Hall reported??

I don't give a toss what Libba or Romero or anyone else did in the past, that was in the past - this is now.

Thompson has to go. He went up to Hall while he was doing up his shoe and he pushed him over so Hall would blow his top. If the same thing had of happened on the street, Thompson would be in hospital right now.

Then, the gutless NM players couldn't resist having another go as Hall was trying to get off the ground.

A pathetic display and just showed where the NM players were at today.

If Hall goes, then the AFL is stuffed.

Apart from that, a great win.

I'm pretty sure at one stage today (last qtr I think) I heard an umpire say to the players "Break it up, I'm going to count 3, you've got till then to break it up!" (or words to that affect) and then started counting 1, 2, 3. WTF - that's the sort of thing I do when disciplining my toddlers :eek:

Hall doesn't get the treatment Thompson gave him today because he's a great footballer - even though he has been one - he gets it because of his history. Unfortunately for him, you don't just serve your time and everyone forgets about it. In the past he's been known to snap, often to the detriment of his team, and so players want to test him out.

Barry has no one to blame for the niggle he got today other than Barry.

Why? What did BBB do before the start of the game that caused St. Thommo to get into him? Or were they acting on "history"?

BTW, how gutless were those guys - 5 or 6 - who tried to give it to Baz?
Shinbner Spirit is just glorified gang bashing, isn't it?

The only ones defending Thompson tonight are on your board. It's one thing to hate losing, but another thing altogether to lose 3/4 of your brain in the process...

Also notice that if anyone from another club disagrees, your equally brave mods give em the flick. Sheesh!

Always respected North, but after all of that I have lost loads of respect for your supporters. And probably for your club.

Blind bias has been redefined!

We were sitting on the right of the North Melbourne cheer squad on the 3rd Level. Thompson was at Hall constantly in front of the North cheer squad. Bazza kept moving away from him, and bent over to tie his shoelace, and Thompson didn't push him in the back he kneed him! Barry got up and dragged him down and they started wrestling, then three or four North players rushed over and jumped on top of Barry - what we could see were Barry's arms stretched out to the side while the gutless ones laid into him. The only dogs player was either Hill or Stack who was trying to drag them off Hall, and then another couple of North players rang over and started on him as well along with Cooney, who didn't do a lot, the umpires stood around for a bit and finally they got the players off Barry with the help of one of our runners. He then tried to leave the ground with Thompson and co blocking him and still carrying it on.

Listening to MMM tonight on the way home, they believe BArry should have got a free kick, they believe that he is treated very differently from other full forwards such as Riewoldt, and that the umpires did not control the game, and what was BArry expected to do. The only commentator who didn't agree was Nafan Brown:rolleyes: who interesting enough mentioned the Saints Barker and Maxy Huxsdon (sp) as the worst defenders he ever came up against.

As I said the game has changed so much over the years , even what was barely acceptable in the past is now looked upon as DO NOT DO.
So to bring up what the Dogs have done in the past is like saying a hip and shoulder is OK because Ray Card nearly killed Keith Greig with it in the past.

The game changes , peoples ideas of what is acceptable changes. Thompson went too far but again I don't blame him or North. In my time in competitive sport I was a believer in pushing it to the limit , and let the umpire set the limit. Defenders used to be able to slap arms , put hand on the back and do what Thompson did. Things change.

The umpires today got caught out and it will get addressed thru the week. Its a shame we don't play North next round because I'd say Mooney would get 4 goals in the first quarter going by previous experience.

If we had of done today what North did i.e thrown in laughable cheap shots and go the man tactics whilst 10 goals down and playing disgracefully before half time, I would have been embarrassed, and furious.

Are the North fans here? No, instead we're getting "But you had Libba and Romero!!!!!!!!!!"

Just accept it, you were embarrassed today. Accept it, learn from it and move on.

Personally, my feelings are summed up by previous posters: Hall gave the umps plenty of chances to take charge, and by them not doing something about the niggle, he has taken matters into his own hands. If he goes for this, I will be very disillusioned.

Brad Scott is very proud of Thompson's efforts, here's a little of the article...

Scott 'really proud' of Thompson
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/94835/default.aspx
Ben Oliver | AFL Com | Sat 22 May, 2010

Scott said he was "really proud" of Thompson's efforts in the game.

"I thought he played the way a full-back should play," the coach said.

"He got a reaction out of the full-forward. I don't think Scotty did anything untoward at all."

Brad Scott is very proud of Thompson's efforts, here's a little of the article...

