Hampson

Sorry, let's post one or two passages of play when Hampson did something decent and proclaim him the second-coming of Peter Moore, all the while forgetting (cos we have amnesia, right?) about the remainder of his VFL-standard career.

That's how it's done isn't it TG?

The apologists and sycophants on this board are pathetic.
Supporters who single out players in a thread after a bad game or two are pathetic. Vocals who think it's their right to jeer players at games. I guess we should delist a resting ruckman who has kicked 14 goals this year. The BF update obviously wants to attract the flogs from our Facebook page.

OK so the knee jerkers get their way, who comes in? Thornton or Mitchell? Mitchell is far too raw and was out performed by Lucas Cook in his VFL showing. The Casey VFL defender also outbodied him plenty of times, he isn't ready yet.

Thornton has a very hard time dealing with the no.1 defender and will go completely missing. At least Hammer makes a contest at most times.

Our forward line issues lay in having to solely rely on midfielder goals and Betts. Garlett missing goals from 2 metres out is inexcusable, yet Hampson cops it because he looks gangly and nobody likes the uber handsome jock :)

Henderson was drafted as a forward but was developed as a defender at the lions and has grown even further in this role at the Blues. We however have a lot more depth in our defence and may be able to afford playing and continuing to redevelop him as a forward with other players slotting in down back. its what we drafted watson and mccarthy for isnt it?

Supporters who single out players in a thread after a bad game or two are pathetic. Vocals who think it's their right to jeer players at games. I guess we should delist a resting ruckman who has kicked 14 goals this year. The BF update obviously wants to attract the flogs from our Facebook page.

Supporters who continually pump up his tires after a few good games think its their right to disregard other peoples negative, sometimes justified sometimes not, opinions of a player who has performed well below on par on multiple occasions.

yes sure hampson has shown glimpses. great. anyone can show glimpses of form but consistency is what is going to take carlton to the flag and while i'm willing to give him some time for now i certainly do not have the same amount of patience for him as i previously had with Henderson or will have for Lucas going forward.

People need to accept that he MAY NOT be the answer. sure he might be but we dont have forever to wait and continual below par performances are not good enough.

Warnock pushing for selection also makes a mammoth difference to our midfields ability to make clearances and i for one am still a fan of him too.

Henderson was drafted as a forward but was developed as a defender at the lions and has grown even further in this role at the Blues. We however have a lot more depth in our defence and may be able to afford playing and continuing to redevelop him as a forward with other players slotting in down back. its what we drafted watson and mccarthy for isnt it?

Henderson is the answer then, right. So what are you proposing then? Henderson be left to fend for himself up forward?

What I'm saying is, it doesn't matter what people think of Hampson.

1. It's evident he has come a LONG way since last year.
2. He's the best forward ruck we have.
3. He's one the very few tall forward options we have and there is no alternative.

With my last point in mind, what's the point of this thread if not to have a pot shot at someone who is not in control of the circumstances.

Henderson is the answer then, right. So what are you proposing then? Henderson be left to fend for himself up forward?

What I'm saying is, it doesn't matter what people think of Hampson.

1. It's evident he has come a LONG way since last year.
2. He's the best forward ruck we have.
3. He's one the very few tall forward options we have and there is no alternative.

With my last point in mind, what's the point of this thread if not to have a pot shot at someone who is not in control of the circumstances.

All im saying is that i (personally) dont believe Hampson is the best tall forward option we have and i have enough faith in Henderson being able to quickly eclipse what Hampson has shown so far even if he has come a long way. it goes to show how far back he was.

also if henderson is left to fend for himself up forward whats different to Hampson? isnt he essentially doing the same thing and if not why would this only apply to lachie?

I don't think you quite know what you're arguing. Of course Hampson isn't the best option. But he's getting games now because we have no alternative right now. Why dwell on the negatives then and make a malicious thread on one of our own who has improved so much this year. Poor form from our supporters who are looking to lash out at easy targets.

where else are they going to express their negative opinions :eek:

i think henderson is an alternative as we have soem defensive depth

where else are they going to express their negative opinions :eek:

i think henderson is an alternative as we have soem defensive depth

When you say alternative you're meaning that Hampson is not in the side. In which case Henderson would be our only genuine tall forward with either Walker or a defender in Hampson's position because the other options are injured or not match fit (Waite, Thornton, Mitchell, Rowe, Casboult).

