Roast Grumpy Old Thread- 10k posts of whinging

Yes, I saw that.

I also saw that you liked your own tweet.😄
HAHAHA because I watched it like 10x BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT WAS A MASTERPIECE FRICK U. AND U DIDNT WVEN LIKE IT

I look like a bad bitch and you know it.

In 2018/19 in NSW west of the Range it was over 38, sometimes well over, every day from early december till early March across most of the entire area. Most of the time it was over 40. Seriously f’ed up heatwave. In fact it wasn't a heatwave it was just ongoing hot weather.

There are parts of Australia where it gets that hot or hotter for longer but central western NSW isn't actually one of them.
Stayed a Bathurst one night for down to minus 4

I had friends who lived in orange. Freezing and it actually looks like Tassie. Same European trees and fruit and sandstone buildings. The first time I went there i was surprised how like Tassie it was.

I've seen it get down to -12 at Tenterfield, just near the Qld border and -14 at Genn Innes, 100km down the road. Some of the stories my biker mates tell me about that New England highway, riding at kight in winter near Guyra... crazy.

But three years ago all thru there all the way west past Dubbo didn't get below mid twenties, even at night, for months.

Crazy.

I had friends who lived in orange. Freezing and it actually looks like Tassie. Same European trees and fruit and sandstone buildings. The first time I went there i was surprised how like Tassie it was.

I've seen it get down to -12 at Tenterfield, just near the Qld border and -14 at Genn Innes, 100km down the road. Some of the stories my biker mates tell me about that New England highway, riding at kight in winter near Guyra... crazy.

But three years ago all thru there all the way west past Dubbo didn't get below mid twenties, even at night, for months.

Crazy.
the effect of the great divide is massive on the eastern seaboard, even down here in Vic when my dad lived in Benalla (just down the road from gaso country), the isolation from the sea influance was very apparent to me being from west gippsland where we had a small influance mainly from the lowlands between us and westernport bay which made a signifigant difference from north of the ranges. we did still however have occasianal severe frost events when the weather was right for it but no where near as severe or frequent as over the divide, south gippsland and gippsland riviera on the other hand being south of the strezleckies are virtually frost free.

i suspect this is the case once you get over the blue mountains west of sydney.

very similar weather phenomenon in california where they grow berries on the seaside of the coastal range along malibu and ventura, and across the hills from bakersfield to fresno its tomatoes

the old tenterfield saddler would have needed a pretty warm swag at times.

the effect of the great divide is massive on the eastern seaboard, even down here in Vic when my dad lived in Benalla (just down the road from gaso country), the isolation from the sea influance was very apparent to me being from west gippsland where we had a small influance mainly from the lowlands between us and westernport bay which made a signifigant difference from north of the ranges. we did still however have occasianal severe frost events when the weather was right for it but no where near as severe or frequent as over the divide, south gippsland and gippsland riviera on the other hand being south of the strezleckies are virtually frost free.

i suspect this is the case once you get over the blue mountains west of sydney.

very similar weather phenomenon in california where they grow berries on the seaside of the coastal range along malibu and ventura, and across the hills from bakersfield to fresno its tomatoes

the old tenterfield saddler would have needed a pretty warm swag at times.
Yeah I think its a massive effect. West of the range in lesser Syria the call it "brass monkey country" cos in winter ....

The coldest its been here is minus 5 ish. Usually its around -8 or 10 in Tenterfield when that happens and the cold air just falls down the mountains. In winter in 2018 we ended up fire fighting between Casino, Grafton and Tenterfield. The fire was still burning, it was still drought and everything was dry as but the temp was between zero and -1! A year later, doing the same thing at the exact time of year (August) a few km further into the mountains it was 20C at night. That was the beginning of those "Black Summer" fires. In between was that summer I was talking about where west of the range it didn't cool down. i've always wondered if the ground was still warm from 6 months earlier.

That warm summer all that hot air was kind of trapped by the range in the same way you were saying it stops the ocean mediating the cold. Even the ground would radiate heat at night. I drove down to melbourne a few times that summer as my old man died that year, you'd sit outside the motel in Connabarrabran and feel the heat coming off the ground. Where we are is like S Gippy and the Riverina down there I guess. Even more so on the coast near Byron etc cos the Nightcap Range and Border Ranges magnify the effect.

It'll probably be fully subtropical where you live in 20 years. Like here. Subtropical Summers and cold wet winters maybe.

Love dogs, not the team, the four legged kind. But still a bit confused by the campaign in QLD for a missing police dog that has generated 60,000 + pamphlets to be distributed and directions to call crime stoppers and 000.

…let’s not get started on finding stuff in Bunnings
If it’s one Bunnings it’s ok, you can usually find what you need… going into a different Bunnings is like going into another world

Why the fk are crumpler bags so expensive lol I just want a cross body bag to carry to uni to put my iPad and a couple pens and books in ugh.

Because everybody wants one to be part of the " in " crumbley bag crowd phenomenon you gotta pay through the nose Liggers. But l found a bag for you 👍

d4d92a85c98889026d5ef20529d974d2.jpg

Because everybody wants one to be part of the " in " crumbley bag crowd phenomenon you gotta pay through the nose Liggers. But l found a bag for you 👍

View attachment 1315853
Thanks hojjy, I admit I also am apart of the “in” because I payed $60 for a Frank green water bottle 😳😳😳😳

easy to find staff member but as soon as you make eye contact they are off, vanish into thin air.
& easy to find a staff member but they have nfi about what you are asking

i think the old practice of hiring ex tradies has long passed.
Some of them are alright... but it just seems I keep getting younger people who talk to me about something and I keep thinking "you have NFI about it do you?"
but yeah, i try and keep an eye out for the tradies if I want advice