Hansen!!! Big Mistake???

Have a search for some of Mojo31's posts about Hansen pre draft on one of the Carlton websites (Carlton supporters club)

Think of him as a taller, faster Scarlett that will match it with any forward in the league and hurt them going the other way and just overall dominate the backline.

Will be able to run the m absolutely ragged over the course of a game with his running ability & add that to the best overall mark from a key position player that has come through the draft in over 10 years and you have a pretty good package.

Be patient

the difficulty in getting a tall that is of the quality of Hansen is unbelievably rare

Franklin, Riewoldt & Kozi are the only one's this decade, midfielders like Selwood come around every year without fail.

Gibbs, Murphy, Cooney, Griffen, Rich, Cotchin, Masten ect will all be around that level, very few will be on the level of Hansen.

Get off his back, I have no doubt that he will be a good player for us in the years to come.

He has natural talent and reads the game beautifully, also has pretty good fitness. Once he fills out a bit he will be awesome.

He is just recovering from a foot injury that has interupted his training and impacting his VFL form. Expect him to get a run within 4-6 weeks. We will see his true value in 2009-2010.

In all seriousness, Hamish has the direct opposite problem to Lachie Hansen.

Hamish was fat and unfit.

Lachie is skinny and one of the fittest blokes at the club.

You dont get that sort of fitness unless you work for it. Hamish had to improve his fitness where Lachie has to stack on weight.

Someone send him down to Maccas ffs![/quote]

I got a drive through pass if he needs it....:D

I definitely love the idea of him.
6 foot 5, runs all day and can take a huge contested mark.

My question marks would be his aggression, his kicking - I know others don't see it as a problem, and I have seen him cover 50 easily on a set shot, but he seems to be up and under in his field kicking rather than having real depth - and as a forward he seems timid in terms of the way he ducks his head a little on the lead.

On the other side, I have seen him drop in front of packs and take massive contested marks in defence, and while it was nice to see him gather possessions on a wing in the WB NAB game - it was his marking late in the game that was most exciting. He took 3 or 4 great marks in a close game, and the one he took in the forward line - despite getting penalised for a hand on the shoulder - was quality. Looked like a man who will step up.

I honestly think he needs to be given a shot in the seniors as a backman, on a good opponent - ala Nathan Brown. i think a proper backman role is the way to go - and when he dominates we look at forward roles.

Remember - this kid is rated by most people as the best back ever from the under 18s TAc comp.

Actually Hansens doing fine, i'm a good mate with his brother damian hansan we are both in year 9. He tells me there just fattening him up (in other words) to get him to put on more bulk and weight. i'll find out more tomrrow.

This thread is ridiculous. Hansen was in the mix when the NAB cup started and every North supporter was creaming themselves over this kid, especially after his solid performance against the Bullies. He did some things in that game which has already been mentioned in this thread earlier on, that showed us all what a player he could be.

Right now the kid is in transition stage, he is a tall kid and filling into his body and this may take a couple of years to complete but when he does watch out. Hansen has been highly touted and I think a lot of peoples expectations are weighing him down and he has to learn to deal with that. All it will take is for him to do something in the seniors that will give him a bit of confidence to build on. It takes a spark to light a fire, especially the reserved types like Hansen.

This kid will be our Kryptonite to Hawthorns Superman and you can quote me on that.

FFS the bloke is younger than me, and i just about follow through just thinking about how much expectation is on the young man. I remember Kevin Sheehan or wateva his name is doing rankings out of 100 for the superdraft, Berger got 97, Gumby got 97, Gibbs got 96, Hansen got like 98.1 or some bull shit like that.

We will not regret this draft pick, i garantee that. If he ends up as a backman so what, he will end up a great backman. The trick will be whether we can convince him he belongs as a forward. If that happens, my lord look out.

I wonder would he be saying the same about Hamish at the same stage of his development?

Alot of midfielders are good to go from the day they're drafted, if not, waiting a year or so. KPP take 2-4 imo.

whoeva just said that hansan is better then bryce gibbs you have to be kidding me don't ya? gibbs will be the next hird im telling you he will win a few brownlows easy.

