Halloween?

I can't believe how many sad sacks of shit there are that are so anti-halloween. Get a life.

Big Footy must be the largest gathering of bitter, cranky old bogans that you'll ever see.

If you don't like Halloween because you fear for the safety of kids, fair enough, but if you don't like it because it's celebrated in the US then I sure hope you only watch Australian TV, only eat Australian foods and never wear any clothes that weren't made here. Oh, and stop using Microsoft as it was founded by two "Yanks".

Do people get this way about St. Patrick's Day? Halloween dates all the way back to the Celtics, so why is St. Patrick's Day an accepted Irish tradition but Halloween isn't? If it's simply because it's grown even more in the US then you're a very sad bunch of people.

I've never had the chance to enjoy Halloween as no one really gets into it here, but when I'm in the US next year I'll be looking forward to seeing what an event it is there and enjoying it for what it is. Just lighten up a little bit, it wont kill you.

I'm not a bastard towards kids on Halloween, just put Kerny on the front verandah & see how many kids are desperate enough to beg for lollies.:D

my hero, as if anyone would want to door knock on your trailer anyway. you must lead a miserable life

Have a cry. Yes the person shouldn't say they'll hit your kids but they have every right to say **** off get off my property.

he'll find out today whether he has the right. you'd be another tough guy that could only display his superiority by telling little kids to **** off instead of being polite and declining in a civil manner. usually called little mans syndrome.

Firstly as has been said before halloween has no place in Australian culture. Also the safety issues are too high to have kids go trick and treat. There have also been know cases in the U.S of kids being given poison candy when trick or treating.

sheltered much? typical gen y, everything needs to be handed to you on a plate and tested before you agree to take part in it.

It is his property, they were trespassing little yanks, they're not even Australian so he can say what he likes.

why don't you go and set up camp in cronulla you true blue aussie. my kids aren't yanks either, 5th gen' australians, can you say that?
anyway n00b, your opinion doesn't count.

Big Footy must be the largest gathering of bitter, cranky old bogans that you'll ever see.

If you don't like Halloween because you fear for the safety of kids, fair enough, but if you don't like it because it's celebrated in the US then I sure hope you only watch Australian TV, only eat Australian foods and never wear any clothes that weren't made here. Oh, and stop using Microsoft as it was founded by two "Yanks".

Do people get this way about St. Patrick's Day? Halloween dates all the way back to the Celtics, so why is St. Patrick's Day an accepted Irish tradition but Halloween isn't? If it's simply because it's grown even more in the US then you're a very sad bunch of people.

same. i'm not a halloween fan myself but it seems to be some harmless fun and kids enjoy themselves.
i'm assuming some of the miserable pricks on here wont be participating in St Patricks day then because it isn't an Australian born tradition. while we're at it, the non religious can also work straight through christmas and easter.
expecting this board to be empty soon also because of the american software being used and the protests from whingers like mantis because it's not an australian operating system however the hypocrites will have some great excuses.

The US has given the world some amazing things. Rock and Roll, jazz, country and blues.
The Simpsons, Seinfeld, Arrested Development, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Some amazing films, etc....
Yet Halloween should be dissed purely because it is American.
Bitter, bitter people on here.

he'll find out today whether he has the right. you'd be another tough guy that could only display his superiority by telling little kids to **** off instead of being polite and declining in a civil manner. usually called little mans syndrome.
I could "display my superiority" by knocking out the kids parents at the end of my driveway or I could tell them to piss off. Which would you prefer?

my hero, anyway you'd have a shared driveway at the caravan park wouldn't you?
what a man.

my hero, anyway you'd have a shared driveway at the caravan park wouldn't you?
what a man.
I'm sorry but aren't you the one who lives on the "Peninsula" aka Frankston. Go get some more drugs.

how come it is taking you so long to go sort this guy out ferris? someone tells your kids to **** off and your reaction is to go get him in two days

I went and bought some little candy pieces and put them in the bowl. Put a few googs in the bowl too that looked remarkably similar to the candy. Then I handed them out to the children. Will teach them little pricks for knocking on my door.

I reckon by the end of my lifetime it will be as commonplace as most other traditions in Aus.

TBH I don't really like the idea of adopting a US celebration just because it is on TV and we want to feel as close to the US as possible but I can accept it for what it is.

My brother (who is 13) went trick or treating and enjoyed it and he put in the effort to make a costume so I guess he was entitled to collect some candy.

And FFS it is not little kids going to adults houses begging for candy. Bloody Hell.

I was gardening yesterday and chatted to the couple from over the road. They are both in their 80's and most weekends go to the RSL. Peg, the old lady asked me if any trick or treaters came over to my place and I said yeah about 4.

