Hall/Thompson

• Thread starter Thread starter Jimpson

Hall has never received any support from the umpires. Harmless push off the ball, StKilda v. Swans - free to Riewoldt, critical goal. Harmless push off the ball, 'Dogs v. StKilda - free to Riewoldt, GF birth. Harmless pushing off the ball, Essendon v. Richmond - free to Riewoldt, shot at goal. Usual inconsistency from umpires in the AFL.

Mate i dont doubt the young talent you have i love watching higgins play he is a gun , roughead also looks the goods , and to be honest dont know about the others but will those blokes besides Higgins , be as good as the more experience players you are going to lose in the next few years ?

this season has so far proved we will cope once Johnson,Akermanis and Eagleton retire.

Why is it that only Norf posters are defending Thompson and every other supporter group agree who the cheap shots were being fired by.

These are not tough acts, they are gutless.

r240631_975275.jpg

look at the size difference TeamHurley lol , Hall would win ofcourse but "Hunter" Thomspson wouldnt take a backwards step just like yesterday

Size doesn't matter, wot it matters is the courage to the first step and other will follow. Up to half time we were caught in a sleep walk with consecutive misses contrasted with bulldogs' consecutive goals. Other than the goal kicking, we were actually doing okay in term of ball movement and general play. It wasn' until after the thompson initiative did we wake up of sort.

I believe this will be our turning point from here onwards in term of attitude. WHile the skills will take time to improve, we will certainly take no crap from any opposition. We will do whatever it takes to unsettle the opp and gain an edge. We will do this whenever and wherever. To all those of fainted heart, this is a man's game, a man takes whatever it takes to win, fairly/unfairly, legally/illegallly, ethically/unethically. A man do things regardless of the consequences.

Size doesn't matter, wot it matters is the courage to the first step and other will follow. Up to half time we were caught in a sleep walk with consecutive misses contrasted with bulldogs' consecutive goals. Other than the goal kicking, we were actually doing okay in term of ball movement and general play. It wasn' until after the thompson initiative did we wake up of sort.

I believe this will be our turning point from here onwards in term of attitude. WHile the skills will take time to improve, we will certainly take no crap from any opposition. We will do whatever it takes to unsettle the opp and gain an edge. We will do this whenever and wherever. To all those of fainted heart, this is a man's game, a man takes whatever it takes to win, fairly/unfairly, legally/illegallly, ethically/unethically. A man do things regardless of the consequences.
Shouldn't the turning point be win the ball? If that is your game plan, I feel sorry for norf supporters. No wonder the membership is dropping.

...These types of players are always loved and therefore overrated by their own fans, which is why we loved Libba and the rest of the wog squad so much 10 years ago. The reality is that Thompson is just another Joe Average AFL footballer with many limitations.

Err libba won a brownlow mind you so whatever he did must have been right. Also you said Thompson is average and how can an average play be in contention for AA fullback spot in 2009.

It wasn' until after the thompson initiative did we wake up of sort.
Sure... because at the time of the "Thompson initiative" (LOL) the 'Roos were down 45 points and a quarter later the margin was 75 points! :rolleyes:
What a quality speech... :rolleyes:

Hall_Thomps_Rd910_246a.jpg

I can post "incriminating" pictures too. The headbutt you talked about, Thompson pulled it (avoided contact for those who cant fathom it) because he knew it would be a bad idea.

Why didnt Scott Thompson go near Barry after half time?
Well a ) the coach put other people on him to avoid further indiscretions.
b ) he'd already been reported twice why risk a third.
c ) the umpires told him explicitly after half time to cut it out.

Think i've posted enough in this thread, ill leave everyone to their pointless arguing. Hall will probably be suspended for snapping, and I wont complain if Thompson is suspended either, what he did was childish I agree, but countless defenders have done it before him. Umpires should cop a ban as well for not paying a free against Thompson which would of nipped the whole f***ing thing in the bud in the first quarter.

lol at eade saying 'cheap shots' when referring to two of his players getting cuts on their heads, and then the footage on sunday footy show of those two players clashing heads in friendly fire.

No he is referring to esp with Gia how they kept having to come off the ground after that incident because of blood. Pretty obvious the north boys were working over the wounds to open it up again.

My God that is sad.

You honestly believe that sort of attitude makes you a man?!?!?

Staggering, and a sad reflection on the way some twisted minds view modern day sport.

This is quite a funny thread to read because the North supporters are quite stung that everyone is criticising their team. Their defence ranges from dragging up Halls previous history or that the Dogs have only won one premiership etc etc.

The fact is the tosser at full back made a dick of himself yesterday and that he had plenty of cowardly team mates who tried to antagonise Barry Hall while being protected by the umpires. The football world obviously didnt like it and they have come out and said so. Not just buldogs supporters but supporters from other club .... and media commentators.

