Half-Back Line

Clear out space for Chip to lead into and he beats his man on the lead every time, so that option is always there, for some reason we go away from that even though it's working.
We've also added mids that are good overhead mark's in Tyson, Cross and Vince so there is more margin in kicks.

Even with those above improvements to our team the defenders still can't hit targets coming out

I'm interested to know where people see Howe playing long term - medium defender or high-flying forward?

Personally I think he is more suited to the forward line. His intercept marking and spoiling has been great this year, but defensively he's not the most diligent. More importantly I think our forward half needs more X-factor - in its current set up at least, with Frawley and Dawes playing quite similar roles really. I think Howe could be better suited (at times, if not always) providing something different up there as a change-up.

I'm interested to know where people see Howe playing long term - medium defender or high-flying forward?

Personally I think he is more suited to the forward line. His intercept marking and spoiling has been great this year, but defensively he's not the most diligent. More importantly I think our forward half needs more X-factor - in its current set up at least, with Frawley and Dawes playing quite similar roles really. I think Howe could be better suited (at times, if not always) providing something different up there as a change-up.

I think he is doing a really important role down back but he isnt much of a 'defender' so to speak but he does make the long ball near useless
Your right about his X factor but he isnt smart enough to play forward, I like his hangers down there but he almost never took any simple marks on the lead therefore he wasnt having enough of a scoreboard impact

He will probably end up going forward again but he needs to learn from Robbo who really worked pretty well with neita in when to fly and when to lead to the pocket to open space for him ( Hogan/Howe )

Was he being played forward earlier this year when he was going missing for long periods? I can't remember. I worry about his ability to find the ball down there. As nickgrant69 said, part of it is due to what I think is a lack of subtle football smarts, which can be coached.

Also, from memory his goalkicking isn't great, but I guess again that can be coached.

Right now I am happy with the role he's doing down back.

Remember AGES ago when I was smashed by the majority of this board for backing Nev?

I'm right there with ya Dez! ;) :thumbsu:

Yes because you said he could be better than Cyril Rioli, or on par with him. How is Strauss going in the ruck? Or rivers in the midfield because he moves like Dal Santo?

I am glad when players like Jetta, prove us wrong. Just like N.Jones did.

I love watching him in defence, and he makes for a really difficult match-up on forwards even if he isn't too diligent defensively, purely because of his marking. But I do agree he's probably more dangerous up forward. Don't think he can go back there yet though, it might have to wait until Hogan comes back and he's less of a focal point.

Yeh Howe needs to be the third tall, so that he is manned by the 3rd tall defender which is usually someone less physically powerful. I think at the start of the year he was on the oppositions best defender, and he just got smashed. Once we have Hogan and Dawes in tandem, I think Howe should be tried up forward again.

Howe doesnt naturally draw the footy at him either, He just comes in and steals it off someone else

Yes because you said he could be better than Cyril Rioli, or on par with him. How is Strauss going in the ruck? Or rivers in the midfield because he moves like Dal Santo?

I am glad when players like Jetta, prove us wrong. Just like N.Jones did.
I never said he'd be better that Rioli you flog. I said he could be our rioli. Which I still believe he can be, however - he's killing it down back so why bother? If you're going to make a smart arse comment - make sure you get it right. I said Strauss has enough height to fill in for Rucks Duties as a worst case scenario (not our 1st or even 2nd ruck) - once again - get it right if you're gonna be a smart arse.

Rivers - well he did/does move similar to Dal Santo, and has played through the midfield in the past - so again - you're just proving yourself to be a complete flog right now.

I never said he'd be better that Rioli you flog. I said he could be our rioli. Which I still believe he can be, however - he's killing it down back so why bother? If you're going to make a smart arse comment - make sure you get it right. I said Strauss has enough height to fill in for Rucks Duties as a worst case scenario (not our 1st or even 2nd ruck) - once again - get it right if you're gonna be a smart arse.

Rivers - well he did/does move similar to Dal Santo, and has played through the midfield in the past - so again - you're just proving yourself to be a complete flog right now.

Rivers moves nothing like dal santo apart from they both have 2 legs for running
Shit Jeremy Howe would be a better ruck than strauss
Jetta doesnt really have anything in common with Rioli

Rivers moves nothing like dal santo apart from they both have 2 legs for running
Shit Jeremy Howe would be a better ruck than strauss
Jetta doesnt really have anything in common with Rioli
Blah - I disagree - it's clear yall disagree with me - and I don't give a flying F.

You clearly have never paid attention to how rivers just shimmies like Dal in traffic and somehow was able to find time and space when he clearly shouldn't have.

I said Strauss in WORST CASE SCENARIO - Is that too much for simple brains to comprehend? In case it is, I'll elaborate. Worst Case scenario means that if there is no-one else - then you use the Worst case scenario. My comment relating to Strauss was simply to do with height and leap AROUND THE GROUND. I actually think we should delist him.

Jetta is small, quick, good hand skills, and a good kick within 30m. He plays his role, and does it well. He could be EASILY playing a rioli role up forward if he wasn't needed Down Back, However it seems JKH is going to slot into that role.

I'm with you mate, these blokes are idiots. Peter Dinklage would also make a good ruckman in WORST CASE SCENARIO. Little ankle biter.

I said Strauss in WORST CASE SCENARIO - Is that too much for simple brains to comprehend? In case it is, I'll elaborate. Worst Case scenario means that if there is no-one else - then you use the Worst case scenario. My comment relating to Strauss was simply to do with height and leap AROUND THE GROUND. I actually think we should delist him.

Ill just leave you to think about that one

haha sticks and stones mate..... Jetta never had great pace, freakish abilities like Rioli (but im loving his work down back) strauss is 185cm mate, he isn't a 2nd, 3rd of 4th back up, he isn't a ruckman at all, and i think you are the only person on the planet that thinks Rivers/Dal Santo, move the same. Even if they do, that doesn't translate to rivers being a mid. LOL.

And you are the only person thinking i'm a flog, the rest of us on planet Earth right now think your claims above are laughable.