GST in Football

chev1977

Jun 11, 2000
Adelaide, SA, Australia
Adelaide Crows
How much will the GST affect the football ?

Already the prices for a family of four at Football Park are around $60 dollars per game ! where as in melbourne it is around $30

I am a member of the Adelaide Football Club in waiting !

I dont know if I'd accept my tickets when I have the opportunity with the prices they charge here !

I know a simple solution (which I have been saying all my life) DONT EVER VOTE LIBERAL unless you live in Toorak in Melbourne or Burnside here in Adelaide !

Because we all know Johney looks after the rich !!!!

houses etc.. are cheaper (which only the wealthy can afford these days)

Grocerys are dearer (ordinary people and the rich have to buy - but for the rich it doesn't hit them hard in the pocket like the normal battlers !)

What are your opinions ?

Yeah, I couldn't agree with you more Chev...How can they charge so much for a footy game...

How are the battlers of this state get to a footy match when it costs so much, at least Melbourne is cheaper...yeah vote Labour.

What a load of rubbish really.

Are you even aware of what a goods and services tax is for ?

It is primiarily designed to stop tax cheats, so that ALL people pay tax when they purchase a good or service.

The price of a general admission ticket at the footy has risen 10% or $1.40. Big deal.

Are you food, even aware that in your next pay check, you will be getting MORE MONEY. You will be getting taxed LESS on your income.

There won't be any difference. You will spend a little more money (and some things you will save, but on MOST things you wil pay more), but you will then get more in your weekly pay-check.

And it will make sure that all the crooks pay their tax, instead of avoiding it.

I know a New Zealander who has had a GST put in over their, and she assured me it was "no big deal".

Gee, that extra 20c I spent on the footy reocord today is going to send me broke. I actually worked out, for this week, I will make more money with the GST due to the extra 20 bucks or so I get in my pay.

You probably think ther is a conspiracy and that the AFL is pocketing the extra $1.40 and making milions. Grow up. There is no conspiracy.

(P.S Bring back Jeff. He was a legend)

yeah well if there is a G.S.T why do they need income tax bright spark ??

So a child 9 years of age goes to the shop and buy's a pie and a soft drink he/she is paying tax!!! and I bet you that 9yo doesn't work !! No child should pay tax !!

Yeah sure income tax goes down from say $115 to $85

but that $1.40 at the footy must be added to the $25 at the checkout the extra $1.20 per week for ciggerette's the extra $1.00 for the anount of beer consumed at the pub in an outing!

You buy a newspaper here for 88 cents ten percent up on 80 cents pre-GST but since there are no two and one cent pieces you have to round 88 cents to 90 cents so in reality you are paying more than ten percent to the government (Now that is one item what happens when your paying 200 items in a week ? and try working that out over a year ??

Now Dan24 I assume your a hard core liberal supporter ? or you are an arseh*le who like's to stir people on !!! when you know I dont hate you I just disagree with most the things you say !!

Do me a favour go to the Supermarket and tell me what you spent ! and tell me if it is more than the difference in your income tax ! I am pretty confident that you'll come back agreeing with me..

do me favour chev1977,
go into a supermarket look at the prices
soap powder has gone Down
Coke has Gone Down
Chocolate has stayed the same
Most foods aren't tax, Except the meat pie at the footy, but if you actually went and did a comparison on what the average basket of shopping was last week compared to now you'll see that it is less now than then.
PS am i rich, I am buying house but only earn 27 - 30k/year

Oh Danny Boy !!! I forgot to tell you I am getting an extra $12 a fortnight and paying $20 less in tax

but with shopping (and buying the cheapest brands of goods) and other nessesity's I pay an extra $40-50 per week !

so let me calculate (keep note that rounding up prices means I pay the Government more than the promised 10% tax rate)

a windfall of around $18.00 per week

$18.00 x 52 weeks in a year = $936.00 more I pay the tax man !!

lets assume I want to buy a house by the time I am 45 years old

23 years old now

45 want to own home

45-23 = 22 years

ok 22 years x $936.00 = $20,592 more that the tax man has in his pocket, where I would have that in my pocket in the old system !!!

vote 1 kim beasley ....

oh but you see Danny Boy ! I really would like a nice new commodore to put in the garage of my nice new home but the tax man has my $20,000 that I would have had

oh well
frown.gif
I just have to be happy running around in this 1983 Mitsubishi Sigma !
because the money I would have saved to cover the tax lost is being spent on the council rates, the electricity bill, the water rates, and not to mention the tax I pay on heated chicken !

heard enough ??

stick with your bombers at least they have there heads screwed on ! Not this government that is currently digging this country's grave !!!!

