Hall/Thompson

• Thread starter Thread starter Jimpson

I am not sure if that was the Grand Final, I think that was one of the Qualifying Finals in Perth, when Mickey had some injury concerns and Hunter decided to take a cheap shot at him.

But I agree with you in regards in Hall though, should have looked after him years ago. Been saying it myself, that he gets poorly treated by the Umps and the MRP. Sadly for the Bulldogs, I wouldnt be surprised if Hally gets unfairly suspended for this rubbish. The flog Thompson should be looked at as well.

Definately, the GF mate. watched it enough times. :)

who to? Scott West? :rolleyes:
Scott West glassed his missus?

Nope.

Shinboner spirit is dead. North have pinned their hopes on a "new era" and that new era appears to be attack the opponent, not the ball.

Hall and Gia should be commended for their restraint.

No he is referring to esp with Gia how they kept having to come off the ground after that incident because of blood. Pretty obvious the north boys were working over the wounds to open it up again.
That's awful! I expect 4 or 5 North players to be up before the MRP this week for unnecessary, deliberate, head-high contact.

Unless it didn't actually happen that way.........

It's probably been said already but 41 pages, so, yeah didn't read 'em.

Now whether or not Scott Thompson was a disgrace, surely the real issue is that 14 other coaches saw how easy it is to put Hall off his game. And clearly this is what upset Eade so much that he tried to portray a headclash between two of his players as off-the-ball sniping by North. A panicking coach, if ever there was one. Seeing his calculated high risk strategy start to unravel by Round 9. Oooops!

Bomber Thompson, Mick Malthouse and Ross Lyon are saying "thank-you Scott Thompson, for proving what we already suspected. Bulldogs very suspect again. Will implode again."

If perchance the Dogs make it to preliminary final week, then it's a pretty safe bet that the result of their last four will not change.

At this, we giggle.

Gia did restrain himself very well
You were doing very well to this point.

Fact is, the scoreboard doesn't lie. Your side was so Hall conscious the entire game, it allowed 12 other goalkickers to run all over you. If you want to play this way next time we meet, so be it.

We had less inside 50s for the entire game and beat you by 70 points, so for all the "we think we were working on a weakness" arguments, the fact is you were flogged in every department yesterday and our gameplan worked brilliantly.

Would Glenn Archer have tried this shite?
Probably not fair to bring up the names of past players at North who are respected.
If I was Archer I'd be furious that the "new era" at the club shit on my memory by dropping both the shinboner spirit and the style of play I forged a career on.

Fact is, the scoreboard doesn't lie. Your side was so Hall conscious the entire game, it allowed 12 other goalkickers to run all over you. If you want to play this way next time we meet, so be it.

We had less inside 50s for the entire game and beat you by 70 points, so for all the "we think we were working on a weakness" arguments, the fact is you were flogged in every department yesterday and our gameplan worked brilliantly.

Yeah well, good on ya and enjoy the win but your window is closing soon and you will soon realise thate your class of 2008-10 will just like your group of 97 & 98 where you guys are but fodders for the real champion teams.

Re: Barry Hall has cracked!

He had 3 or 4 guys come up to him when he was heading off to the bench, all having a go. And was surrounded by half the roos team at one stage.

Should be a rule - if it's 3 on 1 you can swing...

He did well. Showed he's not going to take their crap but didn't snap. Good work.

I have an idea...

Should be a rule too, that if your own club mates abandon you, then you can swing away. Where were his team mates? Why did he have no support from within the club, until after the game? Only then did Eade support him (with some inaccurate reports of what happened), and Gia has come out today. That is the problem!!

Is Thomspon the first to knock a bloke doing up his laces? Think not, and wont be the last. Ridiculous criticism of Thompson!!

Yes you did win well , but a few of your mates in this thread are getting a fair bit ahead of themselves with your clubs standing in the AFL . I love Bazza , defended him many times in BF . I don't really see what all the fuss is about anyway . What i can't handle is the digs at North by supporters of a very unsuccessful football club like Footscray .

Carry on .

I have an idea...

Should be a rule too, that if your own club mates abandon you, then you can swing away. Where were his team mates? Why did he have no support from within the club, until after the game? Only then did Eade support him (with some inaccurate reports of what happened), and Gia has come out today. That is the problem!!
Is Thomspon the first to knock a bloke doing up his laces? Think not, and wont be the last. Ridiculous criticism of Thompson!!

His team mates had enough nous NOT to make it an all in brawl.:thumbsu:

Pretty lame what Thompson was "trying" to do.

Pushing over a player whilst he is attempting to tie the laces of his boots is a ****ing dog act and is one that should see him suspended for bringing the game into disrepute.

So glad Hall, the bloody little poor bugger, put that Number 16 into a headlock to the extent where he could have passed out if he kept going. Serves him right for exposing and exploiting the weakness of someone with a short fuse who is known to king hit people.

Tying laces - that's Barry's time, don't forget it.

So glad Hall, the bloody little poor bugger, put that Number 16 into a headlock to the extent where he could have passed out.

G'day mate. How's things been? :)

Taking it to extreme, much though? LULZ. :eek:

Yes you did win well , but a few of your mates in this thread are getting a fair bit ahead of themselves with your clubs standing in the AFL . I love Bazza , defended him many times in BF . I don't really see what all the fuss is about anyway . What i can't handle is the digs at North by supporters of a very unsuccessful football club like Footscray .
Why not? Right now, we are a top four side with a realistic aim of doing some damage in the finals.