Gibbs is nothing like Hird.

Can Gibbs play CHF at age 19-20 and kick near on 50 goals?

Bullshit.

I wonder would he be saying the same about Hamish at the same stage of his development?

Same stage? I had didn't think he would make it when he was 21. Had all the ability in the world, but was a lazy, soft, overweight bully FF who would do ok once a month. He also played a fair chunk of VFL 2's at about 20 years old. Goldstein is a far better VFL ruckman than Hamish was in year 2, and I mean FAR better. He would have smashed a 19yo Hamish.

My only query over Hansen is positional. I think we have to work out his best position and stick to it. None of this "utility" rubbish. I think it will take one mark running back into a pack in a big AFL game for him to "click". Guys like him thrive on that one quarter or game where you know you belong. The rest flows from there.

I want him in the side as much as anyone, but I'm not fretting that he isn't in the side right now.

Hello Bryce, struggling a bit this year i see. On here to lift the profile a bit?

Same stage? I had didn't think he would make it when he was 21. Had all the ability in the world, but was a lazy, soft, overweight bully FF who would do ok once a month. He also played a fair chunk of VFL 2's at about 20 years old. Goldstein is a far better VFL ruckman than Hamish was in year 2, and I mean FAR better. He would have smashed a 19yo Hamish.

My only query over Hansen is positional. I think we have to work out his best position and stick to it. None of this "utility" rubbish. I think it will take one mark running back into a pack in a big AFL game for him to "click". Guys like him thrive on that one quarter or game where you know you belong. The rest flows from there.

I want him in the side as much as anyone, but I'm not fretting that he isn't in the side right now.
I've seen you post that about 5 times now, nearly word for word.

Copy and paste this motherfcukers.

Do you suffer from ******ation?

Are you dyslexic?

I said he was rated higher than Bryce Gibbs on a ranking system out of 100 prior to the draft by the King Bryan Sheehan, which is FACT.

In fact most of the talls were rated as higher, it's just that Bryce is the safest best. Which I agree.

Selwood is already better than Gibbs, and Boak will be as well.

The Backyard Burger will almost certainly be a better player than Gibbs as well.

If Gumby, Hansen and Thorpe all reach their exponential peaks, they will surpass Gibbs by ohh i dont know... the length of the Flemington straight sound about right guys?

Squibbs is dime a dozen. This is why the superdraft was rated so highly, it will end up being the best draft since 01, perhaps even better.

Pfft. Luenberger, Gumbleton, Thorpe, Hansen, Boak and Selwood will be comfortably better footballers than Gibbs. He is a one paced half back flanker with questionable heart. He will play 250 completely unremarkable games.

I think Gibbs is Luke Hodge MK2 in every facet. Don't worry he will end up a very very good footballer. But instead of comparing him to just one very very elite midfielder, he will be compared to 5 or 6 very very elite KPPs. KPP' wins flags.

Poor Bryce lol

Well Sansbury's better than Cooney....that's NOT debatable. The proof is in the annuls of SANFL GF history forever. Five goals and a total blanketting of of your boy if you don't mind.

Hansen will be fine. He'll be fit again soon and we'll see him charge out like he did in the Hawthorn final, where he ran stright out and laid a big shirt front. That showed us that he has a bit of grunt. Once his body matches his ambitions, look out!

T'toes

I think Gibbs is Luke Hodge MK2 in every facet. Don't worry he will end up a very very good footballer. But instead of comparing him to just one very very elite midfielder, he will be compared to 5 or 6 very very elite KPPs. KPP' wins flags.

Poor Bryce lol

Nah. Hodge was a slow starter, but he was always a brutal kick (Gibbs has good vision but is only an above average kick) and a better mark. But where he has it all over Gibbs is his attack on the footy. Hodge hurts bodies. Gibbs would be hard up hurting Leigh Brown. Hodge is aggressive and intimidating.

Gibbs won't break lines or be hugely damaging. He won't drag his sides across the line in finals. I reckon he is Luke Ball without the testicles.