Gym Junkies...

• Thread starter Thread starter sabre_ac

Originally posted by M29

Colstrum is glorified protien powder.

I took Protein for a while. Like every supplement I made a few observations. Protein got me cut but with colstrum I felt it gave you more local endurance than any other substance I took.

The bad thing about creatine is that it makes your poo look funny.

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Thanx M29 for the advice..
I think 80 dollars is way out of my price range and I hate to admit it but I eat just as much junk food.
One thing I have noticed is that I am eating heaps more than I used to

Like I said, you don't have to buy them. Tuna, eggs are all good sources of protien. Carb intake is essential, rice pastas etc.

Try cutting back on the fast foods bit by bit. I aim not to eat any **** or hit the **** for at least once every 2 months. Or during summer, I rarely drink anyway.

Originally posted by Rohan_
The bad thing about creatine is that it makes your poo look funny.

Yeah did happen made p*ss smell like off cabbage as well for about 2 weeks. After a while it wasn't as bad. But I was happy with the results from it.

I aim to go about 4-5 times a week, and sometimes it ends up being more. Recently, I've been up to lifting my body weight on the bench press, which isn't bad for someone of my size (considering it's more than a lot of people can do, even just by weight for bigger people). This year I've also focused more on stability and cardio than I have in previous years. I also walk a lot (at least and hour each day, sometimes more).

I generally perfer to go at night, usually from around 9:00pm onwards. On weekends, it has to be earlier as most gyms close earlier on these days. I generally like to go for and hour to and hour and a half, although, occasionally it may be more or less depending on what's happening.

I used to take different types of supplements, although, due to various reasons (cost, diet, etc.), I have stopped taking them this year.

By far the best protein supplement is Aussie Bodies 'Perfect Protein'. No carbohydrates, and almost all of it is useful protein. You get sick of having it every day though, and it is quite expensive if you are doing so.

I tried creatine for a while, but likewise, just got sick of using it constantly. Similarly, it wasn't a particular requirement of my training/performance style. I did find the 'Perfect Protein' to be very good in terms of what it offered though. I would recommend this product to anyone (you kind of need to read, or ask about these things before going out and spending money on them, otherwise you risk wasting $'s and also doing your body harm).

Now, I basically stick to Swisse Men's Ultivite as the only 'major' supplement I take (probably the best multi-vitamin on the market - although, it's quite expensive, once again).

If you have a good diet, there is no 'real' need to go big on the supplements at any rate. After a while, you can work out your own requirements for protein and carbohydrate, and work it into your diet accordingly by choosing the right foods and

Try to steer clear of anti-biotics as well. You can get away with a few beers every week, as long as you don't let it go a few days before you hit the gym again. After a big night out, I often go to the gym for a while later on the next day - I've even found these sessions to be quite easy to get into.

I've been going to the gym for about 6 or 7 or 8 months.

I go to the gym on average about 4 times a week. I am wierd though because sometimes I have weeks where I go everyday and then weeks where I don't go at all.

Originally posted by M29
Like I said, you don't have to buy them. Tuna, eggs are all good sources of protien. Carb intake is essential, rice pastas etc.

I've cut right back on the carbs and find that is working pretty well.

Ive taken a couple years off footy, so these days I hit a boxing gym everyday, but do very little weights.

I have one of those bodies where I put on muscle really quickly - Ive always had a strong body with strong legs, and if I touch a weight I just put on mass like its going out of fashion.

Depending on work, I will run 3-4k in the morning and train in the arvo, if not, I will run 2 or so before a session to work up a bit of a sweat.

In a boxing sense, I dont want much muscle, so as a weights work out, I try not to use heavy weights, if at all. I shadow box with 1 or 1.5 kg weights for 4-5 rounds, do heaps of push ups, burpees, chin ups etc and sometimes I use dumb bells or similar.

Cutting carbs definitly takes fat off, and Ive found gives a more toned, not too muscley a body, which I think is better.

Ive never used creatine, however many mates of mine do - but two things about that stuff. One, they carry around bottles of water all friggen day (they say they have to drink 4-5 litres a day when on it), and two, every 10 minutes they are taking a leak!

What a pain in the ar$e!

Originally posted by bunsen burner
I laugh at all the people who so feel insecure about themselves that they have to take roids to make them feel good about themselves. Or the guys who are so supericial they go to the gym, big themselves up, and then take their shirt of at the drop of a hat. Completely transparent and try-hard.

Most people go to the gym, I reckon, in order to improve, or maintain their 'look' somehow. Whether it be a chick trying tone up, or a guy trying to bulk up, there is very little difference, IMO. It might not be the only motivation for going to the gym (ie: the person may also be going for a medical/fitness reason, or for a sporting requirement), but it is certainly one of the major reasons that people go.

I don't necessarily think it's a bad thing either. I've had mates who I've got into going to the gym, who have been fairly low on self-esteem before-hand, but due to improving their physique and co-ordination, are now more outgoing, or confident about themselves. Likewise, for anyone, guy or girl, if they feel that by going to the gym they are improving their 'look', then it's all for the better, I say.

