List Mgmt. Hard decisions

I don't know how capable he is of stepping up.

Heppell did all the heavy lifting in Watson's absence last year.
Considering last year was his first decent run at it in the midfield and was asked to play in defense prior to this you are totally underrating the bloke. The fact is that he was able to put together a full preseason for once in his career, had an outstanding year last year and was primed for a breakout season this year. He went down in the first 15 minutes of the Sydney game which, without Hocking as well, compounds the lack of real bulls in the guts.
Myers has so much upside if he can get some continuity in his game.

Heppell looked to do all the heavy lifting but blokes like Myers and Hocking allowed him to do this just as they allow Watson an easier run at it. To trade Myers is so ****ing bonkers. We are screaming out for big bodies in the middle and the VFL side doesn't provide much in the way of that, for now.

Trading him just makes zero sense. He's in the leadership group, has got his body right, has that killer left foot... there's just so much upside. We'd get maybe a 2nd round pick for him or a late first rounder. The reward just isn't there.

The list, as it stands now, should only be built upon through the draft with the only exception being our ruck stocks. For mine Myers is a massive non-negotiable and crucial to the team moving forward.

Considering last year was his first decent run at it in the midfield and was asked to play in defense prior to this you are totally underrating the bloke. The fact is that he was able to put together a full preseason for once in his career, had an outstanding year last year and was primed for a breakout season this year. He went down in the first 15 minutes of the Sydney game which, without Hocking as well, compounds the lack of real bulls in the guts.
Myers has so much upside if he can get some continuity in his game.

Heppell looked to do all the heavy lifting but blokes like Myers and Hocking allowed him to do this just as they allow Watson an easier run at it. To trade Myers is so ******* bonkers. We are screaming out for big bodies in the middle and the VFL side doesn't provide much in the way of that, for now.

Trading him just makes zero sense. He's in the leadership group, has got his body right, has that killer left foot... there's just so much upside. We'd get maybe a 2nd round pick for him or a late first rounder. The reward just isn't there.

The list, as it stands now, should only be built upon through the draft with the only exception being our ruck stocks. For mine Myers is a massive non-negotiable and crucial to the team moving forward.

Fair enough. I guess I'm not as confident as you about him. Maybe I'm scarred by the Gumby experience.

Injuries or no, the result is the same. He can't produce.

Fair enough. I guess I'm not as confident as you about him. Maybe I'm scarred by the Gumby experience.

Injuries or no, the result is the same. He can't produce.

Not sure about that fella. His 2014 was good. Had quite a few "OK" games with 5-6 really good games in there.

Don't recall him go missing in a single game tbh. Also elbowed Devon Smith in the head which was hilarious, that's a positive I guess?

Totally disagree. Go back and watch some footage instead of making ill informed statments

I watch us live every week and often again on replay in full, I think I'm allowed an opinion.

I obviously don't rate his work as highly as others, and I only say the above as even if it injury, the result is the same, he can't produce for us. He's obviously injury prone (not the current one, that's a normal incident).

If we were to make a "tough decision" on anybody id personally want it to be Myers, as he's injury prone and I don't think as important as others in the squad. It comes down to who we can most afford to lose.

I watch us live every week and often again on replay in full, I think I'm allowed an opinion.

I obviously don't rate his work as highly as others, and I only say the above as even if it injury, the result is the same, he can't produce for us. He's obviously injury prone (not the current one, that's a normal incident).

If we were to make a "tough decision" on anybody id personally want it to be Myers, as he's injury prone and I don't think as important as others in the squad. It comes down to who we can most afford to lose.

Myers is bordering on critical to the team, I Don't think us getting smashed week in week out in the middle is a coincidence and we are missing him dearly.

Myers was good in both 2013 and 2014. 2014 was his best season.

I'm not sure where the idea of him not being able to produce comes from.

It will be because he has never consistently strung together high possession games (though after typing most of this I went back to look at his numbers last year and I'm wondering whether to give any credit to the idea that he doesn't deliver).

There are reasons for it, though, generally to do with him covering in defence or generally doing the hard work off the ball at stoppages to enable others to get the ball. He played a lot of good footy last year but it was as a utility rather than a pure inside mid (his versatility has often robbed him of time in his best position) he also belted the piss out of a number of the inside bulls at other clubs, manning them at stoppages.

