SPOCK

In a true indictment of his character and coaching ability Hardwick has gone from posturing around the boundry, advertising himself to hiding in the back row of the coaches box, Hardwick is the worst coach in the AFL by a lightyear
I cannot find 1 positive aspect of his coaching
match-ups
set-ups
selection policy
player positions
gameplan
match tactics
football knowledge
player knowledge
spirit and confidence
For every supporter and media goose who wants to continually blame our players "how would you like to train and play under this "f" grade coaching staff" I feel for our players, look at the savior our football-less board (accountants, lawyers and bankers) have delivered them, another bloody accountant FFS, what a absolute joke.
Lets delist 10 more players and rely on drafting more kids that we are incapable of developing, you would have to be delusional if you think that is the answer, we will be lucky to keep players like Cotchin and Martin if Hardwick is the best we can offer them, and trading, who the hell would come to this club and put their careers in the hands of this coaching group, you would have to be kidding yourself.
We need a board with a strong football base and entrepreneurial character and a coaching staff whos wages are more than a meat pack and loaf of bread a month
A new board and a dinkum bid for Malthouse or Roos would be a start

Re: Hardwick hiding in the bleachers...must be gone years end

Should have waited to the end of the game.

If you had said to me we will lose by 62 i would have said - that's about right!

I don't agree totally with you but hey you are entitled to your opinion. Espically after the effort you have made with the post.

Hey don't bag the man man, my no.1 preference for our new coach after laidley was hardwick, i was actually disappointed that we didn't get him. As things stands, scott is rather good but wouldn't mind hardwick as an assistant coach.

Should have waited to the end of the game.

If you had said to me we will lose by 62 i would have said - that's about right!

I don't agree totally with you but hey you are entitled to your opinion. Espically after the effort you have made with the post.

Dont forget your scarf peejay....

A few things:

1. To be successful on a club board you do not need to have played football. I know this first hand.

2. Sacking Hardwick at the end of this year would simlpy start the cycle all over again yet again and Benny will not do that. He will let the current contract run its course and at the end of next year reassess. He has to be given a good run at it and while I agree that he has failed to deliver ANY improvement and failed to develop ANY players (in fact many have gone backwards), sacking him will not actually achieve anything positive. Given that this draft is stuffed anyway, Hardwick needs the opportunity to develop his selections (though I'm not confident that will happen) over seqson 2012. Stability is what is needed FOR THE TIME BEING.

3. Roos will not coach Richmond. He is a Sydney man now, and I reckon he is more likely to go to GWS (at which point Choco's head will actually explode).

4. I agree that it is the broader coaching staff. Lade must go. He has delivered a negative return on developing our talls. Campbell must go. He is a cancer of the club and carries the doom and gloom of the past with him. I don't even know who is in charge of player development - I thought it was Tim Clarke, who is a quality guy, but I am not convinced up to the task at this basket case of a club. We need to throw fat cash at someone who has proved themselves in this area. Someone from a TOP club like Geelong, Collingwood, Hawthorn. Forget St Kilda because they have underperfomed with that list for years.

5. Finding board members with a strong football base and entrepreneurial character just is not that easy. There aren't that many around and even less that want to be at Richmond. You'll find that the best recent example of what you are looking for is the current CEO (a lawyer mind you). The board does not need to be filled with football players and in fact it can be detrimental as they are genuinely more likely to make decisions based on emotions and relationships formed during playing days than raw facts.

We have been bad but we must stick with Hardwick. Changing coach at this stage will not do us any good.

whilst i'm yet to be convinced dimma will deliver us our 11th flag, making knee jerk decisions following a 10g loss to the Cats would be close to one of the more ridiculous threads i've read over the journey.

