Grigg>Collins

Re: questions re Grigg/collins trade

i have a quesrtion. can we now expect them to cave in on the houli deal as well. after all thats what they do best cave in.

Perhaps we did rate Collins highly but we rated Grigg more highly?

This:thumbsu:

We still hgave raft of draft picks and still haven't fiished trading yet.
Let things run its course and we might be pleasantly surprised.;)

I'm just more peed off we always let carltank get their way, they shit me the way they deal arrogant sob's.

hopefully with the grigg deal out of the way essendon will look to come to an agreement rather than posturing and losing houli to the PSD.

Houli came out publicly and quit essendon so they will not convince him to stay

I just more peed off we always let carltank get their way, they shit me the way they deal arrogant sob's.
Mate, two words to make you feel better: Troy Taylor

It will be Andy who when this kid lights up the stage next year.

I sure hope so, i can see the talent but the kid is still very raw.
Dimma loves him and with good reason.
Collins, while I wouild have been very happy to keep him, won;'t be fit to tie TT's shoelaces when both their careers are finished, particularly as ANdy C is about to get Rattenised.

gotta give something to get something after all

Grigg should be good for us, had a ripper last half of the year once he got into the carlton side

Collins was probably not gonna be in our long-term plans otherwise we wouldn't have traded him.

Trust in Dimma & co. they know what they are looking for

Dimma loves him and with good reason.
Collins, while I wouild have been very happy to keep him, won;'t be fit to tie TT's shoelaces when both their careers are finished, particularly as ANdy C is about to get Rattenised.

I feel sorry for the poor sod he'll probably end his career as the bullants captain...:eek:

I do too. I wonder if he took into account when he said yes to the move that he would be coached by the duddiest dud of all coaches?
I'm happy with this trade. We obviously wanted Grigg and got him and we are still well place in the draft.
Disappointed to lose Andy as I liked him as a footballer, but ultimately the club sees Troy T as pushing into his spot.
Trust me. It will all seem better in the morning:D

the thing that is refreshing about this is that they have finaly shown they are willing to move players on, even the ones that show signs, so sick of holding on to potential players, it has been the bane of richmond for decades!!!

I do too. I wonder if he took into account when he said yes to the move that he would be coached by the duddiest dud of all coaches?
I'm happy with this trade. We obviously wanted Grigg and got him and we are still well place in the draft.
Disappointed to lose Andy as I liked him as a footballer, but ultimately the club sees Troy T as pushing into his spot.
Trust me. It will all seem better in the morning:D

I guess so tugga on a positive note grigg is built like brick house and we desperately needed some players of his size to be more competitive especially in the midfield.

Welcome Shaun, I too am disappointed that Andy has left but good luck to him (except rd 1), We recieved a player who was chosen at 19 compared with one around 75. At this point dimma and the crew have done no wrong, every club loses players along the way. But you people who come on here and pretend you know what you are on about make me sick and if you want to chastise the club over a trade that happens nearly every year to somebody else then P___ off we dont want or need you, im sick of reading through pages of dribble from internet heroes who wouldn't know the first thing about running a footy club. I will back Dimma and the boys until they give reason not to.

GO TIGERS 2011 AND FORWARD
Get over yourselves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I guess so tugga on a positive note grigg is built like brick house and we desperately needed some players of his size to be more competitive especially in the midfield.
It's all good mate.
Why do you think all these Carlton players are deserting a sinking ship? They see the writing on the wall that's why.

Leaving aside my opinion on Grigg and Collins as players, I have 1 major problem with this trade.

We could have gotten Grigg for nothing in the PSD, or virtually nothing by threatening Carlton with that fact. That we have had to give the scum anything really stings. The fact that it is Andy...makes me feel sick :thumbsdown:

hopefully with the grigg deal out of the way essendon will look to come to an agreement rather than posturing and losing houli to the PSD.

Houli came out publicly and quit essendon so they will not convince him to stay

they have demanded a second rnd pick. we have offered 3rd rnd. houli has aready stated if he doesnt get to us he will nominate for the nd and psd. he aint going back. whats the bet we cave in and give it to them.

what i dont get is why we have to go so hard for 22 yr old fringe players. players who in 4 yrs have not established themselves. theres big risk in that alone.
our processes i believe were to improve the list protecting early draft picks and do it as cheaply as possible.
i would have thought making sure we dont give up on promising kids already on our list was part of the criteria as well.

we have put pick 46 or 50 on the table if essendon screw their noses up at it we must let him go thru to the psd and attempt to get him for nix. it wont be the end of world if we dont get him the trade does not have to be done from our standpoint.
a 22 yr old 4th yr player soon to be 5th yr who has failed to stablish himself at another club, or use a reasonable pick 46 in the nd. it is not a must to get houli the alternative is still okay. we are not the ones with an uncontrtacted player who is intent on leaving no matter what.

