Gutnick loses millions on the pokies

• Thread starter Thread starter Mudholian

Mudholian

Well, seems that most of Joe's last payments are going to be pissed against the wall writing off a very ill-timed investment in some pokie little gaming venture by the demons. Shame that. Now I am not going to go on about this since most clubs - including mine - have big challenges on the income side of things. I consider it a bloody disgrace that wealthy publicans can take millions a year from gambling addiction yet geovernments are making it damn hard for clubs to prey on these losers to the same extent.
Mud

Exactly, Muddy
When pokies were introduced, as well as income for the government, they were supposed to benefit sporting clubs and other non-profit and charity organisations.
Instead, it's become the domain of big business and wealthy investors.
Theres one govt. minister who's made over 220 grand p.a. from his share of a pokie venue.
Ridiculous.

Serves him right i hate thucken greed!!!

------------------
There is nothing in life greater,than to be a supporter or our beloved collingwood football club,we must remain united,we must stand tall,we must be prepared to fight for our glorious black and white,for we are THE ENVY OF ALL NATIONS.

Originally posted by Rooboy 96:
She's not with me... Ugly **** Caroline must be hard at it creating another story for tomorrow...

The Roos administration creates the "story'.

She only reports what these greedy people get up to and what shit occurs when it fails!!!

Get back in your pouch Rootard!!!

MB

So where is the Ugly **** anyway??? a damn good story... by her standards... footy club loses 1 million dollars... and she writes zip... a little pre-occupied at the moment I think...

I believe she`s at Arden sreet watching all the players line up for their daily rations!!

Get the Age tomorrow and read about it!!

Back in your pouch ROOTARD.

MB

I think MFC should be compensated for this by the State Govt. Anyway, how is a restriction on pokies going to stop a problem gambler. They will still play them.

Its amazing that Melbourne picked Fawkner and the Roos picked Broadmeadows for their gambling ventures...only about 2km from each other?

Both ended in $1 million disasters!!

Why don`t they stick to Football!

MB

Originally posted by dees01:
I think MFC should be compensated for this by the State Govt.

Yeah right.
biggrin.gif

I think MFC should be compensated for this by the State Govt. Anyway, how is a restriction on pokies going to stop a problem gambler. They will still play them.
WHAT A JOKE, OK YOU CALLED IT,SO TELL US ALL WHY IN THE HELL SHOULD THE MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB BE COMPENSATED..WELL WE ARE WAITING........this will be a ripper.

------------------
There is nothing in life greater,than to be a supporter or our beloved collingwood football club,we must remain united,we must stand tall,we must be prepared to fight for our glorious black and white,for we are THE ENVY OF ALL NATIONS.

I think MFC should be compensated for this by the State Govt.

Yeah, right.
rolleyes.gif

If so, I hope that means that the Fitzroy FC also get compensation for their bid to install poker machines at the "Rising Sun" Hotel a month or two ago, which was also scuttled by the Gvt's stance.

Some how I doubt this is even a realistic prospect.
rolleyes.gif

Obviously the MFC wants to bring back jeff kennet???

Where are you Jeff.........at the Crown??

THE ICON

what do you care anyway??? by the looks of it, it seems as though you all hate Melbourne so why do you care what our president has done or what our bank account is like???
god dont you have some strip bar to be at? what time is your shift at McDonalds start again?
GET A LIFE PEOPLE!

------------------
Footy. It was just a sport.
But now it's also a business.
However, according to the fans it's a religion,
where the people rule!

The Mighty Melbourne Demons- My passion, My obsession!

OK Joffa, the reason I believe Melb should get compensation is quite simple. The reason the venue will not proceed is becasue of the restriction on pokies brought in by the State Govt. If these restrictions were not introduced then the venue would get the go ahead.

the state government didn't go far enough! pokies are a waste of time and money fpr all concerned. they are purely there so the gaming operator can fleece people of cash in the name of 'entertainment'!
Niow if i crawl in your bathroom window because you leave it unlocked and walk out with your video that's quite rightly called theft. Sure, leaving your windows unlocked in this day and age is foolish, but no one would suggest that what had happened to you was wrong and that no one should be able to help themselves to what is yours.
Playing the pokies is foolish, because the machines are designed with the knowledge that they will pay out substantially less than what is inserted in them.
They are marketed to appeal to people's desire for a quick return on an investment! If i walk into a bar that advertises the availability of easy money there is no guarantee that I will get easy money, but pokie pubs will sell themselves as exactly that - a place to get easy money!
And there's an Evil Bastard called Bruce Mathieson who makes $17 000 an hour (that's right, an hour!) by telling these lies to people.
And pokies have single handedly destroyed one of the great things about Melbourne (and anywhere else for that matter), its pub culture.
This great centre of Australian culture is a rare thing to find these days, there's only two pubs between the city and bell street that approach anything like the great pubs that spawned the mythology that this nation is built on.
In its stead we get a plastic imitation of a culture, lies, avarice, and any sense of community that's left gets the golden opportunity to buy back what was already its to begin with.
Anyone whose had to buy their goods back from a pawnbroker after they've been stolen and pawned knows how infuriating this is. Yet this is what they've done to our culture and community for the last twenty years and people sit around scratching their bums and putting up with it.

Sheep!

Phil

------------------
Remonstrating with the goal umpire

Congratulatoins to our state government they did not go far enough the bloody things should be banned.I have no sympathy for anyone who gets there hands burnt through pure greed.And i dont think it's a good idea for the tax payer to compensate the melbourne football club infact i think the idea stinks of liberalism.
Have you rang the melbourne football club with a donation offer suerly that would be more constructive than to get on here and bag our state government.I spose this time next year you can blame PM mr beasley.

------------------

OK Joffa, the reason I believe Melb should get compensation is quite simple. The reason the venue will not proceed is becasue of the restriction on pokies brought in by the State Govt. If these restrictions were not introduced then the venue would get the go ahead.

It's very rare that any entity would receive compenstation resulting from disadvantages relating to Gvt. legislation. It's not something that could even be considered in this case. I doubt there is even one scrap of legal grounding that MFC could form a case on here. It's not like as if the Gvt. is being neglegent in its decision.

This isn't just an AFL directive we are talking about here. The state Gvt. have made this decision, in their wisdom, for the betterment of the public as a whole. In any such events, it's likely that there will 'losers' - it's something they just have to take on the chin.

Did liquor stores get compensation when the legal BAC limit (in Victoria) was set at .05? Did tobacco companies receive compenstation when the legal age to supply cigarettes to a person went up from 16 to 18? Did petrol companies receive compensation when high-powered cars were taken off the roads, and speed limits reduced? I don't think so.

As unfortunate as the circumstances may be for the 'losers' involved, it is just something they will have to cop on the chin.