I think it was the Dream game last year in which he started on ball, got 8 to 10 as a mid in the first quarter and then played the remainder of the game at half back.

Given that the penny seems to have dropped and we now realise that Melksham is one of the players who should be kicking the ball inside 50 as much as possible (the dramatic increase is not coincidental, those sort of numbers can only really reflect instructions) I think we can operate on the assumption that a similar thing would have happened with Myers who is probably the best kick at the club and it will automatically increase his possession count and his impact on games.

Myers is a replacement for Jobe in every sense. He is a beast of an inside midfielder and probably the best young leader on the list. He's still a good chance of captaining the club.

Edit: that Myers is a bit on the slow side is basically a problem for every other midfielder we have. Every team is allowed a couple of blokes on the slower side (not that Howlett, for example, displays the sort of endurance that would make him a better runner and I'd query whether he is even quicker than Myers). Myers is one of the slower blokes we will live with. The rest are going to have to provide the run.

Well I don't know what games you've been watching or you have a short memory. Sure have an opinion but I'm also allowed to argue/discuss the point. Usually I can see the other side and think "yup I see where they are coming from" but here I just don't.

The team right now lacks goal kicking, big bodied mids... and you want to trade one out?? There's no "tough decision" to be made. A tough decision would be on guys like Kav or Pears or TBC. When a team clearly needs a type of player that takes time to mold you don't trade him out to enter into the chook lotto that is the AFL draft and another wait 2-3 more years for that bloke to mature enough to be relevant. It's simply robbing Peter to have Paul steal and kill you for it.

Well I don't know what games you've been watching or you have a short memory. Sure have an opinion but I'm also allowed to argue/discuss the point. Usually I can see the other side and think "yup I see where they are coming from" but here I just don't.

The team right now lacks goal kicking, big bodied mids... and you want to trade one out?? There's no "tough decision" to be made. A tough decision would be on guys like Kav or Pears or TBC. When a team clearly needs a type of player that takes time to mold you don't trade him out to enter into the chook lotto that is the AFL draft and another wait 2-3 more years for that bloke to mature enough to be relevant. It's simply robbing Peter to have Paul steal and kill you for it.

So then argue / discuss the point like this, don't go with crap like "go watch some games".

I think it's a given here everybody watches our games.

So then argue / discuss the point like this, don't go with crap like "go watch some games".

I think it's a given here everybody watches our games.
I told you to "go watch some games" because you clearly don't know what you are talking about. The fact that you "watch us live every week and often again on replay in full" and still miss the point....well....says it all really.

If either of these two play 100 games at our club we are screwed, they are bordering on being list cloggers.
No, they're not. Players like Kommer are list cloggers. Kav definitely isn't.

The team right now lacks goal kicking, big bodied mids... and you want to trade one out??

Lol @ referring to David Myers as a goal kicking midfielder. 84 games and 26 goals. 5 goals last season from 18 games.

#doyouevenwatchgamesbro?

Stop being condescending everytime someone has a different opinion. You can get your point across without being a jerk.

Lol @ referring to David Myers as a goal kicking midfielder. 84 games and 26 goals. 5 goals last season from 18 games.

#doyouevenwatchgamesbro?

Stop being condescending everytime someone has a different opinion. You can get your point across without being a jerk.
LMAO!!!! About 50 of those games he was played as a defender.

#doyouevenwatchgamesbro?

And I've been far from a jerk... trust me.;)

Just my two bob. I reckon the notion of "tough decisions" is a bit of a load of crap to be honest. Yes, Hawthorn has cut some ageing players, but they had the talent ready to come in and knew it. Look how the tough decisions are working out for Carlton and how about the tough decisions Melbourne made on just about every player over 25 in 2007. If you don't have the depth (and we don't) getting rid of best 22 players for the sake of it is stupid and even thinking of trading Myers or Carlisle or any of the other good players we have spent the last 5 years developing unless they decide to leave is a sure fire way down the same track. There is going to be a lot of natural turnover in the list over the next 3 years so its really about just being smart about the players that are brought in. Rant over

List Mgmt. Hard decisions