smithy

Sturt, Carlton, Liverpool
Now that the AFL finally recognise the fact that Barrie Robran did in fact play football and played it well, hence his elevation to Legend status, why don't his stats count then?
I mean,, if he didn't play he couldn't of been nominated for this then could he? I thought this was an AUSTRALIAN COMP.
So if the AFL is fair dinkum,,, Hudson would therefore be the greatest goal kicker of all time as he kicked a total of 1700+ for Hawthorn and his Tassie club,, plus dare I say it,, Ken Farmer who should already be a legend of the game would be ahead of Lockett..
If Farmer gets legend status, are they saying his feats are legendary but he didn't really kick any goals?
The sooner the SANFL get their own Hall of Fame the better as the people that deserve it and the Real LEGENDS can get recognition.
All the best
Smithy

The reason the SANFL do not have a Hall of Fame is because when the Australian Football Hall of Fame was set up, it was on the understanding that the selections would be made from records in the four major leagues in the country. (ie. VFL, SANFL, WAFL & AFL). The SANFL's folly is that they actually believed the Victorians when they were told that.

Now that they are starting to honour their word, narrow minded Victorian "footy fans" refuse to acknowledge that there has ever been a player worthy of this recognition who did not play in Melbourne.

The WAFL were given this same assurance but perhaps they are less trusting than we Sth Aussies. They set up their own Hall of Fame a year later.

Hudson kicked in the VFL and TFL about 1600 goals which is 1600 goals in senior Aussie rules competitions, this should be recognised. My question was......if Barrie Robran was such a good footballer, hence is selection as a legend of the game, why don't his stats count?
Smart remarks about counting under 9 goals is stupid and quite typical of most ( quote most not all ) Victorian supporters, especially of a supporter of a team that wouldn't of existed now unless they received the license fees from the interstate clubs.
Once again, can anyone give me a reasonable explanation as to why goals, games etc are limited to the VFL and not Australia wide as there are now 5 states involved in the comp.
For what its worth, I love the SANFL and support Carlton.
All the best
Smithy

The "Australian Football Hall of fame" is just that. AUSTRALIAN FOOTBALL. It recognises players from various states for their football prowess. Robran's stats are included. I got a book in the mail the other day, with Barrie Robran on the front and inside was a brief description of his career and his number of games, goal, 17 state games etc etc.

If you look up each of the 17 legends, you will find imformation on their personal contributions to the sport in the competitons in which they played.

I don't understand what you are asking for?

Dan25,, I was just wondering why all AFL records only hold VFL stats.
Seems a bit odd how they can recognise a contribution by someone but their stats are absolete from the AFL records so to speak.
Like the most goals kicked in AFL history is stated as Tony Lockett but in Senior Australian Football Hudson, Farmer from North Adelaide and I think Austinn Robertson in the WAFL have kicked more.

Originally posted by smithy
if the AFL is fair dinkum, Hudson would therefore be the greatest goal kicker of all time as he kicked a total of 1700+ for Hawthorn and his Tassie club, plus dare I say it, Ken Farmer who should already be a legend of the game would be ahead of Lockett.

Hudson was made a legend, based on the 750 goals he kicked in the VFL. His efforts in Tasmania were not what made him legendary. If you wanted to, you could find his career stats and count them. I'm sure, if you get an official publication, it will mention Hudson's stats in Tasmania.

Ken Farmer is in the hall of fame (not a legend, though). Iv'e got a publication at home which describes all of the 100, or so, Hall of Famers. When it gets to Ken Farmer, all of his 1400 goals are counted in the SANFL. That is an historical stats, and cannot be disputed.

As for Lockett - he holds the goal-kicking record for the VFL-AFL. It is one competiton, that has been running since 1897 (hence the centenary in 1996). Lockett officially holds the record of goals in the VFL-AFL competiton. All of the legends and Hall of famers have their own separate stats, for the various competiton in which they are played. Ken Farmer 1400 goals all count in the hall of fame. That's why he made it in there!

Originally posted by smithy
Dan25,, I was just wondering why all AFL records only hold VFL stats.
Seems a bit odd how they can recognise a contribution by someone but their stats are absolete from the AFL records so to speak.
Like the most goals kicked in AFL history is stated as Tony Lockett but in Senior Australian Football Hudson, Farmer from North Adelaide and I think Austinn Robertson in the WAFL have kicked more.

Look, let me explain it.

There have been 3 separate competitons : SANFL, WAFL and the VFL-AFL. The AFL and the VFL are the same competiton. the VFL evolved into the AFL. It is the same competiton. No new comp was started up. It is the continuation of the same comp.

The Hall of fame recognises contribution from ALL of these competitons (and rightly so).

Ken Farmer gets recognised in the Hall of Fame because he played in the SANFL. However, Ken Faremer's stats don't count in "AFL" records, because Ken Farmer didn't play one game in the VFL-AFL. Not one.

It would be like Lockett holding the goalkicking record for the SANFL when he didn't play a game there. The AFL is a competiton which began in 1897 (when it was called the VFL), and this comp has its own stats.

The stats in the VFL-AFL (eg Lockett's record) have nothing to do with the Hall of fame, which recognises, the contribution from ALL of the leagues.

Okay?

In 1989 there was a football competition called the VFL, and it had fourteen sides in it. Their names were Brisbane, Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Fitzroy, Footscray, Geelong, Hawthorn, Melbourne, North Melbourne, Richmond, St Kilda, Sydney and West Coast.

In 1990 there was a new football competition called the AFL, and it had fourteen sides in it. Their names were Brisbane, Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Fitzroy, Footscray, Geelong, Hawthorn, Melbourne, North Melbourne, Richmond, St Kilda, Sydney and West Coast.

And they all lived happily ever after (with one obvious exception).

No-one denies the history and culture of the SANFL and the WAFL, but they were, are, and will continue to be lesser competitions than the VFL/AFL. And as such, achievements in those competitions will be viewed in the same light.

You have explained it shedding a better light on the subject than I previously had............thanks
With the Jack Elliott comments I was starting to think that all this Hall of Fame thing was recognition about VFL stars.
Dan25 & DCFC

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
No-one denies the history and culture of the SANFL and the WAFL, but they were, are, and will continue to be lesser competitions than the VFL/AFL. And as such, achievements in those competitions will be viewed in the same light.

It hasn't really got much do with the SANFL or WAFL being of a lesser standard. Theoretically, they been of a "better" standard than the VFL/AFL. But that is not the point. They are seperate competitions to the AFL so their stats cannot be put together with the AFL stats. However, SANFL/WAFL stats should be recognised nonetheless.