News Griffiths plots his return

Cmon santa, I think Rusty has hit the nail on the head here.

A few rabid BF supporters going over the top with wraps on a kid now and then doesn't decide whether he will make it or not.

The majority of us will quietly bask in his potential in the hope that one day he becomes another Michael Roach or Royce Hart, or both rolled into one. Seriously, if we didn't have that liberty, life wouldn't be worth living.

If it works out that the kid can't take a trick, well then, I guess we still have JR8 ;)

ya know what people? what really pisses me off is all the hype feral supporters lump on young footballers at our club.

where are the comments that say sheesh dodgy shoulders for a few yrs now, hes had 5 ordinary games, hes almost 200cm and 100kg and hes a baby.
GEEZ JUST PERHAPS SHOULD WE NURSE HIM THRU LET HIM DEVELOP IN HIS OWN TIME AND JUST MAYBE EXPECT HIM TO DEVELOP AT A LOWER LEVEL, AS WE EXPECT NEARLY ALL OTHER PLAYERS TO DEVELOP YET ALONE BLOKES COMING OF CONSISTANT INJURY.

AND YEAH IM YELLING.
i really dont get it with supporters how about we actually develop them and when they actually prove something we laud them only then.

LMFAO

Reminds me of that Simpsons pic of Abe Simpson

"Old man yells at Clouds"

:thumbsu::D

we are going to be so much close to being a top 8 team if this bloke can get his body right, that would give us 3 quality talls(jack ff, astbury chb, griff chf) out of the 4 needed to be competitve with the best teams in the comp.

It's really hard to find a side with four 'quality talls' unless you want to make a case for players like Kosi, Dawson, Grant, Dawes, Henderson, OhAilpin, and anyone Hawthorn is trying to plug holes in their backline spine with. Geelong has the best set, but even then, I'd be far more comfortable calling a player like Mooney 'decent' or 'serviceable' rather than 'quality.'

You've got some serious issues Santa. The best thing about this article is the picture. A 5 year old can see it is another pre season fluff piece. Don't read the papers in the off season if you can't handle reading crap like this. By the way his 5 games last year were good. Football is a team sport and this kid really straightened us up. Deadly shot for goal and reads the play well. Loved when he chopped that kick in off against Sydney and then casually slotted it from 45m out on an angle. The whole process took him about 43 seconds and he didn't look like missing.

I love the way you point out to us all that the article is crap and that we put pressure on our young players. Non of us wrote the article and everyone knows this kid needs time to develop.

Your merely stating the obvious again. I bet your the type of guy that tells people what's coming up in a movie and spoils it because you've seen it and you just don't know how to keep your trap shut.

WHAT'S WITH ALL THE YELLING ?

If you haven't figured it out yet Santa articles like this are written so we know how players are going. This one is meant to provide us with an update on Bens injury and what level he is at in his come back from said injury. The article is also designed to build anticipation for the coming season with the hope that more people , especially those that enjoyed seeing Ben play last year buy a membership.

Did you not understand this or am I merely stating the obvious like you do in all your posts.

his 5 games were crap. apart from a glimpse here or there. and no im not having a go at the article but the posters on here who when talking griffiths, talk as if hes the next big thing and its just a metter of time before he takes the footy world by storm.
id suggesst if you cant discern this your as blind as a bat.

if this kid fails to make the grade there are going to be some really disappointed people about the place. i reckon you will be one thats shocked.

hes done little mainly due to injury but in his draft yr he did little again due to injury to a degree. there arent many richmond people about who actually question him making the grade im one of them. im one of few who reckon we overlooked better options in taking him.
unlike most i have the courage of my own convictions im prepared to be proven wrong. in the mean time i really think people like you should stop talking him up until he actually shows something. at the end of the day it makes us all look bad.
at the end of the day what is wrong with asking supporters to be a bit patient and circumspect when talking about very young players.

Santa unfortunately, according to you we ALWAYS overlook someone better regardless who we draft, take some happy pills, this isnt PRE.

Mate we picked him and we should all get behind our picks , not this constant whine about who we overlooked.

BTW who did we overlook?

Care to list them?

im not having a go at the article but the posters on here who when talking griffiths, talk as if hes the next big thing and its just a metter of time before he takes the footy world by storm.

The only problem with that defence Claude, is that only one person had said anything remotely like that (everybody else was merely discussing his injuries) before you had one of your 'moments' and started ranting as if 100 people over a dozen pages had spoken of him like he was already Jack Reiwoldt.

in the mean time i really think people like you should stop talking him up until he actually shows something. at the end of the day it makes us all look bad.

If irony was a commodity you could afford to buy your own team.

Santa unfortunately, according to you we ALWAYS overlook someone better regardless who we draft, take some happy pills, this isnt PRE.

Mate we picked him and we should all get behind our picks , not this constant whine about who we overlooked.

BTW who did we overlook?