Blake Bray was our CHF in the VFL last week. The well is dry, we shouldn't be wasting brain cells on this, there's bigger issues at hand where we can actually talk about feasible alternatives.

Hampson is OK, I think attention should be drawn on 'top 4' players like Jamison, Judd, Kruezer and Walker. They are just not imposing on games in recent weeks like they should be.

There's the problem. One's got a knee problem, getting it drained after every game, and shouldn't be playing, 2 missed alot of pre-season and whether Judd's injured or not we don't know but he's certainly not the player we know him to be.

So many injuries, not just to our top players butt our depth too, blokes playing with missed pre-season's, blokes playing carrying injuries, then there's a couple playing out of form. Going to be a struggle this year. Who would've thought that after round 3 and even just before round 7 when a win would've put us on top.

Things change fast!

How far is Thornton away? Happy for him to fill in in a KP with Henderson until Waite returns. Let Hampson concentrate on rucking with marks he takes and goals he kicks resting in a pocket as a bonus rather than having that as an added pressure of necessity. That's pressure gets you in the end.

Leave Kreuzer out to rest his knee.

HF Walker Henderson "Rotating mid" (Garlett out until he finds form)
F Hampson Thornton Betts

Some structure there at least.

Thornton should play WCE.

Probably need him back this week too. .. I would like to see Kreuze get a rest from travelling to Perth, giving him two weeks to recuperate and letting Hammer chop out Nocka in the ruck. .. however even with TBird in, he or Hendo are likely going to be needed down back (we need three tallish defenders for WCE). ..

Average 9 stats per game this season.

You've pulled out a single stat in isolation and sprouted it in several threads now. .. Have you actually done any research beyond that? Have you compared that to other Forward/Rucks in the comp? ..

Jolly/Keefe are fairly comparable, as are Geelong's Rucks. .. Warnock is lower, Kreuzer a little higher. .. Bell chambers is better but he is the No. 1 ruck, as is Maric. .. Ryder is similar as far as being a forward goes. .. and I haven't looked into the other teams but I'm sure some are better and some are comparable or worse. ..

Is comparable to Cloke, one of the best KPFs in the league, if you realise he also averages 21HO a game, Cloke doesn't have to ruck. ..

Your point? Your better option apart from Hammer?

Anyone! He is beyond hopeless, he can't read the play, he drops marks, his kicking is woeful and his defensive pressure is sub standard.

Not in our best 35 players.

Warnock first ruck on one leg and kruz full fwd on one leg are preferrable.With Thornton and hendo as other tallish Fwds.

Anyone! He is beyond hopeless, he can't read the play, he drops marks, his kicking is woeful and his defensive pressure is sub standard.

Not in our best 35 players.

Warnock first ruck on one leg and kruz full fwd on one leg are preferrable.With Thornton and hendo as other tallish Fwds.

Okay, how fit has Thornton been then?

You can't just be knocking a player then surely, he's played out of necessity, and he certainly isn't as bad as you think he is.

Hampson is second on the goalkicking tally and regularly beats Kreuzer on the taps to advantage in hit outs.

These are the stats that matter. Moreover, he's been injury free this whole year - with both MK and RW in some doubt for Thursday due to dodgy legs.

cmon mate. some people just dont agree with certain players. if he feels warnock is the better player/ruck just go with it.

i'm going to put it out there and say i prefer Warnock and ALWAYS have. i can however see the improvement in Hampson i just dont think its enough.

how many times will i say this:p

edit: more than happy to be proven wrong but dont feel like i currently have been

People are allowed opinions we all expect better,he has had ample opportunity to learn how to mark a bloody footy considering that it should have been learnt at 10 years old.Project players?

Why would a young soccer playing kid be interested in learning to mark an Aussie Rules football? :confused: