Grimes broken down again

Maybe as a set kick, but I do believe Grimes can rebound better from the back and is better by foot on the run.
Whenever he plays he sets up a lot of our attacks from the back third of the ground, something which Griff and Astbury don't do as well.
Grimes reminds me a lot of D. Fletcher.
Astbury is an elite kick of the footy. Or at least was. Hopefully he comes back from it. For a big guy he looked like he would be one of the best kicks in the comp. Either as a defender or a forward. Just hope that the rest of his game develops so we see it at AFL level again.

They are all very good kicks, no question.
The thing that gets me most though is that Griffiths and Astbury both played their younger days as key forwards, where by they would lead-up, take a mark and kick a goal.
Rebounding from the back half is a completely different kicking action and is harder to execute. That's just my opinion.

They are all very good kicks, no question.
The thing that gets me most though is that Griffiths and Astbury both played their younger days as key forwards, where by they would lead-up, take a mark and kick a goal.
Rebounding from the back half is a completely different kicking action and is harder to execute. That's just my opinion.
No doubt but Astbury is a very good kick out of defence as well. I think he's been a bit forgotten over the 2 years. Grimes is a good kick as well. What he's managed to do since arriving at the club is understand his limitations and pick options he knows he can hit. His decision making has improved out of sight.

Griff will have a big year in 2013.
Looks to have his injury worries behind him (touch wood) and can hopefully influence games on a more regular basis.

There is no aspect of the game that Astbury is better at when compared to Grimes.

So far, i agree. Grimes this year added marking to his list of tools. I don't say that in jest, because last year he was clearly under the instruction to punch the ball at all costs.
But even saying that Grimes has been much better, the club still rates Astbury very high.

Actually he does.

This is an anon Internet forum, and most of us have no idea who each other are, our networks, and our professions.

As such, most have the same level of cred, minimal at best.

If you come on making bold claims, you will be questioned and asked to verify, without question. If you are too precious to accept that, keep your information to yourself and don't spill.

Right or wrong, no one get immunity from having their allegeded mail questioned. If this isnt acceptable, don't post private confidential information.
Not every source asks for information to remain confidential. They might just prefer that they themselves remain anonymous. The process is a very basic one. This is a public forum, so obviously people can post what they like within the rules. They don't have to divulge sources. People can choose to accept that or otherwise. They also have the right to demand a source. The OP also has the right to laugh at them and refuse.

In the end, it's simple. If the information is false, the poster loses cred. They can continue to post, but people will ignore them and ridicule them. If they post information that proves to be accurate, people will learn to trust their word. The OP here hasn't complained from what I can see, just chosen to keep their source private.

Not every source asks for information to remain confidential. They might just prefer that they themselves remain anonymous. The process is a very basic one. This is a public forum, so obviously people can post what they like within the rules. They don't have to divulge sources. People can choose to accept that or otherwise. They also have the right to demand a source. The OP also has the right to laugh at them and refuse.

In the end, it's simple. If the information is false, the poster loses cred. They can continue to post, but people will ignore them and ridicule them. If they post information that proves to be accurate, people will learn to trust their word. The OP here hasn't complained from what I can see, just chosen to keep their source private.

I have no issue with people saying "cant say", but they then cant get precious when their word is questioned. This is not just this poster, but happens a fair bit on most forums.

If you don't want to be questioned, assessed, and have your cred questioned, don't post unsubstantiated info. How hard is that?

I have no issue with people saying "cant say", but they then cant get precious when their word is questioned. This is not just this poster, but happens a fair bit on most forums.

If you don't want to be questioned, assessed, and have your cred questioned, don't post unsubstantiated info. How hard is that?
That's just it, he didn't get precious. Someone else may have on his behalf though ;)

More to the point, I don't understand why people feel the need to know the source. Sure, go ahead and ask, but don't be so precious when it's withheld. Time tells if the truth is being told, and if the poster is trustworthy. He has turned out to be a credible source of information, but if people give him grief because he doesn't tell us who he knows, he won't bother coming back.

Guess who the losers are then? ;)

That's just it, he didn't get precious. Someone else may have on his behalf though ;)

More to the point, I don't understand why people feel the need to know the source. Sure, go ahead and ask, but don't be so precious when it's withheld. Time tells if the truth is being told, and if the poster is trustworthy. He has turned out to be a credible source of information, but if people give him grief because he doesn't tell us who he knows, he won't bother coming back.

Guess who the losers are then? ;)

Source is important because ignoring stuff that is plain made up you have:

- heard it from someone connected to the player and the club

- saw training and put 2 and 2 together.

