Roast Grumpy Old Thread II - the grumpiness continues

Point is that I used to go along to the Show with my kid with gritted teeth simply because of the waste of money on rubbish
Oh yeah for sure. I hadn't been in years .... thought it might still be carnivalesque .. the cost is a pain, but the experience, the excitement etc for him is the real value. Ah well, we kick the cat and move on til next weekend :)

Could always do Luna Park I guess

I'm a bit worried about this...

View attachment 1518456

I know it's not from any kids at home but maybe my past is catching up although the poor child seems to be very confused calling me "mom".

A few weeks ago someone rang my Mobile about my $97.50 EBay gift card.

“your lying”

“Sorry?”

“you are lying”

“Huh”

“You are telling me lies. What is my name?”

Hangs up

Well I am probably a curmudgeon of course, but I'm not sure if this makes me grumpy or not...

I bought 7 bags of mulch last week as another member of the household estimated that we needed six to fill a few gaps in the garden. One as contingency seeing I like to have plan B ready.

That wasn't anywhere near enough so I ordered a cubic metre from the big green shed.

It was delivered to my place in Frankston by a driver who came over from Werribee!

I spread it all out and honestly, I felt that I could probably do with another seven bags just to fill the gaps that remained.

Anyway, a couple of spots are still a bit thin.

This afternoon a truck turns up with a metre of mulch from packenham.

WTF. We already had a delivery.

The guy rang his boss and they found out that Bunnings made an error and double booked the delivery.

But he has a metre of mulch in the back of his truck, and he has more deliveries to make.

I offered to buy the mulch as I honestly could have used about a third of it. A couple of neighbours would probably take the rest.

The guy says no way... We can have it for free and Bunnings can sort out the cost with his boss.

Very decent of him but now I have to spread this shit around.

Kind of good. Kind of not good.

But I am not complaining.

Well. Not much.

Not compared to normal anyway.

Finally made it to the Show yesterday. Didn't quite live up to my memory of what it used to be, but my best little mate enjoyed the day, loaded up with a moderate supply of showbags and a few of the less scary rides :-D He gives it an 8/10. His highlights were the kids Jurassic rollercoaster and the giant sack slide. Saw D.Noble and his boy, a couple of other collingwood players but gave them a wide berth, stinky collingwood. Then on the way home we got treated to a real life Footlights College vs Scumbag College experience. The train from the show went to the racetrack and picked up all the w@nkers that had kicked on for a few afters at the track. I told my best little mate that "these are all the people who drive the big Audies without indicators" as well as using the Young Ones Scumbag College as another example. Not sure if they were scowling at a little boy giggling, or just trying to focus on someone not paying attention to their figjam storytelling. The show stealer of course was when we were exiting the train, one pissed bloke, just crossing the carriage, crashed straight into him, and he was only stopped from being totally skittled by some wonderful work in the gully and an outstretched hand. Called the bloke a w@nker, told the other w@nkers to get out of my way and off we went. all the way home :)

I must be the only one that indicates and understands how to merge properly.

Well I am probably a curmudgeon of course, but I'm not sure if this makes me grumpy or not...

I bought 7 bags of mulch last week as another member of the household estimated that we needed six to fill a few gaps in the garden. One as contingency seeing I like to have plan B ready.

That wasn't anywhere near enough so I ordered a cubic metre from the big green shed.

It was delivered to my place in Frankston by a driver who came over from Werribee!

I spread it all out and honestly, I felt that I could probably do with another seven bags just to fill the gaps that remained.

Anyway, a couple of spots are still a bit thin.

This afternoon a truck turns up with a metre of mulch from packenham.

WTF. We already had a delivery.

The guy rang his boss and they found out that Bunnings made an error and double booked the delivery.

But he has a metre of mulch in the back of his truck, and he has more deliveries to make.

I offered to buy the mulch as I honestly could have used about a third of it. A couple of neighbours would probably take the rest.

The guy says no way... We can have it for free and Bunnings can sort out the cost with his boss.

Very decent of him but now I have to spread this s**t around.

Kind of good. Kind of not good.

But I am not complaining.

Well. Not much.

Not compared to normal anyway.
should have got a trailer load from the garden supplies to begin with , bagged mulch is ridiculously expensive. but looks like you have lucked out with their stuff up.

in true grumpy fashion tired already from the earlier start, was pretty cool this morning as well, but overall i like DLS, sitting under the verandah with a few ales after work looking into the countryside is a nice way to spend the arvo after work rather than coming home in the dark and rain.

should have got a trailer load from the garden supplies to begin with , bagged mulch is ridiculously expensive. but looks like you have lucked out with their stuff up.
I don't have a tow bar these days.

Funny thing is I've now spread all of the mulch and seriously, about I could do with about another seven more bags FFS :(

in true grumpy fashion tired already from the earlier start, was pretty cool this morning as well, but overall i like DLS, sitting under the verandah with a few ales after work looking into the countryside is a nice way to spend the arvo after work rather than coming home in the dark and rain.
We can all come down to your place for a quiet evening ale.

Imagine how it affects nightowls who still work normal day hours like me. Cockeyed would be an understatement!
drpaulbearer cross eyed GIF

You know what can **** off all you grumpy campaigners?. Our ****ing 4th world ****ing shit internet. As if the previous government had no ****ing clue that a fast internet was paramount to capitalism. **** those campaigners for pissing our tax dollars up the wall to only provide an inferior service.

Streaming is the shit these days and our country needs a finger up the date as our stream is so poor.

**** those dogs!

Roast Grumpy Old Thread II - the grumpiness continues