Strategy Gunning the Nullabor

Any finals in Melbourne we need to get as many Freo supporters over there as possible.
The crowd has a massive impact on umpires.
Except for when we are at home for some reason.
They hear the big loud boos and calls of ball or delibrate and pay them, then when the same situation occurs for the home team its silence and the umps just generally ball it up or throw it in.

Im sure they get directed at Freo home games to ignore the crowd and not get sucked in.
In Melbourne though the support is normally evenly split so they get sucked in by the crowd when its against an interstate team.

We get a better rub of the green by the umpires I Melbourne than we get here at home

The Nullarbor is "the" Australian road trip and something you will never, ever regret doing. I reckon the way to do it is take your time outbound see a few of the sights, have a beer in the bars on the Eyre highway. Do that easy in 48 hours with 2-3 drivers. Go hard on the way back with a big bag of goey and the win on constant loop on the Ipad. 40 hours. Boom.

Funny thing is it might not be that much more expensive to fly from Texas to Melbourne, if you decide to book late. I've looked, cheapest is about US$2000 (interestingly it is $1875 if I leave in 2 days, so I hope the price doesn't go up if I leave it until I knew for sure if we made it). Our Californian friend could do it for $1700.

Tickets are another story ... might be forced into getting a corporate package.

As the time gets closer, I will have to ask the partner to vacate the house and set up "Seppo's Bigfooty Motel".

A small 2 + 1/2 bedroom house could cater for at least 6-7 of the travelling purple army! :eek::thumbsu::footy:

I don't mind sharing a room with her Seppo.......I know - what a guy.

I'd be interested in this by the way... If we get there I'll definitely be interested sharing driving and costs (I only have 2 seats in my car...)

Yes this idea intrigues me. I could justify a week off and a short drive to Melbourne. A lot more than I can justify 1500 in plane tickets.

The Nullarbor is "the" Australian road trip and something you will never, ever regret doing. I reckon the way to do it is take your time outbound see a few of the sights, have a beer in the bars on the Eyre highway. Do that easy in 48 hours with 2-3 drivers. Go hard on the way back with a big bag of goey and the win on constant loop on the Ipad. 40 hours. Boom.
I've done it about 6 times there and back and my record is 37 hours with 2 drivers and the bag of goey ;) Those days are long gone for me though. Think I like the 3 day run now a days :)

You still have to stay somewhere when you get there. What would everyones plans be if they drove there and had to find a place to stay?

I think Seppo would have to put up his place for the weekend :p

Everyone has a mate somewhere right? One of the guys I went to school with lives in Melbs, I would convince him that letting me and the mrs to stay at his place would be the right thing to do haha.

So this is sounding like one bad ass road trip... Like I said, I only have a 2 door ute so my car is a little un-flexible :(

I was thinking that whoever provided the car would have three passengers all taking turns driving and that the car owner wouldn't pay for fuel it would just be divided by the three passengers.

I'm assuming everyone here would have the grand final upgrade already? If so you would just have to make sure that the travelling party booked tickets all at the same time to make sure you sit together and not just somewhere randomly.

Apart from that, an esky full of ice and red bull is all you'd really need...

I think Seppo would have to put up his place for the weekend :p

Everyone has a mate somewhere right? One of the guys I went to school with lives in Melbs, I would convince him that letting me and the mrs to stay at his place would be the right thing to do haha.

I wouldn't trust my wife to do a fair share of driving so she wouldn't be coming. In my ideal scenario there are no freeloaders on a Freo GF road trip and seeing as most sedans do not have kitchens...

Strategy Gunning the Nullabor