Blues2001

Anyone done these at Uni? Did you enjoy doing it that way?

I'm doing one at the moment that is due soon. Personally, I can't stand group assignments. Someone always ends up doing all the work, someone always ends up bludging. Usually need to meet up about a million times to actually get anything done together, and half the people forget to turn up.

I'd rather go it alone. Would you?

Originally posted by Blues2001

I'm doing one at the moment that is due soon. Personally, I can't stand group assignments. Someone always ends up doing all the work, someone always ends up bludging. Usually need to meet up about a million times to actually get anything done together, and half the people forget to turn up.

You sound like you're the one that has been stuck doing all the work this time :(

I've just started uni (I'm on a 1 week holiday after 4 weeks work, not bad! :D ) and in my first semester maths course, Calculas & Linear Algebra, we get an assignment each week with one week to finish it. We're put into groups of 3 and the group has to finish usually about 5 or 6 questions. Only people that contribute to the assignment can sign this sheet that goes on the front of it before it is handed in.

I've found the best way is to make everyone do as much of the assignment as they can, then meet up 3 days before it is due for an hour or so discussing the questions, which ones you can't do etc, whether you think someone else is wrong in their working and generally deciding whose working is correct and solving unsolved problems. Then we give our working to one person (this person changes each week) who then proceeds to write up a good copy of the assignment for handing in. Works pretty well for our group! :)

Re: Re: Group assignments

Originally posted by TheMase

You sound like you're the one that has been stuck doing all the work this time :(

I wouldn't say I'm doing all the work, but I'm not the bludger either. I'm just finding it a bit hard to get along with the people in my group....I don't agree with some of their ideas, but I don't want to be too rude about it if you know what I mean......

Yep couldn't agree more.

90% of the group situations at uni I've been involved for assignments have sucked a big one.

I've often ended up doing most of the work (what can I say, I'm a perfectionist!:p ), and freakin passengers enjoying my marks pisses me off!
:(

I had an absolute classic last year.

We were given a group accounting assignment to do, it was meant to be for 4 people, but our tutorial group was a bit smaller than the rest, so the tutor decided to randomly put us in groups of 2. Knowing my luck I thought I'd get some crazy person who had no idea at all. Turns out I wasn't far off the mark.
I got paired with a forign exchange student from Malaysia who wouldn't speak English and had no skills in writing or anything. I think she was taking the unit at uni as more of a way to be exposed to english rather than get anything done. Anyway to cut a long story short I got the assignment done and it kicked arse, but doing an assignment meant for 4 people on your own is pretty dodgy by anyones standards.:D

Thanks for that timely reminder to actually visit the Deakin Uni online learning facility for a change... just logged into my Business Info Systems group assignment folder and and someone's been silly enough to nominate me as group leader. :eek:

Geez I hate group assignments, because you can't do it all an hour before it's due. :mad:

Originally posted by Darky

Geez I hate group assignments, because you can't do it all an hour before it's due. :mad:

Umm - yep you can.

And if you've had the serious misfortune to be voted group leader (let me guess everyone else stepped back when the question was asked??!), you may well find yourself doing several assignments by yourself at the last minute.

Poor bastard!
:p ;)

Yeah we have to do them as well. Which Uni do u attend Blues2001?

I attend School of Mines Ballarat and I am doing Certificate II in Business (Office Administration).

Very few people I've spoken to have enjoyed group project work but having said that, it is just something you have to learn how to do because employers will always want to know about experiences you've had working in a "team" environment.

I actually didn't encounter much group work during my degree but the one assignment that I did have, was fantastic. I was working with really great, intelligent people and everyone pulled their weight equally and we got a fantastic result, and actually became really good friends!

Originally posted by brampta
Very few people I've spoken to have enjoyed group project work but having said that, it is just something you have to learn how to do because employers will always want to know about experiences you've had working in a "team" environment.

I actually didn't encounter much group work during my degree but the one assignment that I did have, was fantastic. I was working with really great, intelligent people and everyone pulled their weight equally and we got a fantastic result, and actually became really good friends!

I thought your second paragraph was joke for a second there......:p

Good to see that they aren't always bad.

Suzi, I go to Melbourne Uni.