"Weren't they lovely" was her reply. I mentioned to her that not all people feel the same about Halloween and she said" If you can't let kids enjoy themselves, there is something wrong"!

I've never had the chance to enjoy Halloween as no one really gets into it here, but when I'm in the US next year I'll be looking forward to seeing what an event it is there and enjoying it for what it is. Just lighten up a little bit, it wont kill you.

Add BigFooty to that list of American things:D

I was gardening yesterday and chatted to the couple from over the road. They are both in their 80's and most weekends go to the RSL. Peg, the old lady asked me if any trick or treaters came over to my place and I said yeah about 4.

"Weren't they lovely" was her reply. I mentioned to her that not all people feel the same about Halloween and she said" If you can't let kids enjoy themselves, there is something wrong"!

Cool story Hansel

I can't believe people think that total strangers should spend money on lollies & chocolate to give to kids they don't know. :confused:

I put Kenny out on the front verandah for a couple of hours, don't have any kids willing to risk walking past him to knock on my door. They don't know that he would just lick them to death, just see this huge dog sitting their smiling & continue on to the next house. :D

****ing awesome responsible dog ownership mantis. "I put my pit bull out the front of my house on the one night of the year strange children are most likely to come knocking on my door. But it's ok 'cause he would never hurt anybody..."

Jesus christ.

To the OP: I celebrated Halloween this year because it was an excuse for a house party and an excuse to dress up as Warwick Capper.

Also, we were the only house in our area with chocolate for trick or treaters ('cause my housemate is organised like that), and when they came round and someone was actually able to give them something, they were happy as, and making children smile made me feel good about my otherwise lonely, miserable and selfish existence. :thumbsu:

Finally: In the name of consistency, no one is allowed to decry Halloween because it is a) unsafe b) imported, and then, in the same ****ing breath, big up Guy Fawke's night, 'cause I don't know if you guys realise, but blowing a lot of shit up to celebrate the 300 year old execution of a British Catholic terrorist is neither child-friendly, nor a native custom.

Maybe it's different in Sydney, but I thought people stopped celebrating Guy Fawkes Night here in the '70s :confused: I'm 21, but only know about it through my mum telling me about it, never through experience.

my hero, as if anyone would want to door knock on your trailer anyway. you must lead a miserable life

sheltered much? typical gen y, everything needs to be handed to you on a plate and tested before you agree to take part in it.

why don't you go and set up camp in cronulla you true blue aussie. my kids aren't yanks either, 5th gen' australians, can you say that?
anyway n00b, your opinion doesn't count.

TLDR Mr Passive Aggressive I'm gonna bash some guy in two days because he told some kids to get off his property and post about it on the internet.

I bet you couldn't fight your way out of a paper bag.

You sound like a bad parent, your kids will probably grow up to be cowards like you.

Dont like Halloween here, what has it got to do with us? Had a few kids knock on me door and I just told them "nah sorry I dont have anything to give" then closed the door, after that their mum knocked on my door and had a go at me for not giving her kids anything telling me to "get a life".

The problem is why we are celebrating this day. A chance for kids to have fun?? Surely there are other safer and more conventional ways to do that. It comes down to us adopting a custom that has evolved as a tradition IN ANOTHER COUNTRY! It is an American tradition that we have picked up why?? Because kids see Hannah Montana trick or treating and want to follow suit.

Unfortunately, its been going on in Australia much to long for it to be eradicated now, and if anything it will only get bigger. The sad thing is the line between Australian culture and American culture is getting heavily blurred. The best part of Australia is its identity, and it is slowly being whittled away.

Also, we were the only house in our area with chocolate for trick or treaters ('cause my housemate is organised like that), and when they came round and someone was actually able to give them something, they were happy as, and making children smile made me feel good about my otherwise lonely, miserable and selfish existence. :thumbsu:

Finally: In the name of consistency, no one is allowed to decry Halloween because it is a) unsafe b) imported, and then, in the same ****ing breath, big up Guy Fawke's night, 'cause I don't know if you guys realise, but blowing a lot of shit up to celebrate the 300 year old execution of a British Catholic terrorist is neither child-friendly, nor a native custom.[/quote]

If Americans settled Australia 220 odd years ago and brought Halloween with them, I don't think we'd be having this debate.
The British did and brought Guy Fawkes night with them. I was well aware as a kid who Guy Fawkes was and what he tried to do and then what happened to him but it didn't detract from the night of all the neighbourhood kids/families getting together and having some fun.

Dont like Halloween here, what has it got to do with us? Had a few kids knock on me door and I just told them "nah sorry I dont have anything to give" then closed the door, after that their mum knocked on my door and had a go at me for not giving her kids anything telling me to "get a life".

I hope you told her to F off & buy her kids lollies, not expect strangers to spend their money on her kids.