Roast Grigg

Two coaches votes this round, well done Shaun:thumbsu:

Cannot believe he got coaches votes this round.... Obviously Hardwick just loves him and it's going to be very hard to get him out of the side.

ward is there captain and can be very damaging, i reckon leon gave him those 2 votes actually.

Some people have no idea. He doesnt tackle enough.... What are you on about? No outside wingman get many tackles. It's the dumb persons go to saying at the moment, the new flavour of the month. It was Jack doesn't lead last year and now it's Grigg doesn't tackle. Maybe...just maybe it's his role and positioning that determines whether he gets tackles or not. If you want to quote a statistic quote mis-tackles because it's the only one that's relevant.

For example: Grigg in a defensive midfield role on the weekend had 4 tackles. The only players from Richmond with more tackles were (drum role please....)......Thomas, Conca and Foley....the three other inside mids on the field!! Let's compare to the outside mids and wingers....Deledio (0), Edwards (2), Cotchin (1), Martin (2) and Ellis (3). Holy shit!! Funny that.

Thank god it's Dimma who is the coach and not many on here because thankfully he understands there is more to defensive pressure and defensive acts than tackling....such as positioning, corralling, blocking, spoiling and smothering the ball, etc.

Grigg can get found out by being too unaccountable at times when he plays as a WINGMAN...nobody is denying that... but as a defensive run with player he has been pretty good and I hope that he will be kept in this role.

Now can we never mention tackling numbers again on this forum!!! Please! GWS has 35% more tackles than us on the weekend and we won by 100+ points. It's just dumb dumb dumb. Stop mentioning it.

Some people have no idea. He doesnt tackle enough.... What are you on about? No outside wingman get many tackles. It's the dumb persons go to saying at the moment, the new flavour of the month. It was Jack doesn't lead last year and now it's Grigg doesn't tackle. Maybe...just maybe it's his role and positioning that determines whether he gets tackles or not. If you want to quote a statistic quote mis-tackles because it's the only one that's relevant.

For example: Grigg in a defensive midfield role on the weekend had 4 tackles. The only players from Richmond with more tackles were (drum role please....)......Thomas, Conca and Foley....the three other inside mids on the field!! Let's compare to the outside mids and wingers....Deledio (0), Edwards (2), Cotchin (1), Martin (2) and Ellis (3). Holy shit!! Funny that.

Thank god it's Dimma who is the coach and not many on here because thankfully he understands there is more to defensive pressure and defensive acts than tackling....such as positioning, corralling, blocking, spoiling and smothering the ball, etc.

Grigg can get found out by being too unaccountable at times when he plays as a WINGMAN...nobody is denying that... but as a defensive run with player he has been pretty good and I hope that he will be kept in this role.

Now can we never mention tackling numbers again on this forum!!! Please! GWS has 35% more tackles than us on the weekend and we won by 100+ points. It's just dumb dumb dumb. Stop mentioning it.
But, if it's the only stick they've got - a haters gonna hate!

he was very good on the weekend despite the commentary, he smashed Ward who is there best ball winner by a mile, ended up moving Ward to half back and than kicked a goal on him fantastic game to beat the opposition best player and hurt them the other way, hope he keeps playing this standard all year work rate was great

someone needs to look up grant "all australian" birchalls takle count for the year, last time i looked it was around 2.

Agreed. Give him a man and he will stick to him. Let him play wing and watch his man get BOG. Don't get why he can't do both.

But, if it's the only stick they've got - a haters gonna hate!

There's plenty to have a crack at Grigg about other than tackling.... His current inability to hit targets by foot causing turnovers, his apparent lack of desire to get the hard ball when he is playing an outside role, his lack of ability to actually stand up when trying to kick!! It's like Grigg is an actor, he can be tough and hard and accountable but only when he's playing that defensive mid role... when he is given the outside role, he never goes near his man, won't go to a contest to win the ball and barely ever tries to compete in the air when it's his turn.... completely bizarre. He should be able to play either role equally well.... at the moment though it's inside mid/run with role or he should be in the VFL...

someone needs to look up grant "all australian" birchalls takle count for the year, last time i looked it was around 2.
And if Grigg was creating as much play as Birchall, then we wouldnt give a rats arse, Birchall doesn't burn the footy when he gets, has attacking and creative run, good decision maker who usually puts his team mates into space... Grigg kicks the thing so high the full back could run and get there in time even it it was kicked at the other end of the ground.

Granted he did an ok job on ward, but it wouldnt have been to hard last week, ward didnt have 1 team mate stand up and help.

There's plenty to have a crack at Grigg about other than tackling.... His current inability to hit targets by foot causing turnovers, his apparent lack of desire to get the hard ball when he is playing an outside role, his lack of ability to actually stand up when trying to kick!! It's like Grigg is an actor, he can be tough and hard and accountable but only when he's playing that defensive mid role... when he is given the outside role, he never goes near his man, won't go to a contest to win the ball and barely ever tries to compete in the air when it's his turn.... completely bizarre. He should be able to play either role equally well.... at the moment though it's inside mid/run with role or he should be in the VFL...
Miles needs to replace this sponge

Defenders across the league have low tackle counts FWIW. Midfielders get the tackles, pretty simple. No point comparing a defender to a midfielder

Any white, non-American over the age of 30 who uses that term needs to be punched in the head repeatedly.

Much like Grigg should be everytime he waves & points instead of tackling or shepherding and aimlessly hacks it into the forward 50. Would be in a coma by quarter-time.
I think you'll find I can use any ****** term I like, and the rest of your post confirms that it pretty much sums you up!