The only time when it is an issue, is when people somehow think they are 'better' than everyone else because they have developed a good physique from going to the gym.

Originally posted by Smokin
Ive taken a couple years off footy, so these days I hit a boxing gym.... but do very little weights.

likewise...well footy I have hung the boots up but put in a cameo with the ressies a couple of times a season but I get down to City Boxing Club twice a week to keep in some sort of shape resembling a kind of fit person. $3 a session for an unreal workout with the dance music crankin!

I have free gym membership thru work to a really good normal "weights" gym but I hardly ever go there...too god damn pretentious! I will only go there to work on my leg muscles which have problems with since having a knee recon.
Weights for me just consists the 7.5kg bar pumping out high reps at speed for 4 sets involving in about 8 different possies (lift/ press/ raise etc)...or doing the same as Smokin with the hand weights.
the boxing club has both guys and girls that compete and the rest of us who are down for our own reasons who vary from in age 12 to 45 and in a wide degree of fitness and ability.
there is no pretention or showboating and everyone is friendly.

The biggest thing i have taken from there is that you just dont know how tough someone is just by looking at them. I know a 48kg Sri Lankan dude from down there that I would back to win against any 6'6" 110kg muscle head.

Walking / running my dog makes up the rest of fitness regime.

All you gym-junkie guys, doing all the training, taking all the supplements, why exactly? What sports do you play, or jobs do you do? Or is it more cosmetic?

I use to go to the gym every now and then over the years but would eventually stop going after a couple of months. Got a weight set of my own and do it occasionally when I haven't been working much since I often do a lot of lifting at work and don't feel like doing anymore when I get home!

I've been cycling a bit lately and found that to be helpful for your cardio and as an all over workout, cycling up steep hills can take a bit out of you! Since I've been doing that, not eating as much junk and not drinking too often, I've seen my beer belly disappear. :(

Originally posted by Nic
All you gym-junkie guys, doing all the training, taking all the supplements, why exactly?

It aids the process Nic. Most people who take supplements have tried weights without them and probably have been annoyed by the slow process.

Most sportsman, at any level, take them. It is dependent on the person but I took them with training for cosmetic purposes and the general feeling it gives you. IMO the feelings you can get from weights, circuits and running can compare to other things...

I've always thought "runners high" is a better feeling than sex. Thus training can get addictive

Originally posted by Rohan_

I've always thought "runners high" is a better feeling than sex. Thus training can get addictive

A lot of that's to do with endorphins, the chemicals released while exercising which give you a natural high. I guess it's the body's way of trying to get us off our arses ... 'C'mon I'll give you some endorphins if you do!'

No...City Boxing Club is actually in South Perth near the council chambers. Geoff Peterson runs it...it is alot less glitzy than Fazio's.
Just drop your $3 in the plate at the front and away you go!

I had a free week pass to Fazio's which was good but it is too expensive to go there as a paying member.

I trained there about three years ago - i cant remember that srilankan dudes name but he had heaps of tats on his arms and drove a little wrx ??

how long ago were you there ??

Originally posted by Au_Blue#24
I trained there about three years ago - i cant remember that srilankan dudes name but he had heaps of tats on his arms and drove a little wrx ??

how long ago were you there ??

been going there since September 2000...

Romesh Fernandez...and yes that sounds like him with the tatts. if he did have a wrx, he doesnt now. He had a shocker by his standards at the Commonwealth games...said he couldn't shake a virus he picked up, was too nervous and lost his cool.

Adam Forsyth is the next one from down there that will represent Oz in Athens. 85kg's and a very hard hitter.

Yeh thats he name - pretty handy little boxer. I trained there up to the time jeff went to sydney for the olympics. I had a few mates there as well. Do you remember an ugly looking surfy dude who always wore a beany ?

your name is not tim is it ??

Well there you go then...good on him!

I did a fair bit of partner work with Marty because he was a southpaw and had about three inches on me in height and reach. It's good to practice coming up against someone who doesnt suit you comfortably.

Originally posted by Stocka
By far the best protein supplement is Aussie Bodies 'Perfect Protein'. No carbohydrates, and almost all of it is useful protein. You get sick of having it every day though, and it is quite expensive if you are doing so.
For it's price it is. Got a 5kg bucket for $90, to bad it tastes awful. But, Anything by AST ****s on aussie bodies products. GNC make good stuff. Horleys is top range, therefore priced way to high. EAS's stuff is ok. Redbacks is also good, it's real cheap.

Now, I basically stick to Swisse Men's Ultivite as the only 'major' supplement I take (probably the best multi-vitamin on the market - although, it's quite expensive, once again).
Not probably, it is the best. ;)

yeh I used to spar with martin in my garage, i'm also about 3 inches shorter so he was a bit difficult to negate.

I used to train at joe fazio's in balga late 80's ealry 90's.
Pretty good gym but you had every criminal element in perth and some heavy hitters frequenting this place.

I saw some very strange incidents going there.

Its funny though, as soon as you walk thru a boxing gym door, you leave any reputation, racial & social views behind.