Although I'm only doing a TAFE course, the same thing always happens to me.

Although i admit last year i was the bludger some of the time, this year is different as if i do good this year i get into uni, which is what im aiming for.

The crap thing about it is, we did a group presentation last week, and we had to tell the lecturer what each of us had done, and there was four of us. One of the guys in the group did absolutely nothing, but the thing was, none of us were willing to give him a lower mark than the rest of us coz he covered our asses last year.

If only i could turn back the clock :mad:

Thats the only one out of 5 ive had a problem with this year, the rest were fantastic

mate....if you reckon that sucks.....this is a group project i had to do at Spherion:

It was called the Group Development Project...what it was, was a group of 7-8 of us got given a project to complete with many tasks involved. The project was this:
There was a pseudo business called EKSI which was a two person business and they wanted our group to implement a business solution for them which consisted of organising and implementing a computing system for them, plus creating a database type program so they could keep their records on a computer instead of file systems.

Seems easy but the problem was.....the project was done thru email with other Spherion students around Australia. I think there was one in adelaide (me), two in melbourne, two in sydney, 1 in gold coast, 1 in perth and 1 in auckland. Now THAT was hard attempting to do a project when everyone has different shift times and people not being in on certain days. Was very tricky as at the start two of the people decided not to write anyone any emails for over two weeks :mad: Worked out well in the end tho.

I dont mind group projects that much....as long as everyone does their part then it is fine

I've had to do a few group assignments in my first year at uni, but thankfully none have been scheduled for any of my second year units (for 1st semester at least!)

Just remembering my group assignments from last year

Accounting: I was in a good group with my friends, but that can be a bad thing because for 3/4rs of the time we met up to discuss the assignment, we used to muck around and general chatting. We copied off another group and ended up getting a better mark than they did :)

Marketing: This was a weird one! I was with a mate and 2 international students from Kenya. They were really slack and didn't pull their weight. I had to chase both of them up the DAY BEFORE IT WAS DUE! They sent me their stuff via email at 10pm the night before and I had to spend 2 hours editing their broken english and dodgy grammar. We did get 70% for that assignment so it turned out ok.

I had to do a 'pair' assignment for Business Statistics although we had to indicate which part of the work we both did. I got 15/20 for my part and he got 4/20 for his - the good thing was, the highest mark for the group was counted for both people, so I guess I 'carried him'.

If you love doing group assignments, I hear they are very popular with Majors/Minors in Accounting and Marketing.

Re: Re: Group assignments

Originally posted by Macca19

mate....if you reckon that sucks.....this is a group project i had to do at Spherion:

It was called the Group Development Project...what it was, was a group of 7-8 of us got given a project to complete with many tasks involved. The project was this:
There was a pseudo business called EKSI which was a two person business and they wanted our group to implement a business solution for them which consisted of organising and implementing a computing system for them, plus creating a database type program so they could keep their records on a computer instead of file systems.

Seems easy but the problem was.....the project was done thru email with other Spherion students around Australia. I think there was one in adelaide (me), two in melbourne, two in sydney, 1 in gold coast, 1 in perth and 1 in auckland. Now THAT was hard attempting to do a project when everyone has different shift times and people not being in on certain days. Was very tricky as at the start two of the people decided not to write anyone any emails for over two weeks :mad: Worked out well in the end tho.

I dont mind group projects that much....as long as everyone does their part then it is fine

Macca, that's pretty much the same assignment I am doing at the moment. In a group of six people, three haven't signed into the group yet, and the details have been up on the site for over a week...

For our year 12 English oral, you have the choice of a group or individual. I always choode individual, as if someone screws up, you know it's you. Also, one or two always end up doing all the work.

I'm doing the issue of the Wayne Carey saga and how it's being portrayed through the media. I'm gonna take up the role of Carey, do the press conference, then do some other stuff to make it look like I've been treated unfairly by the media. Should be good fun.

The Hitman

I have a couple of group assignments which are going to be started oretty soon. I am fully hopeful of being the bludger in the group.

The way they work out the groups at Deakin is stupid, we get one from Burwood, one from Geelong and one from Warnambool, so you never actually get to meet the people you are doing the assignment with.