Hall a bulldog

barry was a bulldogs supporter as a kid, so there is one redeeming quality. Also, he is a cheerful sort of thug that doesnt go out of his way to hurt people unless they are holding illegally and that sort of thing.

Hey, Ted Whitten used to whack a few blokes, I hear.

barry was a bulldogs supporter as a kid, so there is one redeeming quality. Also, he is a cheerful sort of thug that doesnt go out of his way to hurt people unless they are holding illegally and that sort of thing.

He was considered by many to be the best in his time, though he was never the fairest, thus no brownlow

Agreed. Barry Hall isnt the type of person who goes out in public and gets into bar brawls. From what ive heard off the field he is a very nice person. The only violence which comes from Barry Hall is on the footy field and for the most part he doesnt cross the line between agressive and violent (with afew minor exception).

I think we should try and look at maybe getting Ben Mckinley from West Coast if he hasn't signed. He is a good pack mark and could be worth it as he is only 21 yrs old.

Also a Melbourne boy however he is a mad essendon supporter.

I know he was out of contract but dont know whether he has signed.

I think we should try and look at maybe getting Ben Mckinley from West Coast if he hasn't signed. He is a good pack mark and could be worth it as he is only 21 yrs old.

Adam Cooney is taller then Mckinley.

At 184cm, I dont think he is the big forward we are after.
We have way too many small-medium forwards.

is Hall worth it?

although next year would be our biggest push for a premiership for a while and we do need a key forward maybe we would be better of long term to play the likes of Jarryd Grant and Bouman.

Sydney with all their aging stars will be entering the rebuilding phase and will no doubt want at least a pick in the deal for hall. Would it be worth giving up a pick in the last draft before the GC enters the draft?

Just wondering what people thought about that and;

go doggies '09 got a good feeling about next year:)

If I had the choice between Hall and Thompson - I'd take Hall every time.

I hope we chase him hard, he's the only good key forward I reckon is gettable and would be willing to come to us.

I like big Bazza and don't want to see him go, but he'd be great for the Dogs. Don't be fooled by his small goal tally in 2008, he missed 9 games which means he kicked 40+ in 15 matches. Not bad!

Our delivery to him has been poor over the last 2 seasons and I'd imagine the WB mids would hit him on the chest more often then our mids have. We also have O'Keefe, O'Loughlin and Goodes competing for the ball up forward and they're all tall(ish) players, but at the Bulldogs I believe Hall would find more space to work in.

Forget his bad temper and age for a moment, because he'd almost certainly push you much closer to a flag in 2009.

Re: is Hall worth it?

Boumann and Grant are not young guns mate, they've done nothing

We don't know if they aren't guns, they might be, certainly a top 4 pick in Grant should be considered a potential gun. I'm sure the pessimists out there would say he's a potential dud, but I'd like to see them play for the dogs and see if they can handle it at a young age, because if they can we are onto a winner.

Grant was a top 5 pick.

Got this 1st hand from a source within the dogs, Hall to Bulldogs in exchange for Farren Ray and your 2nd pick.

If its true, I wish him luck, our loss. Hopefully you'll have have a few blokes who can kick the ball to him properly.

Massive news this if true. Also seems a pretty reasonable deal as well. Would have thought that Ray would head back home to WA though.

Farren Ray Pick 4
Tim Walsh anyone!?

In fairness though, out of Cooney, Higgins, Ray, Griffen, Everitt, Williams and Grant (our first round picks over the past 4 years) only Ray looks to have been a clear waste, and even then he's probably got some improvement left in him. Williams has the talent, but not the body - yet (as I cross my fingers) and Grant has been injured all year but has apparently put a bit of bulk on.

I think our recruiting in the past 4 years has been better. Not sure why though. Clayton has been with us for ten years... do we have more resources in terms of scouts now?

I'd take it. IIRC he averaged 14 disposals a game 8 marks and averaged 3 goals a game. He'd be getting better service (or as good atleast) and it will cost you a pick in the 30's and Farren Ray who isnt in your starting 22. Barry has about 3 years left IMO, and that's perfect for you guys because it is just about smack bang in the middle of your premiership challenge.

Get him.

Hall a bulldog