Hall/Thompson

• Thread starter Thread starter Jimpson

Neither do you, with your blantant bias and support of Thompson, especially if you believe if Hall deserves a suspension, AFTER Thompson had incited the whole thing.

Keep on walking, boy!:thumbsu:

Are you implying that Hall shouldn't have got weeks for the Staker incident because he was niggling Hall?

Obviously a difference between a headlock and a punch (Hall threw one but it didn't connect), but I don't believe in the mentality that any form of retaliation, no matter what it is, is necessary.

Well now that the Hall/Thompson incident has been resolved, will the spotlight go to North and the s**thouse performance they turned in on Saturday?

You'd hope so, the whole thing has been a welcome distraction for North me thinks

I can't believe some of the idiotic comments pointed towards Thompson.
People knock guys over whilst they're tieing their shoes in 100's of matches. It's been happening forever. It's silly, but it's been a niggle that players do all the time.

Good result in the end. Barry did the wrong thing and got a fine. Thompson cleared.

Still can't work out why Thompson has copped all of this rubbish. He's watched very closely by the umps each week and never gives away free kicks for his niggling. :confused:

It comes around every week and its pathetic. Brown gets it for Hawthorn, Didak for Collingwood, Milne for the Saints, Ballantyne etc etc etc.

They are top quality shit-stirrers who go in hard (well most of them do). I would be so mad if a Hawthorn defender didnt test Barry out during the game. Mentally working on someone is a form of defence.

I have no problem with what Thompson at all, nudging someone while they are doing their laces is never going to hurt anyone. I would be far more concerned about his footy...

No problem with Barry either, he copped it pretty badly from all angles but controlled himself very well all things considered. North were going to continue at him until they got a response. I love Barry, I think he is a good leader and a gun player and umpires do judge him on his reputation, that is unfortunate. However, his reputation is his own doing.

He has made his bed throughout his career, he has to sleep in it. Saying that, he got off. For a change, some good level-headed decision making by the MRP.

As for those saying Thompson is courageous for having a go at Barry at all, get your hand off it! You reckon he would of done it without the pretection of a million viewers, heaps of cameras and an umpire?
Im not saying he is a coward, but to paint him as Dr Courageous is bullshit.

Let me get this straight, Thompson is hiding behind the rules doing a gental bump. Hall is courageous because he can break heads? Well without these so called rules, we'd just put someone down there that breaks arms. Think Hall will be so tough then? How about thugs with no skill, last man standsing wins!

Every time Hall plays the tough man he's hiding behind the rules. Or go get it on somewhere where the other guy can really cut loose.

Let me get this straight, Thompson is hiding behind the rules doing a gental bump. Hall is courageous because he can break heads? Well without these so called rules, we'd just put someone down there that breaks arms. Think Hall will be so tough then? How about thugs with no skill, last man standsing wins!

Every time Hall plays the tough man he's hiding behind the rules. Or go get it on somewhere where the other guy can really cut loose.
Now this is one of the more ridiculous posts on this thread.

Yeah, good call. North were just so shit that we have been busily "deflecting" as much as we can.

Just imagine how horrendously embarrassing it must be to support a team that has actually lost to North this year. We can discuss this if you like.

North would have loved it, got them talked about in the media for something which occurred on field. Sponsors would be happy cos the only other media they get is about their crowds

Some bulldog supporters need to get their head out of their arses. If the bulldogs were not a legit premiership threat, they would be getting worse crowds than us. Leave the crowd number taunts to the fans of clubs that are actually better supported than north.

I couldn't care less about a suspension for Hall. It has no bearing on North at all, so I just don't care.

Rocket's comments still shit me off. He made up bullshit to get Hall off, but his real reason was that deep right down, he knows Hall lost control. He ****ing knows it. A push off balance was trying to tie his shoes and his key forward just went ape shit and had to be taken off the ground.

See i guess the problem is also that we all know that Barry is on his last strike and what Thompson did warrants a full scale malee to erupt.. If it was any other team and player, there would have been a full punch on..

Barry has to contain himself but if the Staker incident didn't happen, then i would have expected punches to fly especially when he was running off the ground...

I couldn't care less about a suspension for Hall. It has no bearing on North at all, so I just don't care.

Rocket's comments still shit me off. He made up bullshit to get Hall off, but his real reason was that deep right down, he knows Hall lost control. He ****ing knows it. A push off balance was trying to tie his shoes and his key forward just went ape shit and had to be taken off the ground.

Yep...that's all that happened:rolleyes: Three words...straw...camel....back.

By the way...loved Daniel Pratt playing the tough guy running up to Barry as he attempted to leave the ground. Almost wet myself laughing. Surprised he managed to stay upright considering his previous efforts.

That's horse shit NB.

Thompson pushed and shoved Hall for the first 50 minutes of the game. Hall had had enough of it when he was pushed over when tieing up his shoelaces and remonstrated.

Laws were brought into the game at the start of the year to put a stop to what Thompson does for a living, but these laws were not followed by the umpires on the day.

I wonder what Thompson's tactics will be this week? He may have to try and play footy without resorting to tactics best left in the schoolyard.

That's horse shit NB.

Thompson pushed and shoved Hall for the first 50 minutes of the game

I must have missed the meeting where this was made illegal or uncommon.

Hall had had enough of it when he was pushed over when tieing up his shoelaces and remonstrated.

Well, that's an issue for Barry.

Laws were brought into the game at the start of the year to put a stop to what Thompson does for a living, but these laws were not followed by the umpires on the day.

And that's an issue for the umpires.

What did you think of the free Reiwoldt got in the final last year, off the ball and against Lake? Depending on your response, I (or someone who could be bothered) might do some digging.

I wonder what Thompson's tactics will be this week? He may have to try and play footy without resorting to tactics best left in the schoolyard.

He'll do what he's done for two years, and as he has done in most of his 35 games, he'll win his position.

Oh you mean what happens between a forward and a backline player all the time?
Interesting that most commentators and former players think that Thompson went (and goes) too far. Maybe they should defer to the expert and unbiased opinions of the NM supporters on BF...