Care to list them?

yep no probs. my choice at 19 was bastinac. if it had to be a tall carlisle or black. it was stated at the time. ive already been told to get over bastinac and tough t***ies.
like i said im more than prepared to put it on the line. and i thought bastinac almost a cert to be at least very good or elite.bartlett was another mid that draft i would have been happy with.
with any of griffiths black carlisle i would be saying the same thing. that is pull your heads in and only laud them once they prove themselves. carlisle has managed a handful of games and black has been injured.
as for bastinac well noone could ask for more than hes produced thus far yet he to still has a way to go to prove himself a good consitant AFL player.i would suggest to nm supporters to let him prove himself one season does not make a player. not always do i disagree with who we take deledio cotchin were montys. wasnt unhappy with martin my preference was morabito but would be pleased with either. conca was not my choice but i have defended them in taking him.

Cmon santa, I think Rusty has hit the nail on the head here.

A few rabid BF supporters going over the top with wraps on a kid now and then doesn't decide whether he will make it or not.

The majority of us will quietly bask in his potential in the hope that one day he becomes another Michael Roach or Royce Hart, or both rolled into one. Seriously, if we didn't have that liberty, life wouldn't be worth living.

If it works out that the kid can't take a trick, well then, I guess we still have JR8 ;)
well while you bask in his potential i will patiently wait for him to actually produce.
every clubs supporters can talk up potential but the proof in the pudding is when players actually deliver. i reckon thats called reality.
im not interested in potential look where its got us. im only interested in results when taylor griffiths astbury etc produce those results they will get the recognition they deserve and yes even from me.
until then all else is fairy floss.
you draft em on potential but what determines if they can play at the level is potential turned into results.

my choice at 19 was bastinac. ....

as for bastinac well noone could ask for more than hes produced thus far yet he to still has a way to go to prove himself a good consitant AFL player.

I was also hoping we would take him with that pick. Interestingly though, Bastinac is now injured too and will miss all the preseason.

If early reports are that Vickery is to spend quite a lot of time forward, AND performs, Griffiths won't be gifted many games like last year!

his 5 games were crap. apart from a glimpse here or there. and no im not having a go at the article but the posters on here who when talking griffiths, talk as if hes the next big thing and its just a metter of time before he takes the footy world by storm.
id suggesst if you cant discern this your as blind as a bat.

if this kid fails to make the grade there are going to be some really disappointed people about the place. i reckon you will be one thats shocked.

hes done little mainly due to injury but in his draft yr he did little again due to injury to a degree. there arent many richmond people about who actually question him making the grade im one of them. im one of few who reckon we overlooked better options in taking him.
unlike most i have the courage of my own convictions im prepared to be proven wrong. in the mean time i really think people like you should stop talking him up until he actually shows something. at the end of the day it makes us all look bad.
at the end of the day what is wrong with asking supporters to be a bit patient and circumspect when talking about very young players.

so a couple of people on a fan forum talking up a future key position prospect that Kevin Sheehan called the next Tony Locket are an embarrassment. Your a clown.

You accuse me of talking him up and all I said was that he straightened us up.

You need to take a break from the key board Santa. You're getting worse and worse with every post. You make next to no sense at all. Your Ryan Bastinac arguememt is pointless . One is a running mid and another is a key position forward. We needed to go tall last draft. You knew it we all knew it. We got Griff and Astbury.

It's all good just relax

I was also hoping we would take him with that pick. Interestingly though, Bastinac is now injured too and will miss all the preseason.

If early reports are that Vickery is to spend quite a lot of time forward, AND performs, Griffiths won't be gifted many games like last year!

ya know i had been screaming out the need for us to take talls and had been for yrs yet i thought bastinac just too good to refuse.

of the talls black was the one for a simple reason. location.

ya know i had been screaming out the need for us to take talls and had been for yrs yet i thought bastinac just too good to refuse.
2005: Drafted Hughes (193cm) and rookied Graham (201).
2006: Drafted Riewoldt (allegedly 195 but I looked him in the eye last year and I reckon he's 193), took Kingsley (193) :eek::(:mad::o in the PSD, and traded for Polak (194).
2007: Drafted Rance (193) and Putt (200), took Gourdis (194) in the PSD, and rookied Sylvestor (190) and Cartledge (199).
2008: Drafted Vickery (200) and Post (194) and rookied Browne (203).
2009: Drafted Griffiths (198) and Astbury (195), took Grimes (193) in the PSD and rookied Westhoff (198).

Just sayin.

In the games Griffs played, he has done bugger all. But i didn't expect much more. If he can get 15+ games this year, without popping a shoulder (or any other body damage), i would call that a win. And thats even if he doesn't set the world on fire with great performances. We have to follow due diligence in developing this kid.

No need to even mention he did bugger all. They were his first 5 games in his career and he did his job of supporting Reiwoldt and doing the occasional thing himself :cool:

Jesus some of you ppl are hard markers, what did bling show in his first 5 games and we kept him on the list for 6 years, gice the kid a break.

I think he will become a 150 game player for us BTW