There is nothing to defend North fans ....... your blokes didnt go to play football yesterday ... they went to play the man and it has failed miserably on the scoreboard and throughout the footabll public.

Mind you, I guess the players are following the coaches gameplan and we all saw how he played his football at Brisbane.

Sure... because at the time of the "Thompson initiative" (LOL) the 'Roos were down 45 points and a quarter later the margin was 75 points!

It's now about how many points you lose. For a team in contention for top 8, then the percentage does matter. But that is short sighted. We NM are there to build a dynasty and is in the early stage of grooming the key players. Now is the right time to get the concept of 'going down swing' into the young player.

You can get belted by 100 but we will not simply cop the beating, we will do something about it, we will dish it back physically. We will not simply bow down to a team that atm is superior in skill, this is called being defiant, and taking a stand, not something you weak minded out there would know anything about. Somebody needs to get hurt, we will not take a beating without firing back some of our own.

My God that is sad.

You honestly believe that sort of attitude makes you a man?!?!?

Staggering, and a sad reflection on the way some twisted minds view modern day sport.

Err the modern day sport is in fact a twisted version of its original incarnation. This is afl we r talking about, it is a sport that is defined by physcial aggresion, violence and ability to intimdate or handle intimidation. Why are people trying to change somethign that made afl watchable. This is afl, this is the north melbourne way, this is the australian way. If you cant handle this then you r either no nm or australian.

I thought Thompsons actions where really pathetic. Pushing a bloke over while he does up his shoe laces. Seriously, what a douche-bag!

NTH took the weekly Hall baiting too far. Every club knows that they can do whatever they like to Hall. And they know Hall can do nothing in response. NTH took it to a new level this weekend. The 'escort' they collectively gave him off the ground was so cowardly considering Hall can't respond in any way. In context, i think Halls actions (the head-lock) were understandable.

Err the modern day sport is in fact a twisted version of its original incarnation. This is afl we r talking about, it is a sport that is defined by physcial aggresion, violence and ability to intimdate or handle intimidation. Why are people trying to change somethign that made afl watchable. This is afl, this is the north melbourne way, this is the australian way. If you cant handle this then you r either no nm or australian.

So you have no issue with how Hall responded?

North decided to show some shinboner spirit whilst they hadn't kicked a goal yet.

Number 16 for North is a very ordinary footballer and was only interested in picking a fight..

What a joke the Melbourne media is. Poor Barry, others hiding behind the rules etc, etc. This has been happening to Hall for years and they didn't give a s**t. I still maintain that if Hall was treated like Reiwoldt, he would have received 5 holding the man free kicks before he hit Staker. This is nothing new yet, because he is back playing for a Melbourne club, he is being treated differently and unfairly.

As for the outrage about the bump (no knee used), same thing happened to Michael O'Loughlin twice in the '05 Grand Final. Did anyone care? No. Was there outrage? No. Did Mickey get up and sling a bloke to the ground in a headlock? No. Just pure joy from people at the fact his kicking would suggest the treatment had got under his skin.

Personally, i don't have a problem with the Hall headlock but if Mumford can get two weeks for a tackle because Ablett could have hurt his head / neck, what would putting a bloke in a headlock do? Restrict breathing? Potential damage to the neck or throat? Dramatic? Yes. Impossible? No. Would not be surprised if he gets 2-3 weeks.

So you have no issue with how Hall responded?

Hall's response is a testimony to his new ability to be discipline and restraint. Also bulldogs were up at that time, if he had totally lost it, then it would have damaged dogs' momentum, esp if was during a gf and u guys were say 2 goals up. But he responded normally because headlock does not get u suspended for long. If i was hall and that game was a gf match i would have taken out thompson so that he is out of the equatino for the entire match and anyone else who comes in to challenge. if hall was to explode, he should sacrifice himself for the team (by knocking out as many of the opp as he could). This kind of things are perfectly fine.

As for the outrage about the bump (no knee used), same thing happened to Michael O'Loughlin twice in the '05 Grand Final. Did anyone care? No. Was there outrage? No. Did Mickey get up and sling a bloke to the ground in a headlock? No. Just pure joy from people at the fact his kicking would suggest the treatment had got under his skin.

I am not sure if that was the Grand Final, I think that was one of the Qualifying Finals in Perth, when Mickey had some injury concerns and Hunter decided to take a cheap shot at him.

But I agree with you in regards in Hall though, should have looked after him years ago. Been saying it myself, that he gets poorly treated by the Umps and the MRP. Sadly for the Bulldogs, I wouldnt be surprised if Hally gets unfairly suspended for this rubbish. The flog Thompson should be looked at as well.