Expect Troy Taylor to play the majority of the season next year, they play almost the same role but if I was to choose between the two I would say Taylor.

pppfffttt. taylor is another who is chronically undersized and way out of his depth because of it. like collins it could take 3 or 4 yrs before we start to even see regular games. but by then i suppose he to will be superfluous to needs.

anyway i find it laughable that people pidgeon hole collins as a forward.he played there for two reasons size, and our lack of any smalls or mediums capable of kicking goals.
we have just got andy to the stage with another 3 or 4 kg over the break where he can start to spend decent time in the midfield and we trade him away unneccesarily.

make no mistake we should have both grigg and collins at our club. but of course the blinkered ones who defend the club at all costs wont hear of it.

they have demanded a second rnd pick. we have offered 3rd rnd. houli has aready stated if he doesnt get to us he will nominate for the nd and psd. he aint going back. whats the bet we cave in and give it to them.

what i dont get is why we have to go so hard for 22 yr old fringe players. players who in 4 yrs have not established themselves. theres big risk in that alone.
our processes i believe were to improve the list protecting early draft picks and do it as cheaply as possible.
i would have thought making sure we dont give up on promising kids already on our list was part of the criteria as well.

we have put pick 46 or 50 on the table if essendon screw their noses up at it we must let him go thru to the psd and attempt to get him for nix. it wont be the end of world if we dont get him the trade does not have to be done from our standpoint.
a 22 yr old 4th yr player soon to be 5th yr who has failed to stablish himself at another club, or use a reasonable pick 46 in the nd. it is not a must to get houli the alternative is still okay. we are not the ones with an uncontrtacted player who is intent on leaving no matter what.

We are on the same page and it was the same deal with grigg. As neither play had proven themselves in 4 years neither play is worth giving up something of value. Pick 50 should've been a maximum or a player who was surplus/delist material. Collins was not what a waste.

The best way to develop a list is from underneath, players over the top and in the middle cost more and often end out being worthless. We can draft better players then houli with every pick in the draft. Collins was better he was pick 73. If we keep bringing in young draft prospects then we get better from underneath which means we stay better for longer and if we keep doing it we can be good forever.

West Coast would have taken Grigg in the PSD

People need to get over it, Grigg has more value to us than Collins, for a forward pocket/flanker the guy only kicked what less than 15 goals last season, and doesn't have the size or ability to play permanent midfield , he has no use going forward for us.

Jake King has the defensive role in the forward line and was kicking 2 goals a game at the end of the season. Troy Taylor will be the mid sized forward, Griffiths/Vickery Riewoltd will be the tall timber up forward and Post/Rance/Brad Miller you would think would be the other guy's that are in contention for a big forward spot.

Nason/White/Nahas are the small flankers/pockets and Morton/cotching can go foward too

The trade will ultimately be a win by Richmond (Grigg is better than Collins) but from our trading position even with Grigg being better than Collins it's a big win for us.

Of course you think Grigg is better, you've seen him play most of his games compared to about 5 from Collins. We think the exact same thing about Collins being better than Grigg. I'm worried about Grigg turning the ball over with averaging kicking skill/composure. That's something Collins has over Grigg :cool:

Leaving aside my opinion on Grigg and Collins as players, I have 1 major problem with this trade.

We could have gotten Grigg for nothing in the PSD, or virtually nothing by threatening Carlton with that fact. That we have had to give the scum anything really stings. The fact that it is Andy...makes me feel sick :thumbsdown:

How do you know that?

Do you have inside information?

pppfffttt. taylor is another who is chronically undersized and way out of his depth because of it. like collins it could take 3 or 4 yrs before we start to even see regular games. but by then i suppose he to will be superfluous to needs.

anyway i find it laughable that people pidgeon hole collins as a forward.he played there for two reasons size, and our lack of any smalls or mediums capable of kicking goals.
we have just got andy to the stage with another 3 or 4 kg over the break where he can start to spend decent time in the midfield and we trade him away unneccesarily.

make no mistake we should have both grigg and collins at our club. but of course the blinkered ones who defend the club at all costs wont hear of it.

So in 3-4 yerars Taylor might be hitting his worth that is good because that is when we are more likely to be looking at a flag.

Yes Andy might have put on those kg's over the break but the fact that after four years he is still a skinny flanker would indicate that maybe he won't.

The only mistake is the mistaken belief that we could have got all our targets without trading for one of them and if we have another target in the PSD then who knows what might happen with the Houli deal.

Mate, two words to make you feel better: Troy Taylor

It will be Andy who when this kid lights up the stage next year.

tell me tugga why is it that its taken collins 4 yrs to start to get a regular game. it will be the same for taylor.

while im at it what i have seen of taylor collins is a better kick.

finally collins is a mid who wasnt played there but still did well enough in a role while his body slowly developed.

why is it we have pidgeon holed collins as a forward when nothing could be farther from the truth.

What ???

Lids isn't even getting a game in our midfield.

Collins a midfielder - you must be joking. There are at least 8 players ahead of him Foley, Cotchin, Martin, Morton, Edwards, Jackson, Tuck, White, Nason and now Grigg.

Grigg>Collins