Bare in mind there have been close on 20 changes made to the list, my benchmark for wins this year on the improvement graph was ~ 8+...there is still some footy to be played and some winnable games...today was NEVER going to be one of them:o

A few things:

1. To be successful on a club board you do not need to have played football. I know this first hand.

2. Sacking Hardwick at the end of this year would simlpy start the cycle all over again yet again and Benny will not do that. He will let the current contract run its course and at the end of next year reassess. He has to be given a good run at it and while I agree that he has failed to deliver ANY improvement and failed to develop ANY players (in fact many have gone backwards), sacking him will not actually achieve anything positive. Given that this draft is stuffed anyway, Hardwick needs the opportunity to develop his selections (though I'm not confident that will happen) over seqson 2012. Stability is what is needed FOR THE TIME BEING.

3. Roos will not coach Richmond. He is a Sydney man now, and I reckon he is more likely to go to GWS (at which point Choco's head will actually explode).

4. I agree that it is the broader coaching staff. Lade must go. He has delivered a negative return on developing our talls. Campbell must go. He is a cancer of the club and carries the doom and gloom of the past with him. I don't even know who is in charge of player development - I thought it was Tim Clarke, who is a quality guy, but I am not convinced up to the task at this basket case of a club. We need to throw fat cash at someone who has proved themselves in this area. Someone from a TOP club like Geelong, Collingwood, Hawthorn. Forget St Kilda because they have underperfomed with that list for years.

5. Finding board members with a strong football base and entrepreneurial character just is not that easy. There aren't that many around and even less that want to be at Richmond. You'll find that the best recent example of what you are looking for is the current CEO (a lawyer mind you). The board does not need to be filled with football players and in fact it can be detrimental as they are genuinely more likely to make decisions based on emotions and relationships formed during playing days than raw facts.

We should have grabbed Alan Richardson, instead we got Nick Stevens . :confused:

I completely agree with the comments of our board. They have overseen the Wallace era failure and now its not looking good for their current football department.
If they are proven to have failed to assign competent people across the football department (at the end of hardwicks contract) then they must be the first sacked. And I am all for having people with AFL club experience filling at least %33 of board positions aswell.

Just wondering, why has he gone from sitting on the boundary to back up in the coaches box?

I can only hazard a guess that it wasn't exactly proving to be a masterstroke, perhaps using malthouse and lyon as a guide is a better approach than attempt to be the pioneer:o

Just wondering, why has he gone from sitting on the boundary to back up in the coaches box?

Up until recently it was all about being in amongst it with the players at ground level when they came off the ground, education etc..

Now hes gone upstairs to see the overall picture of the game unfolding and to see wtf his assistants have been doing from up there.

Was always on the cards, nothing to do with hiding in the bleachers moron op

Headache from all the advice yelled at him from the tiger supporters... :):thumbsu: ...

i think it because when we were competitive he didnt really have to watch who was putting in the effort and doing the right things he could tweak things better and get feedback from the sideline but now that we are uncompetitive he needs to watch the things i mentioned which is easier to tell from the coaches box.

Sad news for you 'SPOCK' but Hardwick will be coaching next year and will prove the knee-jerk reactionists wrong.

it's these type of post that embarrass me to barrack for richmond, and associate with the half cast morons on this website.

Couldn't care less where he watches the game from:thumbsd:

Sad news for you 'SPOCK' but Hardwick will be coaching next year and will prove the knee-jerk reactionists wrong.

Im not so sure about that tuggs, the last two months have been pretty soul destroying, for the supporters and i would bet the players too.

He will be there next year because it is rediculous to sack a coach after two years.

But that is the only reason why.

Too early to make a coaching change but to be honest nothing there to warrant more time.

What an inspirational start to next year. Loved the way we brought the Cats down to our level in the second half. Scott was screaming for the siren as Geelong seemed to be lulled into a sloppy way of playing the game.

it's these type of post that embarrass me to barrack for richmond, and associate with the half cast morons on this website.

Couldn't care less where he watches the game from:thumbsd:

just a very good indication were Hardwick is at right now, as far away from the football has he can get

I was walking through Washington Square Park today and one of the old hippies from the 60's grabbed my arm and said "take it from me Hardwick is on very thin ice....."