Grigg>Collins

Welcome Shaun, I too am disappointed that Andy has left but good luck to him (except rd 1), We recieved a player who was chosen at 19 compared with one around 75. At this point dimma and the crew have done no wrong, every club loses players along the way. But you people who come on here and pretend you know what you are on about make me sick and if you want to chastise the club over a trade that happens nearly every year to somebody else then P___ off we dont want or need you, im sick of reading through pages of dribble from internet heroes who wouldn't know the first thing about running a footy club. I will back Dimma and the boys until they give reason not to.

GO TIGERS 2011 AND FORWARD
Get over yourselves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Interesting to notice that Grigg is listed as 190cm & 84kg (according to the club profile) and plays midfield. Moore is also listed at 190cm & 86kg and we ask him to play KPD at times. Good to see us adding some real size to the midfield brigade.

I happen to know one of Andy Collins good mates from around the Bendigo area as im at uni there. Apparently he was back on Bendigo on the weekend and said he was devastated to be leaving the Tiges

Grigg>Collins.

Draft picks intact.

Great deal Tigers.

grigg over collins yep. but the thing to be answered here is just how much have we gained.
to me and others while i think an upgrade it was a sort of sideways trade and the list has gained how much.
size aside the similarities with grigg and collins as far as performance goes its close. to me i reckon potentially collins has more upside providing over the next couple of seasons he gets core strength and size.

this trade is a bit like, say we give up cotchin to get martin.
anyway no more comments on this from me all im saying is i would have liked to have had both players. then grigg becomes a real gain as far as adding to the potential we have goes.
to me for a rebuilding side we are supposed to be adding to what promising players we have and make no mistake collins is a promising player.

kept picks - yep even added a few would have liked a pick in the teens and some later ones around 50 60 as well.

anyway the mickey mouse part is over you dont build list from the trade period. the real deal happens in november this is where we will find our stars and build for the long term.

what will be interesting is how many spuds they turn over. and how many mature types we take like webberley nason.
some have used freo as an example well it looks as though they will turn over another 9 from their list proper. it doesnt include rookies. that will mean about 30 35 new faces in 3 seasons. no hanging on to mediocre players for them.
cut deep again dimma. do the job properly and have faith in the nd.

grigg over collins yep. but the thing to be answered here is just how much have we gained.
to me and others while i think an upgrade it was a sort of sideways trade and the list has gained how much.
size aside the similarities with grigg and collins as far as performance goes its close. to me i reckon potentially collins has more upside providing over the next couple of seasons he gets core strength and size.

anyway no more comments on this from me all im saying is i would have liked to have had both players. then grigg becomes a real gain as far as adding to the potential we have goes.
to me for a rebuilding side we are supposed to be adding to what promising players we have and make no mistake collins is a promising player.

kept picks - yep even added a few would have liked a pick in the teens and some later ones around 50 60 as well.

anyway the mickey mouse part is over you dont build list from the trade period. the real deal happens in november this is where we will find our stars and build for the long term.

what will be interesting is how many spuds they turn over. and how many mature types we take like webberley nason.
some have used freo as an example well it looks as though they will turn over another 9 from their list proper. it doesnt include rookies. that will mean about 30 35 new faces in 3 seasons. no hanging on to mediocre players for them.

Not sure about mature age , re-value, at the moment. Obvious ones will be picked up and should but every man and his dog will be doing it and we can't follow like sheep to the slaughter!!

I am hoping it's more like giving up tivendale to get cotchin! I guess time will only tell. I do feel better in gaining a Geoff Huegill type brute into our team. As strong as Collins may get, he will never be built like Grigg.

collins actually didnt wanna leave the tigers... yes we had the choice of saying no and stay at the tigers but that isnt going to happen for afew reasons 1. you wanna do the best by the club and 2 i bet richmond would have said the usual crap... you will be better off there more opportunities

he didnt leave coz he wanted out... he did what was best for the tigers and his future

good luck collins we will miss you

I've read most of this thread and have loved some of the banter but this decision affected so many people so I can empathise with that. The fact is however, Collins never managed to put on any weight through his career and had a tendancy to go missing in games. Now I, like you, will always remember that Sydney game and his lace out passes in several other games, but this decision shows the new ruthless nature of our club. If anyone player on our list thinks they are safe and can half arse it through a season, they only have to look at where their good mate Andy is now playing. Grigg will add some much needed grunt to our midfield and will add years to Cotchins career by stopping him having to get his own ball so much. This decision was made with the future in mind.

Go tiges.

i did like collins but will be the first to admit Andy collins afl career wasnt as good as his internet forum career.

most on here were watching andy & talking him up alot more than any other player because of the forum stuff.................. looks like swann & icke were reading them aswell.

we always complain that our players are small & need muscle etc etc
grigg was picked at pick 19 for a reason & played 43 games in a midfield that contained stevens,judd,murphy,gibbs.

collins could never offer what grigg does .......... our team is better with grigg than andy.

grigg , houli , compo pick, pick 50 >>> collins , tambling , psd pick
and if our recruiters can have a good year like last year with our selections
we will be very close to completing our rebuild with 5-6 players left to turn over next year.

very excited to see how taylor,griffiths,dea,astbury,gourdis go next year all will be looking to cenment a place in the team,

At first I wasn't so sure about getting Grigg after having a good look at the Grigg highlights on the RFC club website I can see why the club went out to get him. We will be a far better side with Grigg. He looks calm under pressure and makes the right decisions a clever footballer. Richmond has won on this trade and has made the correct decision.
I have this feeling that Hardwick will lead our club to its next premiership.Would not surprise if we made the eight next year.

Richo Your A Star do you think we can make the granny next year? We think that we can but we need more good midfielders and a ruckman becouse Simmonds retired and that has left a big hole to fill. What do you think?

Am I the only one noticing this?

images

Richo Your A Star do you think we can make the granny next year? We think that we can but we need more good midfielders and a ruckman becouse Simmonds retired and that has left a big hole to fill. What do you think?

The players will continue to improve and have belief in themselves and with the right mindset it is possible. Our strength will be our midfield. The back half looks stable and solid. The forward line needs attention Jack can't do it on his own. Gus is improving. Some inconsistency during the year was expected for such a young side. Only a few games separated us from the eight.
The best part is that this team Hardwick is molding together has so much improvement and upside to it. When it all comes together it will be exciting times for us all.

Given how they are talking Collins up on the Carlton board, you would think he's the new messiah.

Rusty Trombones' posts could end up being the greatest slow burn troll of all time.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Given how they are talking Collins up on the Carlton board, you would think he's the new messiah.

Rusty Trombones' posts could end up being the greatest slow burn troll of all time.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

You beat me to it. The love for a bloke that most of them have never seen play is hilarious.

Andy could quite possibly be the most loved average footballer of all time.

They say it takes time to forge a reputation but really it just takes a BF account :D

Love it
:thumbsu:

that bunch of rabble think that any is going to be the next judd & already have him in their best 22.

i doubt if any of them knew who andy collins was before the trade period.
i really hope andy is on a good long term contract because i cant see him getting an extension after its finished.

that bunch of rabble think that any is going to be the next judd & already have him in their best 22.

i doubt if any of them knew who andy collins was before the trade period.
i really hope andy is on a good long term contract because i cant see him getting an extension after its finished.

At first I wasn't so sure about getting Grigg ......

He looks calm under pressure and makes the right decisions a clever footballer. HAHAHAHAHAHA, have a look at the final against Sydney. Specifically his kicking a goal ...under pressure!

Would not surprise if we made the eight next year.

And we are talking things up :eek:

Grigg>Collins