Grimes looking elsewhere?

Hey I'm a religious MMM listener and he seems to have really good info
I remember arguing with Dez before Round 1 2014 when Barret said Hogan might be out for the year and the club said 1-2 weeks
Dez called him a flog and said he trusted the club and the rest is history
I think his value lies in obviously having some real sources so he is sometimes in a position to genuinely break some stuff. It does seem to be some clubs not others, which makes sense, and he does or at least did seem to have reliable Melbourne info. But you have an advantage of not getting Channel 7 Footy Classified so not tempted against your better judgement to watch it. It's a truly horrible show. Get 4 egos to sit around the table talking over each other, and pretend it's hard hitting because they spend their entire time trying to get each other to admit to a wrong call about some crap published a few years back.

Edit: I think Dez has called pretty much everyone a flog by now. Except me I think, but that's because he called me a campaigner at one point, and that I came over as pretty much of an arseh*le. But hasn't called me a flog (yet)

I think his value lies in obviously having some real sources so he is sometimes in a position to genuinely break some stuff. It does seem to be some clubs not others, which makes sense, and he does or at least did seem to have reliable Melbourne info. But you have an advantage of not getting Channel 7 Footy Classified so not tempted against your better judgement to watch it. It's a truly horrible show. Get 4 egos to sit around the table talking over each other, and pretend it's hard hitting because they spend their entire time trying to get each other to admit to a wrong call about some crap published a few years back.

Edit: I think Dez has called pretty much everyone a flog by now. Except me I think, but that's because he called me a campaigner at one point, and that I came over as pretty much of an arseh*le. But hasn't called me a flog (yet)

Yeah no I hate listening to his opinion and their is something slimey in his voice because he always pushes an exaggerated narrative
But when it comes to doing his actual job he seems to get a lot right
Footy classified is horrible, it's the difference between journalists and actual footballers
Sunday Footy Show has the same panel with people talking over each other but they are just having fun .. the journos on Clas forget that just because you write an article doesn't make your opinion on footy valid
He called me a lesbian campaigner in my own thread which I thought was sweet
Got way too many likes for that :D

1 down, 1 to go.

Hopefully he doesn't **** it up too badly this weekend. Will be interesting to see what role he is given.

Michie Newton and ANB all got 2 games Atleast so I think he will be given that same grace

Bit awkward if he turns it up for the remainder of the season. Won't inflate his trade value that much but it'll be a bad look when we let him go.

I'm very confident he will be the same player as before
Your awareness doesn't suddenly improve at 26 playing in the reserves

Yep hope he does well enough to get a few more games but can't see him setting the world on fire, he's just not that type of player.
I think he will do well because the pressure will be off. I'm sure he knows he'll be somewhere else next year so he can play like there are no consequences. If he does that I reckon he might star. He's hot great athleticism and endeavour and his skills are good when he isn't in Toump mode. Will be interesting to watch tonight.

I'm glad we gave him a 'farewell' game so he could rack up 32 touches and nine tackles :drunk:

Not all 32 disposal games are 3 brownlow votes are they
He doesn't damage at all with his disposals and brayshaw/oliver will very quickly take his place

Does anyone think Grimes 32 touches were better than Hunts 14 last week for example ?

Matt Jones had 30, dont hear anyone raving about his great game
Dom Tyson had 31, he was also wasteful with ball in hand

He did his job almost as well as could be expected apart from the poor kicking and he will play again next week but it wasnt an impressive game at all

He doesn't damage at all with his disposals and brayshaw/oliver will very quickly take his place

Does anyone think Grimes 32 touches were better than Hunts 14 last week for example ?

He did his job almost as well as could be expected apart from the poor kicking and he will play again next week but it wasnt an impressive game at all
Tyson was wasteful but I thought he was good in the guts at least. Grimes was fairly inert everywhere.

Id take 31 from Tyson before Grimes every single day, even when his kicking is bad his stoppage work is good and he is creative by handball... Grimes just added nothing

Aside from a few early fumbles and one bad turnover on the wing in the first quarter, his disposal was fine and his 90.5% efficiency lends itself to that. He provided important link up play coming out of the back half with 5 rebound 50s, 9 marks, and he led the tackle count on the ground with 8 tackles.

Matt Jones game isn't being talked up much because he butchered it for the majority of the first half.

For a first game back, I thought Grimes acquitted himself well. Full credit to him.

Aside from a few early fumbles and one bad turnover on the wing in the first quarter, his disposal was fine and his 90.5% efficiency lends itself to that. He provided important link up play coming out of the back half with 5 rebound 50s, 9 marks, and he led the tackle count on the ground with 8 tackles.

Matt Jones game isn't being talked up much because he butchered it for the majority of the first half.

For a first game back, I thought Grimes acquitted himself well. Full credit to him.

But thats not true though

It is to my recollection. He turned it over several times and made poor decisions. Improved in the second but his first half was poor.

I'd go back to watch the tape to point out the instances of it but I'd rather stick hot needles in my eyes than watch that game again. Four points banked and move onto next week.