GTL's AFL23 Player Ratings

If Rhys Mathieson is 77 than 76 for Tyler Brown is very generous.

Darcy Gardiner the same as Doedee, Keays, Sloane, Fogarty and Smith isn’t right.

You’re probably right. I’m giving Gardiner a bit too much benefit of the doubt with all his injury interruptions over the last couple of seasons. He’s probably an 83 the last 12 months. I’ll change it.

What's the point of just posting random overall stats?
Gives us no insight into what players individual attributes or anything that will differentiate them. A tall key forward rated at 88 is going to be completely different from a small outside midfielder rated 88.

Done the Freo depth chart along with ratings:

Key Fwds:

Taberner - 82

Amiss - 75

Treacy - 74

Corbett - 72

Kuek - 69

Benning - 65

Forwards:

Fyfe - 84

Walters - 83

Schultz - 82

Switkowski - 82

Frederick - 79

Banfield - 77

Sturt - 75

Colyer - 74

Emmett - 71

Williams - 68

Mids:

Brayshaw - 91

Serong - 87

Brodie - 85

O’Meara - 82

Aish - 81

O’Driscoll - 78

Hughes - 78

Henry - 77

Johnson - 75

Erasmus - 75

Rucks:

Darcy - 86

Jackson - 80

Reidy - 74

Knobel - 68

Key backs:

Cox - 89

Pearce - 87

Hamling - 77

Davies - 70

Draper - 67

Backs:

Ryan - 88

Young - 87

Clark - 84

Wilson - 81

Chapman - 80

Walker - 78

Wagner - 76

Worner - 71

Done the Freo depth chart along with ratings:

Key Fwds:

Taberner - 82

Amiss - 75

Treacy - 74

Corbett - 72

Kuek - 69

Benning - 65

Forwards:

Fyfe - 84

Walters - 83

Schultz - 82

Switkowski - 82

Frederick - 79

Banfield - 77

Sturt - 75

Colyer - 74

Emmett - 71

Williams - 68

Mids:

Brayshaw - 91

Serong - 87

Brodie - 85

O’Meara - 82

Aish - 81

O’Driscoll - 78

Hughes - 78

Henry - 77

Johnson - 75

Erasmus - 75

Rucks:

Darcy - 86

Jackson - 80

Reidy - 74

Knobel - 68

Key backs:

Cox - 89

Pearce - 87

Hamling - 77

Davies - 70

Draper - 67

Backs:

Ryan - 88

Young - 87

Clark - 84

Wilson - 81

Chapman - 80

Walker - 78

Wagner - 76

Worner - 71

Love this balance more then what the game has produced, brayshaw should be the only 90+ in that side if we’re going on par with fifa ratings. Job well done I’d say

I’ll give the saints a crack see how I go

Nick Coffield 77

Zak Jones 81

Jade Gresham 84

Brad Crouch 85

Seb Ross 82

Nasiah Wanganeen Milera 78

Bradley Hill 84

Jack steele 90

Mitch owens 78

Max king 86

Ryan Byrnes 78

Liam stocker 77

Jack billings 80

Dan butler 82

Marcus windhager 83

Jack Hayes 79

Rowan Marshall 86

Zaine Cordy 80

Jack higgins 82

Jack bytel 80

Mattaes Phillapou 79

Josh battle 83

Oscar adams 75

Tim Membrey 85

Jimmy Webster 81

Matt Allison 74

James van es 72

Mason wood 82

Ben Paton 80

Tom highmore 79

Jack Sinclair 88

Daniel McKenzie 81

Leo Connelly 77

Tom Campbell 78

Oli Hotton 72

Issac Keeler 72

Angus Mclennen 73

Max Heath 74

Cooper Sharman 76

Callum Wilkie 87

Jack Peris 76

Anthony Caminiti 77

I’ll give the saints a crack see how I go

Nick Coffield 77

Zak Jones 81

Jade Gresham 84

Brad Crouch 85

Seb Ross 82

Nasiah Wanganeen Milera 78

Bradley Hill 84

Jack steele 90

Mitch owens 78

Max king 86

Ryan Byrnes 78

Liam stocker 77

Jack billings 80

Dan butler 82

Marcus windhager 83

Jack Hayes 79

Rowan Marshall 86

Zaine Cordy 80

Jack higgins 82

Jack bytel 80

Mattaes Phillapou 79

Josh battle 83

Oscar adams 75

Tim Membrey 85

Jimmy Webster 81

Matt Allison 74

James van es 72

Mason wood 82

Ben Paton 80

Tom highmore 79

Jack Sinclair 88

Daniel McKenzie 81

Leo Connelly 77

Tom Campbell 78

Oli Hotton 72

Issac Keeler 72

Angus Mclennen 73

Max Heath 74

Cooper Sharman 76

Callum Wilkie 87

Jack Peris 76

Anthony Caminiti 77

Looks good, only thing I’ll question is Gresham lower than Membrey?

Probably only because Membrey has more runs on the board, the potential for Gresh to grow more is there, has missed a lot of footy though

And that’s the insight you don’t get if you don’t follow the club. Good ratings then! Hate having heaps of 90+ as I don’t think that accurately depicts the competition

Agree mate, you want the elite players of the comp to stand out and dominate not just be another player

Obviously, the ratings are all subjective but there is never enough spread in the ratings, it should take a solid year of consistent performances to get a rating of 75+, and a rating above 85 should be reserved for elite players and 90+ ratings should only be for Top 5 players.

Imo a 90+ are the best 10-15 players in the comp. Rare for teams to have multiple but for example Tom Stewart and Jeremey Cameron should be 90+ with Hawkins around the mark too.

85+ are your A-Graders that are either All Australian or around the mark.

76-84 are best 22 players, with 80+s being reserved for your B22 locks every week

75ish are fringe players that are almost too good for the 2s but not good enough for consistent games in the 1s

70s are youngsters and depth guys

69 and below are your project players that are middle tier seconds players

Imo a 90+ are the best 10-15 players in the comp. Rare for teams to have multiple but for example Tom Stewart and Jeremey Cameron should be 90+ with Hawkins around the mark too.

85+ are your A-Graders that are either All Australian or around the mark.

76-84 are best 22 players, with 80+s being reserved for your B22 locks every week

75ish are fringe players that are almost too good for the 2s but not good enough for consistent games in the 1s

70s are youngsters and depth guys

69 and below are your project players that are middle tier seconds players
I tend to agree with the requirements for the higher ratings but I still think new draftees should be a bit lower towards the low 60s, this is excluding the obvious standouts (Ashcroft, daicos, sheezel, etc) who are already best 22 players. Just using freo as an example I can't see players like Davies, Draper, Benning, etc, who are good footballers but nowhere near senior footy

Yeah agree and I think I had Tom Emmett as our highest rookie at 71 as he is mature aged and could end up playing senior footy if we keep going at the rate we are at. Should take a few years of simulation/game play for those kind of guys to even be fringe players

Got AFL video game fever so I thought I’d give each teams ratings based on 2 rounds so far + carry over from last year

87: Collingwood
86: Melbourne, Sydney
85: Geelong, Carlton, Brisbane
84: St Kilda, Richmond, Fremantle
83: Essendon, North Melbourne, Port Adelaide
82: West Coast, GWS, Adelaide
81: Gold Coast
80: Hawthorn

75-78: Good VFL/SANFL/WAFL teams
70-74: Average state teams
65-69: Bad state teams/U18 State Championship Teams
50-64: U18 Teams and Junior Squads