So K.Packer now pays his fair share of tax???
no, but the peasants now pay more to cover scum like him. Wait till you get your elec bill, gas bill, rates, hair cut, car repairs etc I do not mind paying tax BUT I hate the thought that packer and Co and all their family trusts still get away with their fair share. Why do all but one of the coalition front bench have family trusts. Boy are they laughing and Labor scretly are applauding. ok thats it soory, NOW how bout them bombers!!!!!

Cmon, its obvious people here dont understand the system. We were just about the only country without a GST, and it was inevietable we were gonna get it.

The difference now is that we have the choice to pay our taxes, as opposed to it being forced out of our paychecks. As of yesturday, if you didnt want to pay the extra on items, you dont have to! Buy a cold chicken as opposed to going to KFC, most foods are the same price anyway. Its largely stuff you dont 'need' that goes up. (also remember that while little products will go down fifty cents here, and a dollar there - more expensive products such as electrical goods, TV's, computers and homes will go down dramatically. At the end of the day, its up to the consumer on how much extra tax he or she wants to pay).

Vote Liberal, and allow the country to move forward!
Gee, hasnt Bracks been a raging success! What the hell has he done since gaining power, apart from letting the unions back in to control our state?? But, as has happened before, and will continue to happen, voters will go back to Liberal to get us out of the mess that Labour has put us in!

Yes, yes, Bomber *pats on the head patronisingly*, now back to bed with you before you make any more rash statements.

Wrong there are only 3 country's with a GST and that is Australia, New Zealand and Canada...

Danny Boy you said you liked Jeff Kennet but that sly looking sleezy arseh*le sold off most of your states assets remember ? oh and not to mention stole our Grand Prix that was far more sucessful over here !

(you call yourselfs a fanatical sporting state but you have never gotten near the 200,000 crowds to the race like we did !)

and to the other person who mentioned about chocolate going down....well that isnt a nessesity is it? What about the poor ladies who have to pay a tax on sanitry items..

Oh well what I'll do is give this subject a rest for about 3 months and then I'll have some way different opinions then I can assure you !

Oh and one more thing prices of every item you can think of are different in Western Australia and Victoria verses South Australia.

to dons_r_tops no you aint rich but you'll find out how tough it is to pay off and run a household (whilst keeping it spotlessly clean)

I only hope for your sake that you do well with your job and get promoted further up in the company so you dont have to mortgage your house... because no doubt it will happen to you with this current system !

Oh and to the person who said about parents buying a child a pie and drink at the corner shop .....

Well the kid IS PAYING TAX because what if that child has waashed the car,done the dishes,made his/her bed, taken out the rubbish, etc.... it means they have earned that money ! If a young kid gets $5.00 for a weeks chores (which is enough for a child) that kid will in reality only have $3.50 to spend !!!!!

I rest my case yet again !!

What crap!
GST (otherwise known as VAT - value added tax) in some form is in force in over 60 countries. In Europe, it is a mandatory requirement for joining the European community. In Asia, it has spread to countries like Japan, the Philippines, Korea, Indonesia and Singapore (it was introduced in Sri Lanka just 3 years ago); also many countries in Africa and Latin America, to New Zealand and Canada amongst others have the tax system, or equivalent.
Ok, it may not be called "GST" everywhere, but the same principal is in place! Basically, Australia was one of the only developed countries not to have adopted it, untill now of course!

Yes, that child in effect could be paying tax - but if the system worked properly the parents would now have more disposable income, and the childs pocket money should have increased by the same rate! So now the child is paid $6.50 - if the child wants he can buy a pie, and pay the increase, or can CHOSE to purchase something else, and not pay an increase in tax. Same principal for everyone!

This GST crap already is, and will prove to be another Y2K farce - everybody jumping up and down over nothing! Remember, we live in a democracy, and the GST was voted in!!

Cmon Hawsforce, tell me what was so 'rash' about what I said.

