Deledio2Conca

Oct 1, 2006
Daylesford
Wizards, Boro, Daylesford
Hi guys just wondering if someone would be able to answer a couple of questions for me regarding groin injuries and osteitis pubis.

Around this time last season playing footy I noticed that I was getting a sore groin after footy, I thought nothing of it really and thought that it must have just been soreness from a long season.

But after a long layoff, when I hit pre-season this year the soreness was back, and it has gradually got sorer and sorer as the season has progressed.

The last couple of weeks it has been particularly sore, and just at training tonight I noticed I couldn't sprint as quick as I normally do, and my kicks lacked their usual distance.

The pain is defintely on the inside of my groin, and I just hope that it isn't the dreaded O.P, because I've looked at a few sites and I certainly carry some symptoms such as decreased mobility when doing things such as changing direction.

I know it might be a bit of a hail mary to ask the people of BigFooty without them knowing exactly how I am pulling up from training and games and what not, but I was hoping I could get an answer for....

1) Have any of you had groin complaints or similar symptoms to me? If so how did you deal with it/fix it?

and 2) If there are any physio guys on the board, what are some steps I should take to fix the problem and does it sound like O.P from your experience?

Thanks for any help :)

D2T

If you live in Melbourne. Go to Miritis Massage Clinic in Mount Waverley and see Gary.

He is australias best. I had osteidis for 1 year and he fixed me. 2 visits. He massages your groins, tendons and around your pubic bone/symphasis.

If you live in Melbourne. Go to Miritis Massage Clinic in Mount Waverley and see Gary.

He is australias best. I had osteidis for 1 year and he fixed me. 2 visits. He massages your groins, tendons and around your pubic bone/symphasis.

Thanks Lance I live a bit over an hour away so I'll certainly consider it if I find that I have got O.P.

Its a must. He is on Australian Olympic medical team.
Most amazing man I have met in the medical industry.

Is it expensive? How many visits do they usually want you for? Also I read some of the comments on the site, glowing responses of the clinic, but they said it was a little painful. Was yours painful?

It absolutely kills. He knows it hurts. I swore my head off when I saw him and it cost $60 for an hour. Its very cheap and his aim is to not see you often. He wants you up and running quickly. My word he will get you.

I was told by Paul Blackman the Collingwood doctor that I would be out for 2 years if I took cortiisone tablets and played with it. I took them and missed 6 months after I saw Gary I was fixed.

So do you suggest I go to him before I see anyone else? Or should I see someone to find out whether I actually have O.P, then go to Gary?

I think once you mention sore groins and unable to run.......docs just say........O.P

See Gary. Tell him where your pain is. Your symptoms and he'll fix it.

I think once you mention sore groins and unable to run.......docs just say........O.P

See Gary. Tell him where your pain is. Your symptoms and he'll fix it.

Thanks mate.

His treatment sounds painful but I suppose it is worth it haha.

The pain is only in one groin too, if that chagnes anything.

I think im one of the select few to see Gary twice and it not working one bit. Yes the massages are really quite painfull, but it didn't work at all as i got it at the end of last season, and come start of pre-season training i couldnt train because it was still troubled.

yeh Garry is good. Ive seen him 3 times for a serve grade OP Ive gone from having pain to when i walk every day to, being able to run, and to be able to kick. sure i not fully over it but if you got once a week for a month and follow his program, following his program is a must otherwise you get no where

as i live in WA i only have been getting one off treatments (get a treatment once a week for a month i reckon

Dont train or play for at least 3 weeks and just follow his program and you should be right.

Do anything to make it worse eg, alcohol, kicking, ect ect ;) you wont be cured

Work on pilates. The reason people usually get groin injuries is they do not have a strong enough core for the rest of their body.

Yeah I pm'd him about pilates.

It will strengthen those deep core muscles like the TA's, correct your posture and take load of the pubic bone.

It's a long process, but one that all elite athletes use these days.

Pilates is essential. I layed off explosive sprint and weights after I received this treatment for a long time. Concentrated on more core and swimming.

In most cases Gary is effective (80%) of my mates it has been a success.
Alcohol is a big contributor. Inflammation will increase the more you drink.

Groin issues are not just caused by poor core stability.

Most significantly IMO it is a case of weak and dormant glutes (developed from sitting for long periods), which cause the hamstrings, groin and low back to become overactive and hence injuries occur at these sites. Exercises like hip flexor/quad strethces, glute bridges, kneeling squats, birddogs, clams, X-band walks will all help improve glute activation and should be done as part of warm-ups (and even during the day to improve activation). Once activation is improved you can start work on improving posterior chain strength through squats, deadlifts, reverse hyperextensions, pullthroughs and the like.

Hip mobility is another area that needs to be addressed. The hips are designed for mobility, most people are very tight in the hips (again from sitting for long periods) which causes poor posture and the body to compensate and find that 'extra' mobility in areas designed for stability i.e. low back and knee. Exercises like leg swings (both planes), split squats, reverse lunges, lateral squats, rotational squats etc. should be part of warm-ups and again can also be done during the day to help improve mobility.

Hey Pacemaker, I am from Perth and strongly considering going to Melbourne for some OP work by Miritis. I was hoping to ask you a few questions on the subject. Just seeing if you are still using this blog.

I think he's still around, I was seeing Gaz on a regular basis before he had an opperation on his hand, since then I have been seeing Darren who is the other guy there. So feel free to ask away!

Hey spencer. Give me a PM (personal message) and I will go into detail what ever questions you may have.

There are also others here who may be able to answer your questions as well here.

All the best

Pacey.

Hey guys

My name is Jason i have my own clinic out in Port Melbourne (www.supt.com.au) that specialises in treating Osteitis Pubis. Thought id throw my hat into the ring in regards to OP treatment especially since Gary has retired (who was an amazing therapist!).

Our treatment style is very similar (and unfortunately just as painful!). Its extremely important to remove all the thickened fascia surrounding the pubic bone, hip flexors and side of the hip. Where we differ is with the rehab. We are really focused on whole body functional movement training. We have a fully decked out slow motion analysis gym which we use to teach correct technique in deadlifting and squatting, which when performed correctly really strengthen the glutes, hammies and core taking pressure of the adductors.

And here is the direct link for Osteitis Pubis: http://supt.com.au/osteitis-pubis-melbourne/

Even if you are just looking for some advice or info about OP please dont hesitate to give us a call on 9999 1414. We'd be more than happy to have a chat about OP.

Hope this info can be of some help to all you guys :)

Jason

Hi guys just wondering if someone would be able to answer a couple of questions for me regarding groin injuries and osteitis pubis.

Around this time last season playing footy I noticed that I was getting a sore groin after footy, I thought nothing of it really and thought that it must have just been soreness from a long season.

But after a long layoff, when I hit pre-season this year the soreness was back, and it has gradually got sorer and sorer as the season has progressed.

The last couple of weeks it has been particularly sore, and just at training tonight I noticed I couldn't sprint as quick as I normally do, and my kicks lacked their usual distance.

The pain is defintely on the inside of my groin, and I just hope that it isn't the dreaded O.P, because I've looked at a few sites and I certainly carry some symptoms such as decreased mobility when doing things such as changing direction.

I know it might be a bit of a hail mary to ask the people of BigFooty without them knowing exactly how I am pulling up from training and games and what not, but I was hoping I could get an answer for....

1) Have any of you had groin complaints or similar symptoms to me? If so how did you deal with it/fix it?

and 2) If there are any physio guys on the board, what are some steps I should take to fix the problem and does it sound like O.P from your experience?

Thanks for any help :)

D2T