"He got a reaction out of the full-forward. I don't think Scotty did anything untoward at all."

"But this game, we had a real opportunity to win" - Ah....sure you did buddy.

Well, did he say about Brian Lake? Or should Brian learn how to bump when his opponent tie the shoelace?:thumbsdown:

Thompson is a shitty defender, would not have him for free. Geez NM are shit, we are nowhere near optimum form yet we pump them. Very shitty club considering 70% of the 30k crowd was Bulldogs supporters, they have a fair few more premierships than us yet they are struggling to survive. They are going nowhere with that list and it is only a matter of time before they are gone and good riddance to useless shit.

You get more ASD/CBF money than us and you sell games interstate. Don't start this shit about our financial position when yours isn't all that rosey if you have to do those things to survive.

According to Jon Ralph! I believe he is just sensationalising to sell papers. We should pull Des Gleeson out of retirement. Flick the review panel.

You get more ASD/CBF money than us and you sell games interstate. Don't start this shit about our financial position when yours isn't all that rosey if you have to do those things to survive.

Whats more funny is to see North Melbourne supporters whining on the North Melbourne forums about how hard Thompson was done by etc etc.

Hall has to live with the consequences of his actions, however Thompson is, and always will be a dog. The headlock was far less than what he deserved, and now North supporters are crying because of it?

Thompson provoked Hall, was at him the whole game, started the incident and you mob are whinging that Thompson was put in a headlock after 4 of your "brave" players had a go.. Its usually the thing reserved for school yard antics, but North Melbourne who couldnt match it with the football skills on the day , had to resort to something else.

If Hall goes for a week or two because of the "headlock" misconduct charge, Thompson better go for at least 2 with his headbutt. Im not normally one to get on the end of these stupid rants, but you North Melbourne supporters are by far the worse on the big footy forum for your whinging.

You got your asses kicked today, nothing to see here... move along

We received more ASD/CBF money than you because of the Etihad match payment deal, we had by far the worst deal (probably poor initial negotiation on our part) and that extra money was approved by the AFL commission to square up the ledger with those of other clubs.

Selling games interstate is bad? arent the Kangas hunting for games in Darwin, Tassie and selling a home game to Freo/WC at subi? pretty sure I remember JB saying that. Any supporter would choose to sacrifice a few games anyway rather than be in the situation North is in.

4 premierships to 1 and your clubs is a lot worse off than ours, says something about your club tbh.

If you want to pick on things we do to survive you could have said Pokies but thankfully Carlton is relieving us of those :thumbsu:.

What crap.
Hall ties his laces up and gets pushed over.
Umpires just twiddle their thumbs.
I know I would crack it too.
Great that Rocket stuck up for him and the boys.

Hmmm, was just red carded on the North board for attempting to breathe a little reality into their absurd threads. No swearing, nothing derogatory but communist rule slapped a big red one on me.

Go North! Show em how tuff you are!!!

Hmmm, was just red carded on the North board for attempting to breathe a little reality into their absurd threads. No swearing, nothing derogatory but communist rule slapped a big red one on me.

Go North! Show em how tuff you are!!!

It just goes to show the level of immaturity some people have, and sadly to say it seems to be with the majority on that Forum.

There's good and bad in all, but these twits make Collingwood supporters en mass look like angels... (no offense to Collingwood supporters ofcourse!)

We received more ASD/CBF money than you because of the Etihad match payment deal, we had by far the worst deal (probably poor initial negotiation on our part) and that extra money was approved by the AFL commission to square up the ledger with those of other clubs.

Selling games interstate is bad? arent the Kangas hunting for games in Darwin, Tassie and selling a home game to Freo/WC at subi? pretty sure I remember JB saying that. Any supporter would choose to sacrifice a few games anyway rather than be in the situation North is in.

4 premierships to 1 and your clubs is a lot worse off than ours, says something about your club tbh.

If you want to pick on things we do to survive you could have said Pokies but thankfully Carlton is relieving us of those :thumbsu:.[/quote}

You still receive it and more.

We don't sell any games interstate. We tried selling a game to the eagels but the AFL knocked it back.

Our club is not worse off than yours. Don't believe everything you read in the papers or bigfooty.

4 Premierships if you can not build off a good base from that you should just fold, no members , no Norf fans turn up to their own games, i went to the game today lucky for Norf it was a Dogs replacement game, 30K of that 20K were Dogs only 10K Norf:eek:

Hall reported??