Looks like you are losing this one chev1977

You're not very good at arguing things are you.

Did you know that the price of cars (normally someones second biggest invesment) is going DOWN.

I suppose you think, poverty is now going to break out in Austraia, and there will more homeless people everywhere. You're an idiot.

Grow up, and move forward.

You will noe be able t choose what you pay tax on, and in some case, with sales tax abolished, it will go DOWN. By the way, the USA has a GST. Heaps of countries do.

Use a bit of common-sense. You can slice up a pie two different ways, but in the end it is still one pie.

Bomber,

I agree entirely. Bracks has done nothing. He hasn;'t made any istakes, but it's a bit hard to make mistales where you don't do anything.

Whether you love Jeff or if you hate him, he got things done. He was the best thing to ever happen to Victoria. The state reslly took off. What I liked about him was he didn;'t take any sh1t from anyone and he just got the job done. He didn't care what people thought of him.

Yeah, he was arrogant, and rightly so. Who cares, as long as he actually DID something. Bracks is notmaking anything happen.

You are right though, the Liberals will eventually get back in, when the public realise what they have done. The public will vote with their feet. Just watch

exactly Dan - Jeff was voted out, not for what he was doing to/with the state - but for how he did it, arrogantly. Niave people just didnt like him, or the image he projected, and unfortunatly there are more people who are politically niave in society than not.
Remember, there is a big picture to look at!

I see that apart from the $60 a week tax cuts for our pollies they also get a wage rise. Thank god I thought they would suffer. As for the comment that now you can select which tax to pay selecting what you buy. CRAP You have to pay all those services that wasn't paid before, thats where the money is. Last word NEVER VOTE FOR A POLLIE. YOU ONLY ENCOURAGE THEM!!!!! last last word Liberal , labor they are all the same when Labor wanted a GST oh no!! we can't have that. They are all hypocrites. Last last last word. LOOK at the super plan for those barstards you try and get that?????

To be honest, I don't care what the politicians are making. Ther lives don't affect us. Only the decisions they make affect us.

When i was growing up I actually though that the politicians were all millionaires. They are not. I though they were, but they're not.

Sure, they're on a heap of money and the get heaps of fringe benefits, but if the Prime Minister of our country is on, say, 400,000 dollars a year, I think he is being underpaid.

For the amount of influence federal politicians yield, I am probably one of the few who think they should be getting even more money.

I dont think any off you who like Kennett read what I wrote ?

He sold most of your assests off ! the same thing that is happening here in Adelaide

eg: If you sold off all of your water company's, electricity, transport etc... to foreign companys where do you think the big slice of your money is going ??

ANSWER : Oversea's now is that what you call looking after the state ?

DONT SAY I AM A LIER OR TELLING RUBBISH I WATCH THE NEWS EVERY DAY NOT PROGRAMS LIKE FRIENDS OR ALLEY MCBEAL

Regardless what you guy's think I am satisfied within myself that I am honest and that I know what I am talking about...and that my friends is worth more than anything !!

No, Jeff is a legend.

He did a hell of a lot more than sell a few assets (have you ever though why). He re-invigoratd the state.

Anyway, let's not make this a political discussion. No one will win. Everyone has their opinion. The main fact is that the GST will have little or no impact on our lives. As I said, you can slice a pie up two different way, but in the end, it is still a pie, right ?

No, I wouldn't want this to become a political discussion either.

Though I suppose I would like to go on record in disagreeing with the GST. We all know how much of a success the GST has been in New Zealand and other countries. The fact that in pretty much all countries the GST has been increased while Costello continually fails to guarantee that it won't be increased in the future is a major concern for low income earners

As for Jeff, I think you could say he was a good leader if the only thing worth worrying about was the economy. But believe it or not, there are a lot more important things than strong economic growth and sporting events. Apart from trying to restrict the powers of the auditor-general, does the amount of hospital beds or level of police numbers matter? I would think that it does.

Jeff took control of the state when it was in a mess. Labor had spent way too much, the state was struggling.
You cant just spend and spend, money has to come from somewhere! Jeff and his party brought the state back from the shambles and Australias best state, no doubt, now all the work is set to be undone by a party who can even control unions, let alone the friggen state.
But who cares, it has always happened in the past, and will happen again. The liberal govt will save our ar$es....again!

GST in Football