- heard from a mate

- what i believe what happened based upon reading forums

Each of these has a different credibility and therefore allows readers to make a call. Personally if i heard it from someone close to Grimes I'm more likely to believe it than if it's some flog who heard it from a mate at the pub.

Not giving even a hint at source means it could be just bs from y&b/pre/oer/etc.

great example was itg on Post. His info was scorned on by most, but given its origin, it made sense. Not knowing where hr got it from would have seen him consigned to flogdom. In the end, knowing its origin gave us an insight to Posts thinking, which is why i wasn't surprised when he walked away from the game.

Brissy fans tend to not rate his info. :cool:

- heard from a mate

Each of these has a different credibility and therefore allows readers to make a call. Personally if i heard it from someone close to Grimes I'm more likely to believe it than if it's some flog who heard it from a mate at the pub.

Not giving even a hint at source means it could be just bs from y&b/pre/oer/etc.

considering everyone here is using a pseudonym ( including you ), hence we want to protect our own identities, why would you ask for a source, which would in effect render that pseudonym useless?

This a fans board, where heaps of crap is posted by various people, some of which, very few, are actually well connected. You can either believe the posts or not, and depending on the posters history, its usually pretty easy to filter through to the good stuff.

Asking for a source from you ( or anyone else ) is hypercritical in my view.

Wading through the crap to get to the good stuff is half the fun.

Insisting on a source is ridiculous, providing sourced and verified info is the job of RFC OFFICIAL, not anyone else in my view.

Give it a rest

considering everyone here is using a pseudonym ( including you ), hence we want to protect our own identities, why would you ask for a source, which would in effect render that pseudonym useless?

This a fans board, where heaps of crap is posted by various people, some of which, very few, are actually well connected. You can either believe the posts or not, and depending on the posters history, its usually pretty easy to filter through to the good stuff.

Insisting on a source is ridiculous, providing sourced and verified info is the job of RFC OFFICIAL, not anyone else in my view.

Give it a rest
This.

UTG's rep takes care of itself, as it should, as I am suggesting is the way it should happen. Source or no source.

Seems many of us will have to agree to disagree on the topic of credibility and sources.

Junior has every right to with hold his source as I would if in his shoes. I guess I was just looking for some kind of explanation as to how he could have such intimate knowledge. I just found it hard to believe the club are only expecting 10 games a season for the next 3 years and have shared as such.

A simple, someone close to the club or grimes camp or I heard from a mate would suffice, but that's just my opinion, not the rules, so we move on. No biggy!

Maybe the "does it matter" response could have used some polish to avoid the back lash, but again, each to their own. I would rather the info with no source, than no info at all.

Give it a rest

where I i say "name names"? Big difference between "dimma told me" and "so.eone with a connection to the club".

Also there is a fair double standard here. During trade week some new posters and non rfc posters were hounded off the board by people demanding people name names. Funny they get told to gtfo, I defend someone asking just for the source, I have you and dd effectively telling me the same.

where I i say "name names"? Big difference between "dimma told me" and "so.eone with a connection to the club".

Also there is a fair double standard here. During trade week some new posters and non rfc posters were hounded off the board by people demanding people name names. Funny they get told to gtfo, I defend someone asking just for the source, I have you and dd effectively telling me the same.

I think people are big enough and smart enough to make their own opinions.

And for the record I didnt tell you to GTFO, please re-read my post above top confirm.

I think people are big enough and smart enough to make their own opinions.

And for the record I didnt tell you to GTFO, please re-read my post above top confirm.

you dont think calling my posts ridiculous and telling me to "give it a rest" is effectively the same? Its polite, but its a polite way to tell someone to shut up and %^% off

No mate, not having a go at you, just putting forward my opinion. You'll find I'm consistent on this topic. I never had a problem with the likes of DeepThroat and Tradespert. I get some amusement and thought provoking mileage out of their ravings. Time and MO usually tells if they've really got a clue. Some others just get a little too emotionally involved with high expectations around trade and draft time ;)

Actually missed DeepThroat this year...

sad-panda-podiatrist_medium.jpg

- heard from a mate

Don't think there's any problem asking for a source......buts there's absolutely no problem not providing one either.

Let's say it was acknowledged as 'from someone at the club' and there was only a couple of people there who knew and only one who'd told anyone. The end result is the club could be pissed that the info got out, the source would then be pissed that they'd told their mate and they'd spilt the beans, and the end result is no more inside info and we're the losers.

Really credibility is the only thing that matters. This is a public forum at the end of the day and no one has an actual responsibility to post anything that's accurate/entertaining/interesting or give sources. If ya don't like it or believe, ignore it.

Grimes broken down again