disposals, 3 marks, 0 goals, 12 hitouts

If Vickery put up those numbers everyone would be calling for his head. He has been impressive this year but his form has tapered off a bit. Hopefully it's not a long layoff though.

why don't you add in the tackles which are over 4 a game and stats aside most people can see he actually has an impact on games and actually spends quite a bit of time up the ground, not inside 50. That's right doesn't paint the picture that griff is a dud and deserves to be dropped for the great Tyrone!

Vickery takes his place in the side because he's shown good character in the VFL and worked on the defensive side of his game and because we know he is more of a scoreboard threat than Griffiths

So just because someone has shown Good Character does not mean we bring them back in or anything. So if someone in court is found guilty of something but have good character then thats ok as well dont worry all is good and well :) ;)

Haha So many tears being shed over a KPF being dropped for not kicking a goal in three consecutive games! Has he ever kicked a bag at VFL level? He is an exciting player, with all the tools, but I have no issue with him being asked to get on the scoreboard at VFL level before playing senior footy again. After all that is his primary role in the side as a tall forward.

The double standards being shown when comparing Griff and Vickery are terrible! One year is all that separates the two in age. Hope Ty kicks a bag this week to shut the flogs up!

For the record, I wasn't against Vickery being brought back in. I wanted him and Griffiths to go tandem in the ruck and Hampson to stay out leading into the Collingwood game.

If Vickery kicks a bag, I'll be happy for him but based on all reports, his VFL form didn't warrant a recall just yet.

Anyway, the next few weeks will reveal a lot.

So just because someone has shown Good Character does not mean we bring them back in or anything. So if someone in court is found guilty of something but have good character then thats ok as well dont worry all is good and well :) ;)
If you read my post I said "good character AND worked on the defensive side of his game"

If he'd gone back to the ressies and had a sook and continued to play poorly he wouldn't get a gane

It's truly bizarre the level of meltdown this board has descended into so early in the season. Usually it's not until about round 20 that everyone starts twisting off. It was kind of bothering me why so many posters who up until recently had been fairly sane and rational about things had turned into hysterical princesses.

And then I realised what was happening.

Many Tiger supporters are experiencing 'pre-traumatic stress disorder'. Yep, people are getting bent out of shape about the *possibility* that we might crash and burn yet again. Even though the season is not yet 7 games old, the thought that this year might be just as shit as any other has normally sane posters frothing at the mouth.

I guess that's what you expect when we finally have one good year after about 10 bad ones. I really should go back to check on posts from 2002 and see if the same thing happened that year.

Sad, one of the only few shining lights this season with promise and we drop him.

He rucks, takes contested marks, presence - it's not just about goals.

I think people are pissed because this decision stinks of short sightedness and short time success.

Grith is confidence player.

Players like Schulz White grith yo yo out of the team and then Edwards petterd grigg get given time.

Fair?

This is an absolute disgrace. This is why people leave clubs at the end of the season, because the bullshit match committee have their favourites (Vickery) who get preference over another bloke whos been in our best players for the year so far irrespective of form. Its complete and utter shit.

Watch Griffo get picked up by another club and absolutely tear us and everybody else to shreds.

Look I think Vickery is a dud and thought Griifiths was showing something, especially being able to take a few of the hitouts when needed.

But having said that... Some of the reactions are just a little bit over the top. It's not like dropping Knights on the eve of his 200th consecutive game (or whatever it was).

We wont have to worry about dropping Vickery for his 200th game ;)

What's more likely?

- Hardwick is a flog

- We don't know what's going on behind closed doors

I'm as surprised as anyone that he got dropped. But i'm not so stupid as to think it was simply because Hardwick 'plays favourites'. There is a reason for it. Just because we didn't get a web cam into the selection panel to explain it to us doesn't mean it was the wrong decision. FFS it could be team balance, it could be he is carrying a niggle, it could be he trained like shit, it could be ducks and drakes and he ends up playing. All of those explanations make more sense than some of the shit I have seen posted on this thread.

Hes our 2nd forward who hasn't scored anything in 3 games. When we can barely kick more than a goal a quarter we need an actual target other than Jack.

So a young KP player should be playing consistent footy in the AFL. Give me a break, we can't expect him to star every week. Just play him. We need him to become a star ASAP.

In his last three games he's had:

8 disposals, 3 marks, 0 goals, 6 hitouts
11 disposals, 4 marks, 0 goals, 14 hitouts
8 disposals, 3 marks, 0 goals, 12 hitouts

If Vickery put up those numbers everyone would be calling for his head. He has been impressive this year but his form has tapered off a bit. Hopefully it's not a long layoff though.

Yeah but in those 3 games he has also made 11 tackles (21 tackles this season in his 5 games)...... in Vickery's 4 games this year he has laid a massive 7 tackles for of which 4 were against the Gold Coast in Round 1.

Clear as day Hardwick has NFI

pissed off as everyone else at the 2 glaring selection mistakes to me dropping arnot was the wost 1 in view of the expected wheather for sunday but griff was looking a tad tired so maybe just a rest so will be cherry ripe for round nine ? as a lifetime supporter of this club prob longer than a lot of you have been alive mark these words I expect on current form to lose on sunday but wont be surprised at all if we win cause we tend to win games we supposedly have no chance in all part of our charm

Yeah should be playing. Also Richmond wtf Arnot out as well. Its ok we dont need to play the future lol.
I saw Arnot at the chadstone shopping centre tuesday and kinda looked down he must have got the news early I'd say.