Like an old man still loving his ex wife who's gone an dumped him and his kids for a blond surfer half his age.Good on SJ. Still luv GAJ![]()

Chappie left because of lack of opportunity and not just about money. Gees. How many times does this have to stated before it finally drills into the Chappie haters brainsrubbish
it was an example of a player showing loyalty and knocking back at least 1.6 mil
there is no way his body will last 4 years
so he did knock back a huge amount of money
no he is honest with himself, and his primary driver is not coin
chappie on the other hand, was sooking that the team he loves were not paying him enough
Look who you're replying tooChappie left because of lack of opportunity and not just about money. Gees. How many times does this have to stated before it finally drills into the Chappie haters brains
Yep SJ is a legend. Oh the irony that so many over the years have wanted him booted from the club whilst kissing Ablett and Chappies feet. Yet SJ is the one who stayed.sj was offered a mother of all deals last month, 4 years at 850k by gws
For a bloke on 700k on a 2 year contract shows real loyalty and sacrifice
And for all the bananas on this board that claim judas couldn't say no this is just another example of true geelong spirit
Well done sj
Better than judas
Not at all.Like an old man still loving his ex wife who's gone an dumped him and his kids for a blond surfer half his age.
yep I can too and still find myself defending him against Hawthorn nobs on the bay. but still it does seem like an old man reminiscing over the wife who has rejected him for a better offerNot at all.
Time heals all wounds and I can quite easily watch GAJ play and I respect and will never forget what he achieved here.
I'm just not bitter about any player leaving the club, it gives me a good excuse to watch those teams play.yep I can too and still find myself defending him against Hawthorn nobs on the bay. but still it does seem like an old man reminiscing over the wife who has rejected him for a better offer
I'm just not bitter about any player leaving the club, it gives me a good excuse to watch those teams play.
Nowhere near Colbert for mine as treacherous his actions were, he still didn't walk out on the club which had bestowed him the captaincy.me either but Christensen's departure has been the most annoying one of the lot.
Beats the Colbert exit by a mile and I suspect his slow and steady rise into an elite midfielder of the competition is only going to leave many Cat supporters feeling rather po'd for many years to come.
Ironically I'm not bothered by Colbert walking out. I kind of feel he had some justifiable reasons. The club was a shambolic boys club back then.Nowhere near Colbert for mine as treacherous his actions were, he still didn't walk out on the club which had bestowed him the captaincy.
Nowhere near Colbert for mine as treacherous his actions were, he still didn't walk out on the club which had bestowed him the captaincy.
I reckon SJ knocked back the offer because he might not have 4 years left in him.

I don't like rehashing the Ablett story, but since the OP brought it up. You think Stevie J would have turned down an offer as big as Ablett got at the same age? I highly doubt it. And if those numbers posted about the GWS offer are accurate you can't even compare the two.
i dont
harry t got overs to head home and didnt
not all players are the same
this is the point that some people on here do not get
ablett approached GoldCoast. not the other way around.Again, though, Ablett's contract was on another, unprecedented level.
I don't like rehashing the Ablett story, but since the OP brought it up. You think Stevie J would have turned down an offer as big as Ablett got at the same age? I highly doubt it. And if those numbers posted about the GWS offer are accurate you can't even compare the two.
yes you can compare the two because Ablett was also offered a monster deal at Geelong. Much more than what Sj is paid at Geelong. Sj also doesnt have a 4 year deal with the cats as Gws offered. Ablett was offered the same length by the cats as the Gold Coast deal. in that way Sj rejected an even bigger offer than Ablett.I don't like rehashing the Ablett story, but since the OP brought it up. You think Stevie J would have turned down an offer as big as Ablett got at the same age? I highly doubt it. And if those numbers posted about the GWS offer are accurate you can't even compare the two.
utterly nailed it.One of the biggest differences between ablett and all the other players who've left is that he wasn't OFFERED anything by the GC, he wasn't even on their radar of players they believed they could realistically get.
No, little gazza ACTIVELY PURSUED a big pay day ( for several reasons one of which he genuinely thought Geelong had deliberately low balled him and were taking advantage of him. lmao ) just weeks after becoming a dual Geelong Premiership champion.
I knew that gaj was in danger of leaving because as far back as mid 2008 he had been whinging loudly, via Pickers, that he was being paid 'unders' by Geelong and wanted to renegotiate his contract ASAP. How he seriously expected Geelong to do that when there were other All Australian teammates that also needed to be paid their fair share stretching Geelong's salary cap to bursting point, I have not the slightest clue.
Yet it was clear he still harboured resentment against Geelong for not getting his due worth. *smh* However he was ecstatic when he signed his last 5 year contract with Geelong, in fact I recall that some even thought he was being paid well 'overs' at the time he signed the extension back in 2005.
That's what I find abhorrent and in my eyes is totally unforgivable but I'm well aware that I'm wired a little bit different from other footy/Geelong supporters who expect less from so-called 'greats' (who happen to be extremely well paid already, moreover gaj had links to and family history at the club. Geelong wasn't just some random club who had drafted him out of nowhere) just 'cos they refuse to acknowledge that they could ever be guilty of scumbag behaviour.
I'd likened my attitude towards ablett to handing out harsher punishments for misdemeanors for coppers because of their profession and them being responsible for upholding the law (eg. if they're found to have been drink driving the penalties should be double what an ordinary citizen should get and possibly their police career ended) rather than what actually happens which is they use their job connections to get lighter sentences or get off scott free.
Or another analogy would be when men/women put up with more crap from an attractive partner, punching above their weight in other words, than an ugly one. Anyway you get the gist. lol
Put simply I just higher expectations from people who have been blessed and received a lot more than your run-of-the-mill players.
Supporters have no qualms on putting guilt trips on supporters who have nowhere near the connection (nor the finances for memberships etc..) to the club that the abletts have, yet on the same breath they come up with every excuse under the sun for a millionaire that left to earn just a couple of million or 2 extra some place lese. I don't get that and I never will.
It's now clear Geelong's intentions during trade week was to improve our first round selection. Geelong obviously asked GWS what it would take to get one of there higher picks and there response was Steve Johnson. It was ended pretty much there. In the end we got a perfect result in that we didn't have to trade a player out to get 4 picks higher. Now we just gotta get the pick right.
So are you saying it was ... SJ for Pick 4??.... Mmm.. chuck in Pick 23.... Mmm... In a heart beat.... YEP... DONE DEAL!!!
30 year old with one year of quality footy left.... We were stupid not to pounce... IMO.
Oh to have Pick 4 and 23 ... In hand for the draft...
So a Laverde(4) and a Blakely(23) for SJ... ???... Or a Pickett(4) and a Lamb(23) for SJ....???
Now.... That is a GREAT way to go on a REBUILD....
they were offering melb pick 7 for howeWe don't want to rebuild.... the terminology they use now is REGENERATE. I don't know if we would have got more than pick 7 (think thats there other pick) for him. I am more than happy to still have SJ and pick 10. Let Wells do his magic, perhaps they felt the player they wanted was going to still be there at 10. Time will tell