"The Griffenator" great name love it.The Griffenator is one of very few shining lights so far this season. Once the so called guns and middle tier players start to perform to expectations things will look a lot better![]()

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
"The Griffenator" great name love it.The Griffenator is one of very few shining lights so far this season. Once the so called guns and middle tier players start to perform to expectations things will look a lot better![]()
Leppa wants him in Brisvegas and confident of landing him
Would want to see the return of some "crazy" Vossy type action for this to happen. Top 10 pick and Rockliff.
He wanted Astbury to I believe.
St Kilda wanted him ...... for Pick #48 (used for Josh Bruce).
In the 3 games to date, Griffiths has clunked 8 contested marks. Equal top in the AFL, with Waite and Sandilands. Let me just say that again. Equal top in the AFL.
Griffiths has been our single only target during those terrible phases of play when the 17 other blokes on the ground have stopped moving. And he hasn't just brought the ball to ground in those big packs down the line. He has reeled in some critical marks, so our tired troops can clear the backline.
To go with his contested marks, he has 31 disposals (71% effective), 15 tackles, 28 hit-outs and 4 goals 3.
Someone said above that he hasn't made it yet, and I'd agree. 3 good games is exactly that. 3 good games. I'd love to see Griffith in 23 or 24 good games by the end of the season.
Hardly recognised you there C4[2]Yo`DooR . If he continues his current output what do you think a good/appropriate offer would be for him or Astbury ?
For those not at the ground today, the sound that the footy made when he launched that kick was like nothing I had ever heard. It literally BOOMED!
Get a contract in front of him NOW!
like the ex-pro wrestler on FOX!I'd say he if continues with his current output - you'd be inclined to keep him?
Given the supply/demand factor - his worth may become a bit de-valued given some of the KP talent from up north of the border who may become available, so for Griffiths I could see a second round pick being on the table.
Astbury I'm not really sure about to be honest, if he does head to Brisbane I'd be guessing a third round pick? whether or not that would satisfy FJ given the amount of development put into him is an entirely different issue though.
SO... we finally find a CHF that we have being crying out for to compliment Jack...
BUT!
Our side is now to TALL and lacks PACE...
Will be interesting when the time comes for Maric to re-enter the side. It would be a headache most teams would love but not at Richmond cause we have certain players that 'have to' play week in week out.
I know it's only 3 games into the season, but I'm convinced he's overtaken Vickery. Now how close does everyone think he is to overtaking the skills and onfield influence of someone like Kreuzer? Is he on track?
And correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't Griff a second round pick? Am really liking his development.![]()
I agree. I would love to see Griffiths at FF and Vickery as the 2nd ruck
Be nice to rotate them both through FF/Ruck depending on the match ups. Nice to have the weapons at our disposal really....
I thought we looked alot better in the last quarter when Vickery seemed to be playing almost as another midfielder/third man up in the ruck. His athleticism and running power is seriously under rated.
Not surprised.......Just a rumour or do you know/heard something ??

Yes and no. They play different roles right now. But Ty gets double teamed and is often under the pump deep. Grif is much freer/further up the ground and has the third defender. To me Ty shows he can take a high grab, lead well and is agile for his size. It's just that he rarely puts it all together. However he is on track for a 59 goal season, whilst Griff is on track for a 29/30 goal season. Means very little after 3 rounds. But Ty is playing just OK footy and scoring goals, that's a great sign. Griff is playing well and scoring less. However, Griff's role is really to pull the defence out and create uncertainty. From what I have seen Griff is nearly ready to rip it up. That might be the sign we have a good one, or it might just mean he is against very little defensively. I think the first - he is a good one.
Nonetheless, Griff playing well doesn't mean Ty is crap. So far Ty has outplayed Jack. We know jack can be the Coleman winner. He needs to return to form. Ty is a good player and doing his job. He is certainly nowhere near the worst player we have at the moment. Ty should be entering the fully developed phase of his career. What I am seeing so far this year is inconsistency, which has been through his career. Griff is doing a great job, and should get better. So I sort of agree, Griff can do some thigns better than Ty. But I have seen Ty in several games perform A grade standard. I haven't ever seen that from Griff. Griff I think will become a good to very good AFL KPF. Ty can do that, but needs to turn his worst to decent and his average to good. I reckon they are fairly even in their capability, but neither is fully mature. Give me Ty against carlton every week and we have the coleman medalist. Give me his other two games and we have an OK role player. OK role players are alright for a KPF. But they don't win GF's.
Him and Griff. Clear the 50 for Jack Dunstall.I thought we looked alot better in the last quarter when Vickery seemed to be playing almost as another midfielder/third man up in the ruck. His athleticism and running power is seriously under rated.

And correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't Griff a second round pick? Am really liking his development.![]()
I'd say he if continues with his current output - you'd be inclined to keep him?
Given the supply/demand factor - his worth may become a bit de-valued given some of the KP talent from up north of the border who may become available, so for Griffiths I could see a second round pick being on the table.
Astbury I'm not really sure about to be honest, if he does head to Brisbane I'd be guessing a third round pick? whether or not that would satisfy FJ/BH given the amount of development put into him is an entirely different issue though.
Just a question How would you like the look of the Carlton team with both Astbury/Jamison in Defence & Henderson/Griffiths in the foward line

With his current rate of development Ben Griffiths wouldn't be let go for just a 2nd rounder, Carlton would of done well to ask for him in the trade for Hampson Ben is the exact type of player that would of been ideal for carlton tbh - But that boat has sailed and we will certainly keep him now
Astbury -I would rather see him stay as he has a very good football brain and is a good footballer with alot more upside to come and looks to be over his injuries and gaining confidence both players just 22/23 yo richmond would be mad to let go for a 3rd rounder
I wouldnt take anything less than a mid 2nd rounder for astbury C4
Just a question How would you like the look of the Carlton team with both Astbury/Jamison in Defence & Henderson/Griffiths in the foward line