Granted we have not hit our stride yet, but we are improving and doing so without meaningful contributions from Johnno & Murphy, arguably our two best forwards over the past 5 years.

We have a FF (Bazza) who was targeted repeatedly in off the ball incidents with zero umpire protection, and I dare say any club would defend their player in such circumstances. Given he held his arms up and tried to run off the field, whilst North players kept belting into him, I think he was quite restrained considering the circumstances.

Why not? Right now, we are a top four side with a realistic aim of doing some damage in the finals.

Granted we have not hit our stride yet, but we are improving and doing so without meaningful contributions from Johnno & Murphy, arguably our two best forwards over the past 5 years.

We have a FF (Bazza) who was targeted repeatedly in off the ball incidents with zero umpire protection, and I dare say any club would defend their player in such circumstances. Given he held his arms up and tried to run off the field, whilst North players kept belting into him, I think he was quite restrained considering the circumstances.

Ah, I see you've clarified your earlier point. Previously you suggested that BBB showed restraint. He didn't, of course, until he realised the coach was panicking about what he might do and dragged him. So, yes, he was restrained as he ran off, but that followed some serious lack of restraint.

You also suggested Gia was restrained. I LOL'd, as I had never before seen the word used as a euphemism for soft.

His team mates had enough nous NOT to make it an all in brawl.:thumbsu:

Pretty lame what Thompson was "trying" to do.
Cmon M.S, would you be happy with your club to abandon one of their own. Imagine the Pie army linching a bloke for doing that!!

We had less inside 50s for the entire game and beat you by 70 points,
The 2nd part proves that the Dogs played much mroe efficiently and effectively ; the first part contradicts the line that some your whinier mates have been pushing, that North were too busy sniping all day to actually go for the ball. We got it ok, just didn't use it too well.

The only thing the scoreboard says is that we scored 22 times with our full forward out injured and didn't convert well and the Doggies scored 27 times with your full forward in the side and did convert well. The scoreboard flattered you in the end.

We are rebuilding, we have a massive difference in age and experience, I had no expectation of us winning yesterday but out of the "contenders" we have played I would count the doggies the worst of them to date, which would be a concern given the age of the side.

Our players not converting up forward had little to do with Hall having a brain explosion, again, after being so sorry about the countless other brain explosions. The fact is his explosions are deliberate and he has nobody to blame but himself.

I find Hall extremely amusing, I think he is a nice bloke off-field but when he is playing crap footy he often lets himself get riled up because he tends to play better in that state of mind.

What Thompson did was fairly mild by his standards and Hall has played on others that have done worse things to him without him exploding, he was just playing reasonable footy at the time. Then you get Staker that really did stuff all to him and he just clocked him because Hall was playing like garbage at the time. It is more about where Hall is at than what his opponent is doing.

The concern for the doggies would be the measures they took to help stop him losing the plot are clearly not working. If he decides to lose the plot close to or around the finals it could really hurt the doggies bad come the finals.

Hall went over the top and our players came in to fly the flag, as you would expect your team mates to do. The stuff Thompson does is legal in the game, the stuff Baz does isn't. That is the difference and Thompson got reported responding to Baz's WWF move. He should go try wrestling, or boxing, at least when he fires himself up in those sports it is within the rules.

Probably not fair to bring up the names of past players at North who are respected.
If I was Archer I'd be furious that the "new era" at the club shit on my memory by dropping both the shinboner spirit and the style of play I forged a career on.

You are clearly clueless. Archer used to have a go at pretenders who tried to be tough on the football field. He just showed how tough he was going for the ball and at the contest most of the time but if you want to know who is the defensive coach assisting Thompson, it is Archer.

The only thing the scoreboard says is that we scored 22 times with our full forward out injured and didn't convert well and the Doggies scored 27 times with your full forward in the side and did convert well. The scoreboard flattered you in the end.

We are rebuilding, we have a massive difference in age and experience, I had no expectation of us winning yesterday but out of the "contenders" we have played I would count the doggies the worst of them to date, which would be a concern given the age of the side.

Our players not converting up forward had little to do with Hall having a brain explosion, again, after being so sorry about the countless other brain explosions. The fact is his explosions are deliberate and he has nobody to blame but himself.

I find Hall extremely amusing, I think he is a nice bloke off-field but when he is playing crap footy he often lets himself get riled up because he tends to play better in that state of mind.

What Thompson did was fairly mild by his standards and Hall has played on others that have done worse things to him without him exploding, he was just playing reasonable footy at the time. Then you get Staker that really did stuff all to him and he just clocked him because Hall was playing like garbage at the time. It is more about where Hall is at than what his opponent is doing.

The concern for the doggies would be the measures they took to help stop him losing the plot are clearly not working. If he decides to lose the plot close to or around the finals it could really hurt the doggies bad come the finals.

Hall went over the top and our players came in to fly the flag, as you would expect your team mates to do. The stuff Thompson does is legal in the game, the stuff Baz does isn't. That is the difference and Thompson got reported responding to Baz's WWF move. He should go try wrestling, or boxing, at least when he fires himself up in those sports it is within the rules.
Who is your full forward? Hale? He's as convincing as that rug on his head.

No Johnson, Murphy, Higgins...etc.

If Thompson has to lower himself to those tactics in this day and age with flooding and zones.....